We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
46
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farm animals underfloor heating horse ride beautiful landscape peaceful place wine farm south africa heidi fynbos cottage zebra host braai fridge accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We were a family of four and stayed in the Hilltop House at Doornbosch. A working game farm, set in a beautiful landscape of hills covered with fynbos. The house was filled with everything we needed and more. The house had ample space and were beautifully furnished with luxurious fittings in the kitchen and bathrooms. Good coffee, wine in the fridge, books and up to date magazines for the lazy days. The Hilltop house is separate from the other cottages and we enjoyed having the privacy, especially with two noisy boys in the family. The farm is on a quiet road, but within range of every attraction in the area. A 15 minute drive to the beach or longer day trips for whale watching and sightseeing in all the beautiful towns in the area.
We could not bring ourselves to leave Doornbosch and even booked an extra night. Our host, Heidi, was very welcoming and accommodating. I hope we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cariner500 R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi M, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We enjoyed having you as our guests. I am glad we could make your stay an enjoyable one, and that you could experience our beautiful countryside.
We look forward to seeing you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Second time at Doornbosch....like home and very upmarket. Friendly staff and service. Will be back! Only little discomfort....duvets on double beds 2x single duvets. Would be nice if one big duvet per bed.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi M, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Jimmy
It was lovely to have you back again. We will make sure we have double bed duvets for you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Absolutely lovely time in the Springbok cottage! Everything was spacious, clean and comfortable. The only problem was that we could not stay longer. Can't wait to go back and will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank I9787LFamandap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi M, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. You were super guests ever if the wind nearly blew us away. We do hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

What an amazing place to unwind and relax! We were spoiled by the scenery, vegetable garden for guests, organic honey, a homemade venison pie and much much more. Thank you so much for all the detail that made our stay wonderful and unforgettable!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 718annelizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi M, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Annelize
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you and show you our beautiful countryside.
Regards
Heidi
Doornbosch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

I only have good things to say about Doornbosch:
Luxurious, solid, well build and well looked after houses on farm.
Farm is surrounded by security fences and gates.
Extra special value added by small things like fresh fynbos flowers in cottage, homemade biscuits, fresh fruit, wood for fireplace and a vegetable garden for guests,
It really felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 691hanlied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi M, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We enjoyed meeting you and showing you our lovely countryside.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews