We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$68
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/10/22
Agoda.com
US$62
View deal
ExpediaUS$74
FindHotelUS$62
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
222
182
28
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
222
182
28
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant roof garden top floor vast range exceptional breakfast wrap around balcony harbour area very nice hotel fun park sea view excellent location will stay there again stayed for one night large balcony mini bar polite staff across the road
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2022

We stayed for over a week and had a great time. The staff is very accommodating and even switched our room when I complained that the bathtub was too narrow to stand and take a shower. The breakfast is excellent. My spouse still talks about the local fresh eggs, tomatoes, olives the pastries and homemade bread. The coffee is great also. Order the espresso… fresh and better than we had in Italy. The rooftop restaurant was very good and the selection of wines perfect. Service was attentive and quick. With the exception of the sparse decor in the rooms there isn’t anything to complain about. We were so pleased with the hotel that we are going back this August for a week. We could have stayed in newer hotels with more services but you can’t beat the location and great staff. Thank you for the great memories.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peters97
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Evangelos Vasiladiotis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pharae Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2022

Dear Mrs Peters,

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience at the Pharae Palace.
We are delighted to read that your stay with us was exceptional in all aspects and that the attentiveness of the team as well, made it such a super experience.
We take pride reading positive comments made with regards to the high-quality service our team members provide.

Our aim is to ensure that our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay and very pleased that we
were able to help in creating a memorable stay for you.

We sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you again to Kalamata and to the
Pharae Palace.

Best Regards,
Evangelos Vasiladiotis
Pharae Palace Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2022 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 14 nights - we cannot fault the hotel, location, cleanliness but found the room facilities lacking. As we were staying 14 nights we found insufficient drawer space for our clothes - the wardrobe was fine but felt there was a lot of wasted space that could have been utilised for storage.
We travelled with Jet2 holidays & on arrival judged the hotel as a business hotel more than a holiday hotel - this proved to be correct by the other guests that we noticed at breakfast each day. Breakfast is fantastic with everything you could want & regularly topped up through service. Our room was supposed to have tea/coffee making facilities which did not arrive until the 3rd/4th day of our stay & was not replenished when used for several days, even when we asked but felt a language issue sometimes with reception - we bought our own coffee & milk as there was a fridge with mini bar that had room for us to keep our own milk & water but do check you room bill as we were charged for items we did not use from the mini bar - but rectified when pointed out.
We were fortunate to have a 4th floor room facing the front so had fantastic views of the bay of Kalamata & the doors kept the noise of the club/bar across the road muted sufficiently to enable sleep as this is a city & the locals do use the area.
The beach is very dusty but the beds & parasols provided by the hotel for free use to guests are great with lovely comfy mattresses on & beach towels are provided at reception free of charge.
You do find plenty of restaurants to eat at - if you go left from the hotel along the front they are cheaper than those by the hotel & right to the harbour area.
The restaurant at the hotel is good but I was upset when I had booked a table for my husband’s birthday (our 2nd visit) to be looked after until a party of what I would consider influential locals arrived & then our service disappeared- we could not even get anyones attention to order post dinner drinks & ended up moving down to the bar area to be served.
Drinks in the bar are great & they will make up cocktails that aren’t on the menu in most cases - the prices are competitive as restaurants tend to do wine /beer.
Would we recommend the hotel - yes - but not for a 14 night holiday unless you hire a car & use as a base- Jet2 do not operate many trips from Kalamata- just 2 & only fortnightly, both the very long day trips & the third on the boat you can book at the harbour directly- all the trips we fancied only operated from Stoupa & surrounding area & there is no hotel pool that I only realised 2weeks before we travelled (I was not alone as another couple only realised when they arrived!) & the beach area did not open until our 2nd day & unfortunately my husband had forgot his driving licence so we could not travel further afield.
Kalamata is a lovely city & we had the advantage of having to town to visit

Room tip: Hire a car
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nomorekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Evangelos Vasiladiotis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pharae Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2022

Dear Nomorekids,

It was a pleasure to have had you with us and we thank you for investing the time to share your review with us and other travelers via TripAdvisor. We read the review very carefully. We are very happy to read, that you liked the hotel's breakfast your room view the beach and the cocktails from the bar.
On the other hand, please allow me to apologize for the lapses in service you experienced during your stay. This is certainly not indicative of the high level of service we strive to provide our guests.
Your comments are more than valuable for us and we will personally address this with our colleagues, in the areas mentioned.
We hope to welcome you back at Pharae Palace! For your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact me personally, in order to assure that everything will meet and exceed your expectations and that you will have wonderful holidays.

Best Regards,

Evangelos Vasiladiotis
Pharae Palace Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2022

We only stayed for one night (9th June ) but wished we were staying longer. It`s a very nice hotel with a fabulous view from the roof top terrace which is also the dining area for breakfast and dinner, and a great bar with a good selection of cocktails, wines, sprits and beers. A perfect place to unwind after a busy day.
Our room was lovely (310) a large balcony with great views. A very comfortable bed nice bathroom with a good shower. All spotlessly clean.
All the staff we met were all very helpful and nice.
Definitely will be going back to stay longer and explore the surrounding area.

Room tip: High floors good views
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellaHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Evangelos Vasiladiotis, General Manager at Pharae Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2022

Dear bellaHolt,

Thank you so much for this nice review on Tripadvisor! It was a pleasure having you here as our guests. I am sincerely glad that we managed to meet your expectations, both with our services and with the service you received from our staff. Be sure that I will convey your good words to everyone!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Until then, we wish you all the best!

Best Regards,

Evangelos Vasiladiotis
Pharae Palace Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2022

We stayed her from May 8th for one week. We loved it , great location , amazing staff, polite, respectful and very helpful. Rooms comfortable and the top floor restaurant had amazing views. Breakfast was plentiful, varied and had a vast range including Greek specialities . It is a loverly hotel right in the heart of a variety of places to eat, the sea and easy access to the old town loved it and the staff

Room tip: Best in the area
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andreasA3822OA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Evangelos Vasiladiotis, General Manager at Pharae Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2022

Dear AndreasA3822OA,

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience at the Pharae Palace.
We are delighted to read that your stay with us was exceptional in all aspects and that the attentiveness of the team as well, made it such a super experience.
We take pride reading positive comments made with regards to the high quality service our team members provide.

Our aim is to ensure that our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay and very pleased that we
were able to help in creating a memorable stay for you.

We sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you again to Kalamata and to the
Pharae Palace.


Best Regards,
Evangelos Vasiladiotis
Pharae Palace Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2022

Stayed for 1 night in the hotel

+++
Fabulous views from the roof terrace, great for drinks
Location close to waterfront at walkable distance to restaurants at the Marina
Room at back of hotel are calm with view of the mountains (the hotel front faces a building and a fun park for children)

—-
Room is quite basic and functional
Bathroom has a very narrow bathtub, difficult to take a shower
Bad pipe smell from the bathroom, anything but a palace
Poor quality breakfast, except for the coffee

Definitely not worth the money and does not deserve the top TA rating. Very disappointed.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milou V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Evangelos Vasiladiotis, General Manager at Pharae Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2022

Dear Milou V,

I would like to thank you both for your stay once more at Pharae Palace and for your comments, which we take seriously and help us to constantly improve.

Regarding our rooms I would like to inform you that the majority of the comments are positive and that a radical renovation in our rooms was completed in 2014 and since then, every year we are proceeding to new improvements and constant investments .
As regards the comment about the quality of our breakfast i would like to inform you that, our breakfast is something that we are very proud of. Freshly made every morning, with several choices and the most important we give the opportunity to our guests to explore Messinian local products and flavors.
Of course, we take your opinion very seriously and we will continue to constantly improve our infrastructure and services even more.

I am feeling sorry that you did not ask to see me during your stay and give me the opportunity to meet you and to know you in person and maybe find a better solution for you, that would have helped you to change your opinion of our Hotel.

Finally, I hope that I will be happy to welcome you to Pharae Palace again, to meet you personally and to hear all your concerns and suggestions .

Yours Sincerely,

Evangelos Vasiladiotis
Pharae Palace Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews