We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13,143)
Filter reviews
13,144 results
Traveller rating
8,381
3,141
1,107
323
192
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,381
3,141
1,107
323
192
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillworld cafepreferred clubmain pooleddie murphypreferred poolpablo picassofruit boatjungle restaurantolio restaurantinfinity poolswim up barentertainment teamglass of champagnela romanacoffee shopbutler service
Filter
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 13,144 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

In May 2018, it was our 10th visit to Dreams La Romana. All visits have been consistent with excellent service, well maintained landscaped gardens, great dining experiences, clean and spacious Preferred Adults only rooms, Excellent Butler Service, and the staff who are truly exceptional. We would like to thank the whole team at Dreams La Romana for making us part of their extended family. Our special thank you to :

Danny, Danilo, and Angel - Butler Service
Francisco, Santa, Willy, and Jesus - Bordeaux
Iandi, Fernando, and Viavri - Olio
Henry, Malkanya, Edward, Luis, Jonathan, and Pedro - Olio (Breakfast/Lunch)
William, Joselin, Raisa, and Jessica - Himitsu
George, Percile (omelette chef) - World Cafe
Freddy - Seaside Grill
Carmen, Elizabeth - Room/Housekeeping
Edward - Main Reception
Melvin, Manuel - Floating restaurant managers
Fernando - Security
Johnny - Preferred Adults Pool
Picasso - Entertainment
Diana, Angel, Altagracia, George - Bar staff
Blanca, Moraima, Victoria - Reception Preferred Club

A massive thank you to all the team members at Scuba Caribe for wonderful diving and Catalina island trip.

Muchas Gracias. Te vere muy pronto.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Mukesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Jorge M, Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Mukesh M,

Please receive our warmest greetings from Dreams La Romana Resorts & Spa.

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Staying in building 4 with views across to the main pool in front and sea to our right made for a good start to a good holiday. It looked, to us, that some buildings & areas of the hotel had had a refurb but others do seem to be in need of a little TLC. The food, generally, in all restaurants is pretty good but we did experience some in the seaside grill that came luke warm.It was changed but it shouldn't happen.
Premium drinks are VERY hard to find in most bars. Vast areas of beach reserved for "preferred" guests are left unoccupied so other areas tend to get very crowded.
The staff here are all fabulous. There are tremendous choices in the World Cafe for all meal times. The biggest problem is getting BOILING water to make tea!
The walk along the beach to Bayahebe is very pleasant and the village itself has more to offer than expected.
For sure, we would go back,and have another fabulous holiday. Just a bit of "attention to deatail" needed by the hotel. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Building for with side sea view is ideal!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MandY1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Jorge M, Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear MandY1943,

Please receive our warmest greetings from sunny Dreams La Romana Resorts & Spa.

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit. We are overjoyed to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay, especially our kind staff and our restaurant options.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one and that you were highly satisfied with our service. Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hosts in not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Myself and my husband stayed here from the 3rd of May to the 18th May we was not impressed the rooms are very tired and basic even though we had booked a deluxe room, and had upgraded to the preferred club. (not worth the money but each to their own ) food cold in the World cafe,staff rude i bought this to the attention of the hotel which they was very apologetic and wanted to put right what they could and for this we are very grateful.
Sadly on my return back to the uk on the 19th May my card had been used in DR in a university i contacted the hotel as my CC was new and had never been used before apart from at the reception for my upgrade,but to this day i have had no response from the hotel which i am disappointed (Clearly the guy on reception knew my leaving date and when to use my card ,thinking i would not know to pin point it back to him but being a new account and card it was very easy...Please do not use Cards of any sort at this hotel it does question the integrity of the staff and how safe is our things in the safes also ?.
I feel really let down by this hotel and not even replying to my emails is just very rude.
We won't be back to the DR i will stick with Egypt where they have better manners and We feel welcome every time we go there, the rooms are spotless.

M fox

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Jorge M, Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Margaret F,

Please receive a warm greeting from the Caribbean.

We appreciate the time that you have invested in writing an overview of your stay with us.

There seems to have been a number of deficiencies encountered which are very atypical and not reflective of our brand experience; if this stay was marred by irregular circumstances, we can only renew our apologies and assure you that we have in the meantime briefed the team at great length of your comments.

We value your detailed suggestions as our guest’s feedback is truly important for us and we will consciously revise all of your remarks.

We are working on a daily basis to exceed our guest’s expectations and would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future to offer you a remarkable stay.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

We would firstly like to thank manager Jorge Mora, Darling and Emely for our room upgrade it was a fantastic surprise after a long journey.

Arrival-Met off the bus with champagne and orange juice the bell boys were great and took us directly to the preferred lounge to check in with our luggage following very quickly behind.
Katherine met us in the family preferred lounge and informed us we had been upgraded to swim up room Wow stunning sun all afternoon.

Room - 7140 Updated immaculate and balloons and lovely bottle of wine for repeat guests. Shower was huge and bathroom facilities excellent.

Preferred family pool- Fantastic Facundo,does an excellent job as security and soon remembers if you are deserving of the orange towel. No problem getting sun beds and no reserving from people not using them. Emilia and Andreana are excellent and never forget your drinks as does the wonderful Carmen on an evening. The guys bringing the menu round on a lunch time are great and never having to leave your sun bed to go for lunch is fabulous. Great burgers fries toasted sandwiches etc. Pool always clean and immaculately manicured gardens. Preferred family pool is very relaxing not noisy and a wonderful place we will definitely upgrade next time.

Preferred lounge- Moisés and Super Chester are wonderful and always kept our kids entertained thank you guys. The nibbles are excellent and drinks free flowing staff again always remembering you favourite drink. Katherine and Vanessa are always super busy but always made time for a chat thank you ladies you are real assets to the family preferred.

Buffet Restaurant- Great choice of food from fresh eggs at breakfast the way you want them to sushi if you want it on an evening. Dany is an absolute diamond and keeps his area clean tidy and nothing is too much trouble for him. Coffee and tea always filled on request. Belky on the fruit juice bar is wonderful we have known her several years and her infectious smile made my morning. Belky also does the fruit boat on the beach fresh pineapple melon and mangoes is a must.

Portofino Restaurant- Great choice wonderful staff all made excellente on our wedding anniversary by the desert show put on by the chef thank you so much Edith for arranging that it was so very special. Service was fantastic by all staff members. Tip if you have children you can order the Bordeaux menu in here.

Oceana Restaurant- My personal favourite the salmon roulade was wonderful. Staff were very accommodating and service was excellent.

Himitsu Restaurant- Food was great and lots of choice we did not do the show cooking but it looked great fun. Loved the mixed starter platter and the deep fried ice cream.Again service was great.

Pizza Hut and Beach bbq shack- fantastic pizzas freshly made with various toppings. Nachos on the beach hot dogs burgers all cooked to perfection.

Coco Cafe- We missed all the old staff who used to work there but the new ones were good. Lots of pastries biscuits donuts etc washed down with great coffees lattes espressos etc.

Veranda bar- The Waitress service was great and a very relaxing place to have a drink before evening meal. Nuts and olives always on offer and great list of cocktails. Jhonaton was always running around making sure people had everything they need thank you my friend it I always a pleasure to see you.

Staff- The staff work incredibly hard and we always tip excellent service though they do not expect tips.

This was our seventh visit to DLR and certainly won't be the last our names were put on the tree by the amazing Eddy Murphy from the entertainment team so we will be forever with our Dominican family. We are truly thankful to all the amazing staff from Marcos who cleans by the pool to the wonderful gardening team that keep this place looking so wonderful. This hotel is as all the staff say Excellente we will be returning for sure.

Thank you once again to Edith for all the special touches Darling for being the most amazing friend and Emely for all the help with the Face book group Dreams la Romana traveller info page that is run by several returning guests.

Kindest regards
The Sparks family x

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
9  Thank keiron_sparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Jorge M, Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear keiron_sparks,

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. It was a pleasure being your hosts once again during your recent gateway to the Caribbean.

It's our most pleasure to learn that your stay was a wonderful one while you were impressed with our service and facilities. We are overjoyed to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay, especially our kind staff, the restaurants and our pools facilities. We are also delighted to read that you’ve enjoyed the facilities and special amenities delivered to Preferred Club guests.

We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. Please rest assured as your comments will serve as an inspiration to our team to continue working with passion, ensuring our valued guests have an enjoyable and memorable experience with us.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your experience with us.

We look forward to having the pleasure of hosting you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Well what can I say about this resort and the staff ? Absolute perfection or as they would say EXCELLENTE ! We have just returned from a 2 week stay, for the third year running, not bad for a couple who never visit the same place twice. We could not possibly go anywhere else now, as I’m pretty sure it would never live up to this resort or the management and staff. Everything about this place is just perfect, the resort, the management, the staff, the restaurants, the entertainment. We had a beautiful room overlooking the pool in the Preferred Club Adults Only section, incredible service from the time we arrived at the resort until the time we left. But can I just say this is the same no matter where you stay on the resort. But, this part of the resort was pure luxury and the service was amazing. The beach is beautiful, I have to say this is the only place I will go in the sea, and we live on the south coast of England. The food was lovely, and the service we received at every restaurant and the World Cafe was typical of this resort, second to none. I could go on all day writing good things about the people but I don’t want to bore anyone. The “ excellente” service you receive at this resort starts at the top and includes every single member of staff, cleaners, gardeners, bar staff, need I go on. Special thanks to Jorge Mora, Alejandro Garrido, also Reynaldo and Estefanny ( World Cafe ) Jenssy ( Olio ) and Alfredo ( Portofino ) you all went above and beyond to ensure we had another fabulous vacation at your resort, and we will definitely be back next year. To anyone thinking about a holiday to Dominican Republic, you would be nuts to select a different resort. Thank You Dreams, we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Jorge M, Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Sara T,

Please receive our warmest greetings from sunny Dreams La Romana Resorts & Spa.

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. It was a pleasure being your hosts during your recent gateway to the Caribbean.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We are delighted to read that you’ve enjoyed the facilities and special amenities delivered to Preferred Club guests. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your experience with us.

We look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews