We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
eDreams
FindHotel
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,805)
Filter reviews
2,805 results
Traveller rating
952
987
561
196
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
952
987
561
196
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews panorama restaurant premium room a la carte panorama room buffet dinner mount cook new zealand top floor sir edmund hillary glacier explorers amazing views stargazing tour hooker valley remote location national park stunning location salmon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 2,805 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2022

We were sooo excited to stay at the Hermitage and left a little bit disappointed. First of all some positives - the view, activities staff and the 2 course dinner were all lovely.
But our room was tiny for the price and we were disappointed to find our $35 a la carte breakfast didn't include a barista made coffee. When we passed on this feedback the staff didn't really care and I can't help but assume perhaps management there don't do anything with the feedback hence the staffs uninterest in receiving it.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AshKW116
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2022

Dear AshKW116

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki/ Mount Cook on your recent visit to the National Park. The team and I greatly appreciate the valuable time you have taken to provide a detailed review of your experience.

It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the location and dinner. Your special mention of the activities team has been shared and they were very appreciative of the recognition.

Feedback is the core to our ability to continuously improve and it was disappointing to see that you left the hotel feeling that your comments were not taken seriously. We have leaders in place across the business who are available at all times and this should have been escalated, please be assured that I have addressed this personally with the leadership team. I am sorry that I was unable to meet with you before you departed as I would have appreciated the opportunity to resolve your concerns while you were here.

The rising costs of doing business coupled with the restrictions in place due to the pandemic continue to place pressure on costs and therefore prices. Although we do include machine coffee, to include barista coffee would require a further increase in the breakfast price which be required to be paid by all who dine. We continue to strive to ensure maximum value for all who visit which is why we have not included this service.

Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your valuable feedback. We hope you will return to the hotel in the future to experience the service we can really deliver.

Kindest Regards

Simon Douthett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2022

Well you cant beat the view from the balcony on a sunny day. Snow capped Mt Cook is a stunner. Comfy bed and a bathroom with a good shower. Excellent internet connection and plenty of plugs in the room for charging our electronics. While we a had a small issue with something it was dealt with professionally and rectified. And again - that view!

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank Maree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2022

Dear Maree R

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki/Mount Cook and for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

We have been very fortunate to have a great start to 2022 with the weather and it was pleasing to see you were able to enjoy this from your balcony. Thank you for bringing you issue to our attention so we were able to resolve and your reference to this is appreciated.

The team and I hope to see you back at the hotel again soon.

Kindest Regards

Simon Douthett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2022 via mobile

First time staying at the hotel on our third visit to Mount Cook. Stunning view from the room, but inside the hotel is very tired. Worn carpet, all the doors squeaked no air conditioning and very noisy corridors. New tiling in the bathroom, but no shower pressure and dated fittings.

Room tip: Definitely book a room with a view
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2022

Dear Diane H

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki/Mount Cook on your most recent visit to the National Park.

I greatly appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your feedback. Although we continue to invest in continuous improvement throughout the hotel, even in these challenging times, it is evident that you have identified areas in which we can further work on. My apologies that I did not have the opportunity to meet with you while you were here so we could have resolved some of the areas especially relating to water pressure.

If you are able to provide me with some further details on which area of the hotel you stayed on simon.douthett@hermitage.co.nz this would greatly assist.

The team and I hope you will return to the Hermitage in the future to give us the opportunity to show you the service we can really deliver.

Kindest Regards

Simon Douthett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2022

We were travelling with another couple and both stayed in a standard King room everything was great, we had a beautiful view and sliding door to balcony. The afternoon we arrived it was raining, however the hotel is so big, with lots of different areas we didn't feel we were stuck inside, we had a beautiful dinner in the Alpine Dining Room, the staff were incredible and the food was delicious. The following day we had breakfast in the same room and the view is just amazing out of the gigantic windows. Following our Heli-hiking tour we returned to the hotel to the Sir Edmund Hillary Bar & Cafe and enjoyed the best Pepperoni pizza our group all enjoyed it, then following our Glacier Explorers boat tour we headed into the Snowline bar for some beverages, the staff in the hotel were amazing and we are already planning another trip back, thank you.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seznz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2022

Dear Seznz1

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki/Mount Cook with your friends and for your kind review.

The team and I were excited to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the view of the stunning National Park. Thank you for your feedback on your dinner in Alpine, please be assured this has been shared with the Food and Beverage team who are inspired by knowing what they are doing is having such a positive impact.

Great choice on going on the Heli Hike and the Glacier Explorers trips, such unique ways to see different perspectives of NZs longest glacier. We are glad that our pizza and drinks hit the spot on your return from each adventure.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kindest Regards

Simon Douthett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2022

While The Hermitage is review-worthy in its own right, I do think reviewers are possibly influenced as to whether the mighty mountain shows himself or not. On this occasion, we had three days of superb views and feel blessed to have enjoyed those from the exceptional Hermitage.

The large views are matched by large spaces which did feel a little empty with borders still closed, but we had a magic time enjoying all that space. The dinner and breakfast buffets were very good and the staff were doing a great job of making everyone feel welcome. If you're staying, definitely upgrade to the mountain view room - they are what you're there for after all. Room size didn't matter so much as we knew we'd spend time in the Alps-facing bar and dining room. I'd love to stay again and might take our chances with some walks over winter.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2022

Dear Jo H

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki/Mount Cook and for taking your valuable time to share feedback through TripAdvisor.

It was pleasing to read that the weather played its part and you got to enjoy the views. We certainly have space for all visitors and look forward to the future when we have the opportunity to welcome many more. Thanks for the recommendation on upgrading to the rooms with the best view, we are very lucky to be situated in such a way that there are many different perspectives to be enjoyed.

The Food and Beverage team took great pride in reading your comments on the dinner and breakfast offerings.

Interestingly we often experience calmer weather over winter, the walks look completely different with much more snow on the peaks. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kindest Regards

Simon Douthett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews