We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
122
175
72
36
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
175
72
36
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath high ceilings some tlc falling apart third floor old building public areas hotel is lovely street noise train station day trip beautiful building amazing room nice walk marble floors fresh towels amalfi coast
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

Thank you to previous reviewers, we turned up on speck yesterday and it has been just as you guys who reviewed in August & September said it was. We have enjoyed our stay. We did Vesuvius and Herculaneum today & had the afternoon by the lovely pool. Excellent spot for both, with nice restaurants nearby & friendly staff.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Honeybun48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We had a very nice stay of 4 nights with our 3 children. We had 2 rooms in 1 spacious room with a large bath room and a spacious terrace with sea view. From the hotel it's a 5 minutes walk to the very nice site of Herculaneum, it's also a very good base to visit Pompeii, Vesuvius, Naples, ... On Thursday evening it was 'happy hour': free appetizers when you order a drink. Our children adored the big pool. The only minus was, that you had to pay 2€ to use a towel. We had each evening dinner in the restaurant, the portions were a bit small but the food was very good. A lot of choice for breakfast and very tasty cakes. Large secure car park.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

We spent in this hotel six nights staff was extremely helpful and professional breakfast very good,food in the restaurant corect. We ask for superior room and I was amazed by size it was around 50 m² extremely quiet and with the view for the garden. If you want to be sure the job is your status call does ask for calm room like we did. Is true that the hotel could be renovated but on the other side it's also his charm the rooms are perfect and the stuff amazing so I would totally recommend it

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kasjopeja89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

We booked this as we didn't want to stay in Naples and wanted somewhere with some history and a free pool. (Lots of other hotels nearby had hidden daily charges)The staff were very friendly and helpful and sorted out the extra night we booked even though Expedia hadn't given the updated info. We were on the ground floor which was nice when going to and from the pool, no need to trek through corridors. We didn't eat there as went to local pizza places nearby instead.
It's an old building so it is worn in a few places but that just adds to its charm. And Ercolano is a lively suburb - I didn't feel in danger as some other reviews have suggested. A man even crossed back over the road with me when the traffic was a bit mad and I was a bit nervous, then went back on his way.
The pool was lovely and the gardens were amazing. My kids are 12 and 14 and loved it. I would definitely go back. 10 mins walk to Ercolano scavi train station so no need for a car.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank greensidesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

We travelled to this hotel from elsewhere in Italy, and choose it on the basis of it's proximity to Pompeii and one the strength of other reviews. It's got lovely gardens and a nice pool, and although we had a room to the front and therefore the road, there was a nice balcony to sit on and watch the traffic chaos at the nearby intersection, and there are decent views out to the bay too.

We had a family room which was large and spacious, and of a good quality although "faded grandeur" would be an apt description. The bathroom will have been very luxurious when first installed, but it too was a little in need of updating and the bath only had a shower attachment to the taps, with nowhere to hook up the showerhead and no shower screen or curtain. That meant "showering" whilst sitting in what was once probably a very expensive Jacuzzi-style bath.

To be honest, none of that would really have mattered too much given that we were only here for one night, but the service in the restaurant was without doubt the worst we've experienced anywhere and really drags the hotel down. Judging by other reviews it would appear we got the "B-Team" that night, but I can assure you none of the other diners enjoyed the experience that night either. Where can I begin ? Despite having three waiters to only nine tables, we waited 35 mins for menus despite our repeated requests. We managed to order drinks at the same time, but only the kids' juice arrived. After an hour an ten minutes, and three requests, I headed back to the room to bring down our own bottle of water. Of course, at that point the waiters finally got their finger out, brought our water over, and took our food order. The wine came quickly enough, but was simply plonked in the middle of the table and so we had to go and ask for the ice bucket that everyone else had. The food finally came one hour and 40 minutes into the meal, during which time we watched the chaos of other diners being given second courses before their starters had even finished or been cleared, diners piling their own plates to make room for more, wrong dishes arriving, and a generally amateurish level of service I've never ever witnessed before. Eventually, it was so bad that when the waiters again arrived in the middle of the floor without any idea which table the food they were carrying was supposed to go to, we burst out laughing. The food, incidentally, was nice, but we couldn't have ordered dessert or coffees for fear of missing breakfast !

In short then, do your homework on TripAdvisor and choose a restaurant nearby rather than eating here, and it'll be fine for a short stay to see the sights.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear will overlook the beautiful grounds
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JiggeredSkiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews