We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
193
130
33
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
193
130
33
9
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We found the owners to be friendly and helpful. Language was no problem. The evening meals were fantastic Catalan food. Breakfast was a choice from an extensive buffet.

No evening meal on Sunday as the owners have a family meal but there are other places to eat.

Rooms were clean and tidy and with good views. Swimming pool was a welcome addition to the stay.

A great stay if you want mountains and the coast.

Room tip: You can only see the coast on a very clear day.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSBudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We were having a uncle's 80th birthday party who lives in Sorede ten minutes walk from the hotel. Two months before, I drove from my home in Spain to the hotel to book three rooms for two nights and was asked to pay the total cost which I did. I week before the party, the owner called me in Spain to say they had double booked and would I go to France to collect my money back! It took me begging them to help me find a replacement and a heated visit from my uncle, before they came up with an alternative which is some forty minute walk from the party venue. Not ideal and when I confirmed the rooms booked and paid for at the new place they pointed out each room would be 6 euros per night more - to pay on arrival. There has been no comment from the St Jacques despite accepting: their fault, having my money for over two months and unhelpful attitude - and no chance they will cover the additional 36 euros. Very unprofessional and despite them offering heartfelt apologies not much likelihood of me accepting them.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
8  Thank IngerBoyett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

lovely and helpfull family hotel. it may only be a 2 star hotel but great value with nice swimming pool and 150 metres from the square which has the best pizeria youll ever have (outdoor seating only) Olivia the best piza maker (Hope he's better soon) a great little town bar with good food and great staff (do not expect buzzing night life just great relasxing drinks. the hotel is in a very peaceful area and lovely area with great weather, we have now holidayd in sorede and laroque for the past 12 years

Room tip: great little 2 srar hotel & great value
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank effilctarCapelGarmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel is good value for the money as long as you keep in mind several elements, which, given the price of its rooms, are totally understandable.
The rooms with a view of the pool also have a view of the local activities center (with mountains in the background). During the summer things can get quite noisy there as kids hang out and talk loudly. This in the midst of so much silence can grate and wake you up on summer nights with the windows open.
The alternative are the rooms with a view of the sea (quite distant, to be sure).
The wifi is in the commons room, but reaches some of the other rooms and is free. The commons room has a commons computer, but expect to find some teenage nerd monopolizing it for games.
There is no air-con in the rooms so be ready for a bit of discomfort in the hottest season, although the layout of the room and balcony insures a decent breeze, and anyway, why would you want to close yourself in from nature in such a beautiful place?
The bathrooms are poky, but quite adequate. The shower is good with attachments for the showerhead, which are not always available in some hotels in France. There are plenty of towels, but bring your own soap and shampoo if you're staying for more than one night.
The car park is rather small and it would be advisable to get there early if you want to assure a (decent) parking space.
One of the highlights of the hotel are its friendly and helpful staff. They speak English even though when we were there all of the other clients were French. The other guests we saw were older couples and families.
The beds were comfortable and clean. The security system included codes for access to the room areas. TV was French and very limited (no premium channels).
Right in town there are about three places to eat at: one modest restaurant, one more upscale and one a creperie. The hotel offers reasonably priced and simple meals.
The location of the hotel is ideal for excursions to the seaside resorts (Colliure, Banyuls, etc.), which is good since the swimming pool at the hotel itself is nothing to write home about.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BCNUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We had seen reviews of this hotel on a hotel booking site and thought that after staying at larger hotels on the way down through France on our way to Malaga we would stay at this family run hotel. We were disapointed that dinner was "off" that night so had to go up into the village where we did have an enjoyable meal.Upon retiring to bed about 21.30hrs we found the bedding was soiled and all attempts to to contact the owners by reception desk bell,internal and external phone proved fruitless,so we covered the sheets with scarves and retired to a sleepless night.We later saw a notice saying that sheets were changed once a week!! We didn't complain as we are not that type but now wish that we had!!! We were bitterly dissapointed as we had been looking forward to our stay as this is a wonderful area and of course is close to the coast and also the motorway into Spain

Room tip: Check your room before accepting and if you want dinner ensure you state this fact when booking
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews