We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
71
5
3
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
5
3
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool watch tower access road best friend we've stayed umbrian hills hidden gem breathtaking views christopher architecture restoration michelin surroundings personality loggia peace
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Torre di Moravola is simply the most beautiful place that we have ever stayed. It is hidden in the breathtaking Umbrian countryside, along a gravel track, across the valley from Montone. The property is uniquely inspiring - a 12th century watch tower imaginatively rennovated with stunning architectural flair and design. The open areas are light and spacious and the rooms are individually inspired and fascinating. Seonaid and Christopher are wonderful hosts - nothing is too much trouble. Special mention should be made of the food - and in particular Christopher's cooking which is superb. The only area that could be improved, in our opinion, was air-conditioning (there is none). In the heat of the Umbrian summer it would have been welcome. The nearby village of Montone is beautiful, with several wonderful restaurants, an amazing film-festival and breathtaking views. . If you are looking for the ultimate in sophistication amid Umbria's rustic beauty look no further.

Room tip: The Main Tower - magical
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

This is what luxury travel is supposed to be about. The owners, Christopher and Seona have done it all in renovating this 10th century watch tower into a contemporary gem with all the right touches, and nothing 'over the top'. The setting is remote and beautiful; Christopher is an amazing chef, and despite excellent meals in the surrounding villages, we were drawn back to his gourmet meals. We had the option of being left to our own privacy but also felt welcome to join a group of the owner's friends and had a wonderful time meeting and enjoying new friends all around. Highly, highly recommend!

Room tip: All rooms seemed excellent, some just are larger or have different viewpoints. Loved the thermal floors.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denveroutbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2014

My husband and I stayed at Torre di Moravola in July as part of a 6 week holiday in Italy traveling from Australia. The tower is beautiful, it is surrounded by views in all directions, the rooms are simple and elegant, the food is fabulous and the pool is sublime at the end of a day out exploring.
Seonaid was generous and a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area, Christopher is a fabulous cook and if you have the opportunity to eat in one evening I highly recommend it! Once again this is not a hotel, this is a beautifully restored tower with 6 suites, it is a quiet, elegant sublime experience.

Room tip: If you have any physical difficulty climbing stairs, request a suite without them.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014

Friends arranged the accommodation and reading some of the negative reviews I was a little unsure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised and had a great time at Moravola. This is not a large hotel experience. Its a fantastic restoration of an crumbling old medieval tower, restored into a fantastic modern luxury retreat, with beautifully appointed, self contained living spaces. I liked the design aesthetic created here, minimalist design with use of natural stone, iron, glass together with luxury fabrics and features. There is everything and nothing to do at Moravola. Crazy friends went running up and down the hill trails, others preferred hiking and walked to other villages nearby to indulge in fabulous food and wine, while some lazed by the pool and read books. Certain days we drove out to nearby villages to see the food markets, sightseeing and shopping. Regarding the owners, reading the reviews I was a little apprehensive. However after the wonderful stay we had at Moravola, I feel some of the reviews present an unbalanced view. During our time we could not fault Seonaid and Christopher's attentiveness to our needs. The breakfasts were very good. We were asked ahead of time whether we were having lunch / dinner in or out. We were provided with lots of information about the region, sights to visit, restaurants to eat at, reservations made, pick-up from the restaurants late at night arranged, towns to shop in, things to buy - all the little insider tips that made us feel a little more local. Of course, everyone has different expectations - we were quite low maintenance and this place exceeded our expectations. Moravola is a place to stay if you want to experience a little part of Umbrian country life, its peaceful, rustic, great food, all done in luxury and style. Will definitely come back, it was great. Own transport and day-time arrival recommended.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

While reading some other reviews of the place I could not help but notice a pattern for the not so positive reviews: they all thought Moravola was a hotel! Well it is not, instead it is a beautiful luxurious bed and breakfast, you basically stay in someone's castle in the middle of beautiful Umbria; and the owners - who designed and built this magnificent place themselves - will often also cook for the guests at other times than just breakfast, and also help you with anything you want if you ask nicely.

But there is no doorman, no concierge, no late room service, etc... the road to get there is rought, the location not on most maps and hard to find, making it even more rewarding once you have figured it out.

This place is a gem for a beautiful unique experience, ideal for stepping out of the crowded tourist traps elsewhere all over Italy in the summer, and relax, enjoy the view, the food, the design, the fun owners.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Pierre-Alban G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews