We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful little gem”

La Bottega di Portanuova
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$28
Description: Organic food
Restaurant details
Description: Organic food
Reviewed 24 July 2018

You cannot miss this delightful local delicatessen, it is located opposite the main pedestrian entrance to the town of San Quirico d'Orcia, beside a 24 hr launderette. It is run by a really friendly young couple Luigi and Roberta who both speak very good English and are a great source of local knowledge. It is a great place to go if you want to have a quick snack made entirely from local produce. We had a delicious tasting plate made up of local meats, cheeses, and breads. Luigi was able to tell us the exact local farm where they all came from.They also specialise in craft beers, including two on tap, i.e. "alla spina". I can strongly recommend the dark beer from Viterbo. It's well worth a visit, if only to get away from the hustle and bustle of the town and enjoy a delicious locally-sourced meal with great beer. A real little gem!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markandmaria_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Nice people and good food and craft beer. There’s a self service laundromat next door so it’s perfect to have lunch and wash clothes.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank drtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

It's a local delicatessen. Very small place - we ate plates of local cheese and sausage. It was great. The people there were extremely nice and gave us explanations regarding out order. I highly recommend the place - a true and very nice taste of the area.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank kipibenkipodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Warm hospitality from Luigi and Roburta who prepared us a huge tasting tray of local meats, breads, cheeses and olive oil. Great craft beer and a wide selection of products to purchase. Lovely outdoor seating area! And oasis with friendly young entrepreneurs.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank lynncB8762CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for its convenience for an afternoon cup of coffee. In more than two weeks in Italy we had our best caffe americano yet. We sat in a nice, uncrowded little shop, and thoroughly enjoyed our little break. Way better than our experience in the town center, with all the other tourists.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bottega di Portanuova also viewed

San Quirico d'Orcia, Province of Siena
San Quirico d'Orcia, Province of Siena
 
San Quirico d'Orcia, Province of Siena
San Quirico d'Orcia, Province of Siena
 
Bagno Vignoni, Province of Siena
San Quirico d'Orcia, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Bottega di Portanuova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing