We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
197
28
10
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
197
28
10
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front bar chowder guinness bread inishowen peninsula catch of the day malin head mussels craft beer cosy bar well run hotel both nights lovely weekend small hotel every member of staff saturday night food was lovely wild atlantic way
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

Have called in before for the great Sunday Roast Dinner but now also experienced the delightful breakfast. Omelette and Salmon dishes were excellent. A charming, quaint, traditional hotel in a superb location. Professional, friendly service and lovely Guinness.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cappotime
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGrorys Hotel, Other at McGrory's Hotel Culdaff, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Dear Cappotime,

Thank you for the 5 star review, we are delighted you enjoyed your Donegal welcome and your stay at McGrory's hotel. Hopefully we will get an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
McGrory's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Hadn't been to McGrory's for over a year. Loved the new outdoor dining section. Late evening sun was an added bonus and we were in a lovely sheltered spot. Food as good as ever, and the Guinness was divine. Can't wait to be allowed into the bar again, and no I'm not barred, just visited on the wrong side of indoor dining!

Date of stay: July 2021
Thank Portobellogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGrorys Hotel, Other at McGrory's Hotel Culdaff, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Dear Portobellogrl,

Thank you so much for the 5 star review, delighted you enjoyed your dining experience. You will have to come back again now we are allowed to open indoors. We promise we won't bar you :)

Kind Regards
McGrory's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 4in room 113 fabulous hotel huge bedroom and excellent food and pints would highly recommend hotel to anyone looking for adventure holiday with plenty to do and see. Staff at hotel are a pleasure to deal with everything spotless and I'm a housekeeper myself in wicklow hotel and I couldn't fault a thing. .. And I'm pretty fussy

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGrorys Hotel, Other at McGrory's Hotel Culdaff, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Dear Gemma,

Thank you for the 5 star review, we are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your break in Donegal, there is so much to see and do for families in Inishowen. Our housekeeping will be delighted with your comments. We hope to get an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
McGrory's Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2021

Stayed here for 2 nights and I liked everything about this small charming hotel. The room has very comfortable and had a double and single bed. The bathroom is a good size. All staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent. You need to book a time for your evening meal in the bar but this is easy to do (they email you in advance of your stay). The food itself was very good.

There is a car park across road from hotel and it has plenty of spaces. The beach is about a 25 min walk or a very short drive. Its an excellent location for visiting Malin Head and all of Inishowen.

I hope to return some day.

Date of stay: July 2021
1  Thank E9706FNpaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGrorys Hotel, Other at McGrory's Hotel Culdaff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Dear E9706FNpaulo,

Thank you for the great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay here at McGrory's Hotel. Hopefully we will get an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

McGrory's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2021

We stayed for 3 night’s two adults two teenagers. The service we received from all staff with different area’s of responsibilities was second to none. The breakfast was delicious with an array of pastries , granola with yogurt and bowls of fresh fruit. There was a choice of full Irish with excellent quality products ,omelette with various fillings & smoked salmon with a cream omelette with Guinness bread. We ate each evening in the restaurant. The first evening was excellent with catch of the day however the prawn starter was tiny for €11 and the goats crostini was very miserable but dessert of sticky toffee pudding and chocolate hazelnut cake was delicious. They ran out of steak the first night and no Prosecco either! The second night they ran out of the French Chardonnay. The third night I’m sorry to say the starter of prawns had no mango fruit coulis just dry lettuce and a squirt of mayonnaise?? The special for each night was fish which was delicious however the same vegetables and sauce accompanied the salmon and hake. Their chips are homemade and delicious as was the Inishowen linguine marinara. The girls really enjoyed their wings for starter and loved their burger.The steak we had on one night was very tough despite it being cooked rare and a medium rare! Overall a mixed review for the food as the quality did not match the price considering for two steaks and prawn starter cost €76 total for 4 with starters mains of steak and burgers two desserts and wine €189. The area is spectacular to visit and the quaintness of this gem of hotel makes it a perfect place to chill and relax. The beach is stunning and is 20 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rooms are clean and adequately spacious. Well done to all the staff for setting the bar so high in the hospitality sector. It is definitely a place we will be returning to and would highly recommend to anyone thinking of visiting beautiful Donegal. Thank you McGrory’s.

Room tip: Room’s at the back are quieter. Family rooms very spacious.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rosemurray67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGrorys Hotel, Other at McGrory's Hotel Culdaff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Dear Rosemurray67,

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer us such a lovely review and for the recommendation. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure serving you all and hopefully we will get to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

McGrory's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews