We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,155)
Filter reviews
1,155 results
Traveller rating
407
452
172
81
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
452
172
81
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club thomson staff self catering siam park min walk great holiday quieter pool hotel supermarket baby pool water polo evening entertainment family holiday pool area roof terrace main pool play park hired a car
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,155 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Just back from a 2 week stay in Villa Mandi. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. I booked this place as it was small as I don't like large overcrowded places.
Food for us was great and it was clearly marked what each dish was e.g.butter chicken, braised beef etc. Beautiful selection of vegetables, fruits salads every day..no complaints there. Kids could eat such things as fresh pasta, nuggets or fresh cooked meat such as chicken pork or beef.
Accommodation was basic and clean but sufficient. I didn't see 1 cockroach!
Entertainment was good bingo, magician,spanish dancers etc. Added bonus was the aqua aerobics everyday at the pool.
The only 1 bad thing I would say at night there should be a night porter patrolling for noise control. A crowd of guests made alot of noise until early hours 2 consecutive nights and no security to tell them to stop. It's very much a family resort and it was a pity that this had to happen but thankfully it was only 2 nights out of 14!
We saved a fortune with the free Siam park passes so that's an added bonus and free bus to and from Siam.
Location is quiet area with a short walk to a lovely shopping centre nearby and Los Cristianos and Los Americas nearby too.
I recommend Villa Mandi for families for sure.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We have just come back from an 11 day stay at Villa Mandi.
The positives are it was very clean and tidy. 1 bed apartment was spacious. Plenty of sun beds around the pool. The staff were friendly. The inclusion of Siam Park was brilliant.
The negatives were that the food was very repetitive, catered too much for the English. The show cooking was nothing special. The restaurant was very noisy and too much like a canteen. No one made an effort to dress up in the evening and the bar area lacked atmosphere.
For us this was a shame as we like to eat good food and enjoy restaurant service. However there was always plenty to eat and it was all edible and no one had any upset tummies.
The kids (13 & 9 yrs) had a fantastic time and made lots of friends and felt safe to walk about and go to the play ground and pool and made full use of the pool tables (that are in much need of some TLC).
So all in all we had a very nice holiday and can't really complain, so if you want somewhere with no frills, nice and relaxed and are not fussed about posh food then you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Nadine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

I don't get some reviews her rating this hotel as Perfect. We are just back on 29/07/2018 and it was not an enjoyable experience. We've been to Tenerife before and stayed in a different hotel every time to experience something new.
The apartment was very specious, but cockroaches were crawling about every day. Reception staff said "there is nothing we can do about it". The room is "Cleaned" 5 days out of 7 which is ok, but it's not a good a clean. They only brush the floor and replace toilet roll and towels if needed. Bed throw was stained with what looks like sperm, we left it out to be changed but they didn't. TV worked occasionally and only 1 channel was working. We had to use dishes because we arrived late and had to order pizza. The dishes were not washed or taken away all week and there was nothing in the apartment to wash them with ourselves. You'll find a big bottle of water on arrival. But that's it all week. There a shop within the hotel to buy bottled water. You need to pay 40 euros to use the safe.

Cockroaches running about in the restaurant which was disgusting, food was not labelled most of the time so we had to keep asking what's in the dish. Staff had to run and get a kitchen staff to answer. They keep going back and forth to answer questions instead of just labelling the food. The chef doing the "Show-cooking" didn't speak any other language and couldn't tell you what he was cooking. Most dishes were burnt or over cooked. There was no pastry if you like your croissants. The only pastry they had occasionally was a chocolate pastry thing but was always burnt and chocolate tasted like coal. We were all inclusive but there was no free ice cream for the kids. We had to pay for that. Afternoon snacks were a piece of fruit, ham sandwich and a bun or that burnt pastry. You don't have free access to drinks at meal times, you have to order it and wait. We needed to ask for our drink many times because we'd finished our meal and our drinks still haven't arrived. The only drink that come with all inclusive are a watered down beer and coke, fruit juice, water and coffee (undrinkable coffee). You need to pay for a cappuccino or a latter. The food variety is very poor. By mid week we were having dinners out or a takeaway although we were all inclusive.

2 Pool sides are great and not busy, so you won't need to get up early to guarantee a lounger. But take your towels with you because they don't provide them for the pool. Only plastic cups are allowed by the pool including coffee.

The beach is very far but bus is available from the hotel entrance.

Entertainment:
This was the biggest disappointment of all. There were 2 young teenagers responsible of all activities and evening entertainment from kids club in the morning, to adults water polo, to mini disco and some adults entertainments like Bingo. The Mini disco was very poor and the kids did the same things every single day which by mid week only a small number of kids came and my 2 kids didn't want to take part. One person running about with the kids, stopping to run to change the music ...... They ask some of the parents to help with the music when doing pass the parcel for example. We had BINGO night twice in a week run by the person who did Mini Disco and it was boring. We had Aba girls one night, 2 sisters signing another night, Loro Parrots another and the rest just those poor teenagers making up something. One of them wasn't there the last 2 days and nights. I figured he had enough running the show all day by himself.

I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. NOT WORTH IT

Room Tip: Apartments are large but cockroaches run the show
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and twin boys have just returned from a 2 week stay at Villa Mandi and surprisingly after reading the bad reviews prior to going. Found that we had a wonderful stay.
The hotel is set back away from Las Americas and Los Cristiano's which are both about a 15- 20 min walk. The hotel is set up in the style of an traditional canarian village with cobbled walk ways in and around the hotel.
There are cleaners always around ensuring the hotel is kept clean and the beds are maid regularly, the rooms do need updating but are very spacious.
The staff are constantly on the go from breakfast to dinner and always giving 100% of there time to be helpful.
There 2 large pools and 2 baby pools and with the unlimited Siam park entry this freed up the sun loungers around the pools.
At breakfast there is your usual English and Continental foods and eggs and pancakes are made in the show cooking area.
There is wide range of lunch and evening dishes from fish to meat, a good selection cold foods and cheeses. The show cooking is great as the chief will cook burgers, steaks and kababs but after a week it can get a bit repetitive. Kids love the low kids station serving foods from chicken nuggets to spaghetti bolognese.
Entertainments team Patrica and David were great but the evening entertainment only involved the younger children and the older kids were left to there own devices.
There is also a TUI kids club set
In the back of the hotel. Libby, Aimee and Chole these 3 reps work so hard in entertaining the little ones and giving them unforgettable memories.
but you don’t get to see them during the day, so they don’t get the recognition they truely deserve and hopefully more guests will include them in there reviews.
Overall thanks to Villa Mandi we had a wonderful 2 weeks as we made some great friends.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Dipak500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Positives-room was massive! No fantastic quality but still perfectly ok. The hotel is relatively ok but if feels like it was excellent 10 years ago, if you know what I mean. Don’t get me wrong it’s not a holiday from hell experience but it’s so overpriced it’s unreal.
Negatives-Food was awful most nights, caters for European taste which I find ok but for kids it was rubbish. Chicken nugget things you honestly could put a window out with they had been sat for so long. The fresh cooked meat was good for 1st 2 nights until we were served raw chicken- be careful and check before you bite! Especially with the kids x

Night time entertainment was poor, the entertainment team were lovely and a credit to the hotel they did the best with what they had.

Miles away from anywhere- the supermarket down the road is a God’s send...and go there in the evenings the kids will have more fun at the outside park and music than back at the hotel.

The pool has a handrail which was snapped and rusted- son cut himself quite badly- reported it but it was left unfixed and with toddlers hanging around it for the remaining 2 days.

Honestly this hotel could be brilliant, however at the moment would definitely not go back

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Gormlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews