We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,235)
Filter reviews
4,235 results
Traveller rating
2,428
1,221
394
116
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,428
1,221
394
116
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piano bar spring card sea view pool area lovely hotel age group evening entertainment average age building work older generation buffet restaurant breakfast and dinner plenty of sunbeds tea and coffee large hotel walk in shower pool attendant
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 4,235 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Arona Gran is located at the far end of Los Cristianos, and is around a 15 min walk to the square, saying that there are a few bars scattered around near the hotel.

The hotel is quite big, and has 2 medium size swimming pools. The rooms are quite spacious, with a great comfortable bed, and a fantastic shower.

The rooms come with a kettle, tea and coffee, also a hairdryer in the barthroom. There is also a TV, that you can receive BBC 1 and 2, ITV, Channel 4 and some others. They are not next to each other, so you have to scroll through the listings.

We was in room 353, and lucky for us it faced West. The way the hotel is designed, the rooms that look out onto the swimming pool and sea, will not have much sun or if any.

The cleaners are spot on and couldn’t of ask for more.

The food was good, and we had big choice, I’ve had better, but I have no complaints. It could get crowded in the restaurant , but we always got a table.

The drinks in the hotel were quite a reasonable price, and quite generous with the spirits, I was really impressed. You don’t need money, you just use your room card to pay. You must keep a check on it though.

The entertainment...We only used this once, as we went out most nights to the bars. We did see the rock band, which we did enjoy.

We didn’t use the swimming, I can’t comment on that, but quite a few areas can be shaded throughout the day, due to the position of the hotel.

We walked to the beach, and hired 2 beds and a umbrella for 9 Euros.

This was our first trips with no children. I’m 50 and my partner is 47. Without sounding rude, we were most probably the youngest in the hotel. Most guests were in 65 plus.

The downside to this hotel, which is only small, you have to pay for a safe, which is 3 Euros a day and 10 Euros for the Fridge. I’ve never paid this before, and considering it’s a 4 star plus, it should be free.

Would I come back..I doubt it, but We have had a pleasant time at the hotel and a great 6 days

I would rate this a Hotel as a 3star plus or a 4

Travel dates Nov 3rd to 9th

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Ronnierocket68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear client, we are very glad to see that you had a pleasant time at our hotel and that you have enjoyed the facilities and offered services. Thank you very much for using Tripadvisor and best wishes from Tenerife.
Spring Arona Gran and Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a week at the hotel. It was a very quick journey by taxi from the airport to the hotel. Lovely glass of cava on arrival and our bags whisked away to our room. The view of the sea was so relaxing on a very private patio area with comfy chairs and a table. The hotel was very quiet we had no noise coming through from neighbours. The shower was fairly large but took a few goes to get to a reasonable temperature and I do like them scalding. The food was varied if not a little strange. Vegetables for breakfast - each to their own. The staff and service was excellent and I particularly enjoyed the aqua aerobics. Loved the pools and the fact we were able to find a sun bed comparatively easily most days. Great place for a rest. The only down side is the location as described by others it’s at the end of the resort near some derelict buildings. We didn’t really go out in the evenings so didn’t bother us at all.
Opposite the hotel is a lovely well stocked supermarket. There is also a twice weekly market directly to the side of the hotel. Again this is very lively. The town is about 20mins stroll and boasts a nice beach and a variety of shops. The promenade walk starting directly outside the hotel runs for miles and we walked easily to playa las americas.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheelagh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sheelagh G, It is a pleasure for us to read that you had a peaceful and quiet holiday in our Spring Arona Gran and Spa hotel. Thank you for your compliment for our staff and service, room and pools. We hope to welcome you soon again for another joyful holiday. Thank you for using TripAdvisor.
Sunny regards from Los Cristianos.
Spring Arona Gran and Spa Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We tried the 'Up' facilities this year, as always with the Arona Grana we were welcomed with a glass of fizz on our arrival. We were the introduced to Nerissa who looks after the 'Up' facilities and guests, she explained all the benefits and then took us to our suite.
If you have booked for a week or more you get a free taxi transfer to and from the airport, you get a spa session and a massage and finally you get a free five course meal at the Culinarium restaurant. On a day to day basis you have free access to the Terrace, a rooftop facility with a swimming pool a large Jacuzzi, sufficient sun loungers for all 'Up' guests and free food and drink, including alcohol when you fancy it.
The excellent suite and all the facilities left room for only one complaint, I think I have put on a few pounds of weight which I will need to get off before Christmas.
Thank you Arona Gran for a holiday worthy of its name

Room tip: Get a pool and sea view
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear David K, Thank you very much for you lovely review here on TripAdvisor! We are glad to read that you had a great time in our Spring Arona Gran and Spa Hotel. Is is good to read that you have enjoyed our snacks on the UP! terrace and the meal in the Culinarium restaurant. We wish you all the luck to loose a few pounds ;)
Best wishes from Tenerife.
Spring Arona Gran and Spa Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had an UP Suite and an UP room for the 4 of us. We have been to the hotel several times in the past but this is the first time since the refurbishment.
The UP facilities on the roof top and the " higher grade" of room were the things that attracted us back as I wanted a quiet holiday away from the crowd.
The roof top facilities are quite good but please be aware of the room gradings. The UP rooms are identical to the normal rooms. The website says that they are located on the higher level of the hotel with a full sea view. NOT ALL OF THEM ARE. The first suite we were given was located on the third floor out of six and it had a full view of the town and a third view of the harbour. That room also was shielded all day from the sun by the shape of the hotel. They moved us the next day to a 4th floor room with a sea view. However it did not have the UP branded toiletries but the standard ones. It became clear that if you book an UP room you can get any room on any level and they simply change the branded toiletries and give you a dressing gown and slippers (branded). Someone else I spoke to had a similar experience. The message is PLEASE BE AWARE OF WHAT YOU GET FOR THE PREMIUM PRICE when you book. Also the buffet has slipped a bit on quality but ok if you like everything swimming in oil

Room tip: please read the review and be aware of the UP room premium price
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Malcolm, thank you very much for sharing your holiday experiences with other people here on Tripadvisor. All our suites are UP! suites and the UP! rooms are located on the upper floors and not on any floor. The decoration of all rooms are the same, but the UP! rooms have some extras which cannot be found in the "normal" rooms. All rooms have slippers and dressing gowns and the big advantage of booking an UP! room or an UP! suite is the access to the roof terrace where we serve free drinks (branded) and free snacks. The terrace also offers daily newspaper, TV, computers, sungbeds, infinity pool and beautiful views over the sea and the harbour. THIS IS WHAT YOU GET FOR THE PREMIUM PRICE. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you soon again. Best wishes from Tenerife.
Spring Arona Gran and Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Room tip: Try to get above 40's e.g. 241/341/441 etc because you will then get a good view and some sun.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews