We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
118
63
17
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
63
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room fixed menu a family run hotel four courses half board own wine swimming pool comfortable beds daily menu hosts terrace elevator tuscany montepulciano
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2016

You will never be disappointed with the warm hospitality, great service and outstanding food that Villa Ambra has to offer. We had stayed here three times before and knew that we would be greeted like one of the family on this trip. Consistency is probably the word that comes to mind when thinking of this great hotel. As with our past visits we were greeted by Marzio, the proprietor,and his nephew Andrea, who had everything ready for our check-in. We had requested specific rooms as before and he was very accommodating in making sure they were available for us.

We found that our room had undergone some renovations to the bathroom since our last visit and was very comfortable and clean. It is representative of the typical rooms we have stayed in during our Italian visits.

Villa Ambra's dining room offers a great alternative to having to go out in the evening after a long day of visiting the nearby towns. We have enjoyed many wonderful dinners here with a very diverse daily menu created by Marzio's sister Catia. The evening meal which is currently 29 euro per person is five courses of locally sourced products to include items grown on their own farm. There are a great choice of wines produced by the family at a very low additional cost. The daily menu is posted in the morning for all to see. We also found the breakfasts offered an assortment of cold meats, cheeses, rolls, eggs, cereals, cakes and fruits which were plentiful and allowed for one to always find something to start the day with.

Villa Ambra is located close to Montepulciano, Montalcino and Pienza. It is also a short driving distance to some the towns in Umbria such as Orvieto, Todi and Perugia which makes this a great base for exploring the region.

All in all, we felt like part of this wonderful family and will definitely be returning for upcoming visits to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank CountryGentleman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

We spent three lovely nights at Villa Ambra with dinner. The food, wine and service were all top class. All the staff were exceptionally welcoming. The tour of the vine yard and wine tasting was a highlight.

Our room was lovely with a nice new bathroom. The pool and terrace were also very nice.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank edphard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

The best thing about this hotel is its beautiful location and its hosts. However, note that it's only accessible by car, as it's located essentially along the highway, some 10-15 mins drive, south of Montepulciano. The hotel has a decent pool, and is located in a very nice region, surrounded by trees and calm, relaxing atmosphere. This is the type of hotel where you can spend 1-2 days just relaxing by the pool, sitting outside reading a book and interacting with its wonderful and welcoming hosts.
If you do stay here for a few nights, its location means that you can visit multiple towns and regions by car over several days. Montepulciano is to the north and a must visit. Montalcino is to the west, and about 45 mins drive. To the south, one can visit Orvieto and Civita and there is also a very scenic drive loop one can do, which would take about 2 hours total, but is absolutely worth it. Cortona is to the northeast, about 1 hr drive. Another option is to visit Fosso Bianco, which is a place with natural warm pool waters, in the middle of a forest; it's about a 40 mins drive from the hotel, to the southwest.
The hotel also has a restaurant with market prices and great food (though selection is somewhat limited). And you can be sure that Martio (the main host/owner) will do his best to accommodate your stay there.
The rooms, however, are only average. They are basic, with somewhat old furniture and basic bed mattresses. The bathroom is clean, with all the amenities and the shower is standard Euro style size (read: small). Our room had a pretty large balcony, but no AC. The balcony doors seemed to be somewhat broken, and couldn't be fully closed.
If you have a car, and plan to visit Tuscany towns in the region, see the Tuscan countryside and just have a relaxing time, I can fully recommend this hotel for at least 3-4 nights, if not a week. But perhaps spend a little more to get a fully functional room, with balcony, nice views and AC. You won't regret your stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Igor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Hotel Villa Ambra pleases guests with its green Tuscan surrounds and close proximity to the historical town of Montepulciano and the famous thermal spas Terme di Montepulciano, Terme di Chianciano, San Filippo and Bagno Vignoni.

The hotel offers a number of facilities including a courtyard and swimming pool so you can have all the R&R you need whilst enjoying the Tuscan countryside. Run by passionate hotelier and winemaker Andrea Rossi, Villa Ambra is an excellent accomodation option for those touring the region.

Superior Room

We loved staying in Villa Ambra's Superior Room. The room is perfect for couples on a romantic getaway but is amply sized so a family of three adults could stay in comfort. The room was clean and modern, featuring wooden floors and a large, comfortable bed and a beautiful artistic motif on the walls. The ensuite bathroom was clean and modern with a large shower - much appreciated after a long day of touring the Tuscan countryside. Our room also boasted a wonderfully large balcony as well as a refrigerator and free WIFI.

Delicious daily breakfast is also included, featuring an array of freshly baked cakes and pastries on top of the usual bacon and egg options and, most importantly, unlimited freshly brewed coffee.

Villa Ambra’s restaurant

During your stay we recommend you indulge in some delightful Tuscan cuisine at Villa Ambra's restaurant. Locally sourced organic produce is used to create heart-warming rustic cuisine. In order to offer diners a memorable experience, the hotel sources its seasonal produce from two farms in Montepulciano and Chiusi which border Villa Ambra.

The menu changes daily and offers five different courses each night to ensure that guests always have something new to look forward to.

We loved our delicious meal at the restaurant. The passion in the kitchen shone through with the carefully prepared dishes made in accordance to typical Tuscan tradition, all washed down with wine from the Podere della Bruciata vineyard.

Podere della Bruciata - Organic and natural winery

During your stay at Villa Ambra, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to attend a guided tour of the Podere della Bruciata vineyard.

Podere della Bruciata is an organic winery dedicated to producing excellent, natural wines. Several generations of Tuscans are behind the winery resulting in a winery that is respectful to its Tuscan heritage and tradition but progressive and open to adopting best practice.

The winery holds an Organic Certification and the wine is vinified naturally with indigenous yeasts with minimal use of sulphites.

Our favourite wine from Podere della Bruciata was their Cesiro - Nobile de Montepulciano and is made from Sangiovese and Petit Verdot. An exclusive wine produced in small quantities, the wine is kept in wood barrels for 18 months, thereby delivering a wonderful vanilla finish. The entire process to produce the Nobile is three years and involves a lot of effort and dedication. The results speak for itself, Cesiro is a sophisticated wine.

Podere Della Bruciata Villa

If you're looking to laze away with a big group, we recommend reserving the sister property to Villa Ambra, Podere Della Bruciata Villa.

The property can host up to 16 people in double bedrooms (each with private bathrooms and toilets). Upon request, dinners for a minimum of six people can be arranged. The property is wonderfully spacious and also boasts a large terrace that faces the park and the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Superior Room is wonderful!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GastrologyCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Lovely house in traditional Tuscan style. No 5 star comforts but who needs it with the beautiful Tuscan countryside on your door step.
Rooms spacious and very clean. Pool big , safe and very clean.
Hosts very hospitable and friendly.
Plenty areas to sit and relax, inside and out.
Typical Italian sweet Breakfast with a well presented large selection catering to all. Cereals, cheeses, meats, fruits, cornetti and the obligatory torta and crostini.
Hot coffee!
No lunch served while we stayed.
Dinner a set menu and needs to be booked.
If you would prefer a la Carte the great La casino restaurant is 1 minute walk away at the end of the drive.
Villa Ambra is just off the road to Montepulciano - a car is a must to make the most of this location.
Highly recommend

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Familytrip588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews