We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”
Review of Fudgies Bistro

Fudgies Bistro
Ranked #43 of 321 Restaurants in Hove
Price range: US$7 - US$24
Description: Community Café, Bar and Bistro serving locally sourced food, fab wine, beer and cocktails and the good people of Hove. xxx
Restaurant details
Description: Community Café, Bar and Bistro serving locally sourced food, fab wine, beer and cocktails and the good people of Hove. xxx
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

We came in here for breakfast recently and the food was very good. I had the vegetarian breakfast and it almost defeated me - the portions were huge. My pancake stack was more of a tower! The food was very good - filling and wholesome and great value for money given the portion sizes. The member of staff on duty was very welcoming and friendly. I have one negative comment really. This is a bar and as such seems to attract a particular type of regular. The language was a bit strong shall we say even though it was only really mid-morning. I think this is really a place for an adults only brunch but definitely worth a visit.

Thank Babyalmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H, Owner at Fudgies Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thanks so much Babyalmie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

We found this place en route to somewhere else for lunch & we’re glad we did! 4 hungry kids & 2 hungry adults, we ordered the seafood platter & meat platter. It had a great selection of food on it, generous portions, and really yummy. I couldn’t believe how well I kids did with it! Especially the muscles which had a really nice sauce and tasted so fresh & tender. It was really reasonably priced and the staff were friendly. After some other customers had gone, they even put on the kids’ choice of music. We nearly didn’t stop here as it wasn’t busy but don’t let that put you off. Stop here- it’s worth it

Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H, Owner at Fudgies Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thanks so much for your kind review Cheryl.

All the best xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Dropped in for a Sunday roast after peering through the window and seeing the biggest Yorkshire pud ever! Although not very busy (maybe because it was the last day of the football season ? ) Fudgies has a really comfortable feel with lovely decor and very friendly staff. Couldn’t finish my roast as the portions are so generous but most importantly so tasty. And the Yorkshire was everything I expected . Fudgies has a lovely garden area, clean loos (worth mentioning as it’s one of my pet hates), doggie friendly, has live music on various evenings and available for private functions. Julien the owner is very accommodating and Fudge is always happy to get a bit of attention and stroke! Booked for my birthday already and looking forward to trying an evening of live music and good food.

Thank North-South-Belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H, Owner at Fudgies Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thanks soooo much xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Fudgies has everything you want for a local bistro. Lee the chef is excellent. We recently had his fish platter and it was excellent. Generous portions. I am looking forward to trying his new meat platter with a Southern US twist.

I have gone several times for a Sunday roast. Good quality meat and veggies. They also have live music on Thursday and Friday nights. Staff are very friendly as is Fudgie the dog.

The garden out back is a fantastic sun trap and great to wile away a few hours. They are also doggie friendly and Rob one of the staff learnt how to make coffee in Australia. So rare to find a barista that can make a good flat white and not burn the beans.

Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H, Owner at Fudgies Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Cheers John xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

This place is divine !!!! Staff are so accommodating , food is delicious nothing is to much trouble !!! Ring ahead for any special food requirements ! Beautiful south facing garden ! It’s like hoves best kept secret that will not be a s very for too long so get here quick !!! Julian the owner is a delight and Lee is an excellent chef ! Fantastic !!!

Thank Ricky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H, Owner at Fudgies Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

You're too kind! Thanks Ricky.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fudgies Bistro also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Fudgies Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing