We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
13
7
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
7
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful natural settinggreat locationhostelintroductionreceptionbikesrentlighthouseislandbathroom
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Overall it has been a good experience because despite the size of the room which was extremely small for 4 persons and surely overpriced (more than 100 euros per night...), a lot of things count on the positive side of the balance: very friendly staff, always smiling and ready to go the extra mile (for example, giving an extensive introduction briefing upon arrival); the great location, in a beautiful natural setting, walking distance to a little birds' zoo and the famous Ameland light house, 15 minutes walking from Hollum and 25 minutes by bus from the Ness' ferry terminal; the possibility to rent all kind of bikes directly from reception, at a fair price and receiving good advices and a free map of the island; the nice playground for the children, included a branded new pirate ship; a fair breakfast, included in the price of the room, and a good value-for-money BBQ dinner. In conclusion, kids like this hostel so their parents!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Astur67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We were seriously impressed with StayOkay Ameland. The location is perfect - just by the famous lighthouse, 2 mins from the beach and in a quiet hollow fronted by woodland. The bus goes directly from the ferry to the stop outside the hostel.

The staff couldn't have been more friendly and they laid on all sorts of family Easter activities (marshmallows & bonfire on the beach, egg painting, egg hunt, etc). There's a play area right in front for basketball and football and the kids can get balls from reception any time with no hassle or 'health and safety' nonsense. We rented bikes from their own hire shop and they were in good condition and fairly priced.

The food was great and overall we were just so impressed and wondered why all the visitors were Dutch and German, yet for UK visitors this is a great family holiday option. We continued to the StayOkay on the next island (Terschelling) and were equally impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Africahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

With two friends I stayed in this place last month for one night. We stayed in a private 4 bed dorm, which for the price of 59 euro I found very valuable for the money.

The room was clean and the bed linnen was very hygienic packed in foil to ensure cleanness. Toilet and shower were clean as well and it all looks well maintained.

Service was great. When we explained we had activities the next day very early, breakfast was server 15 minutes earier than normal. Also the extensive introduction on our arrival was very good.

We enjoyed the breakfast It is a continental breakfast with a lot of choice. The bread was still warm from the oven, and it all tasted good and fresh.

The location is wonderfull. From the town Hollum, the hostel is just past the lighthouse. It is like located in the dunes. Very quiet for a good night sleep, and a very beautifull. surrounding. The town of Hollum is located about 5 minutes by push bike from the hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Lupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I've stayed in more than 15 hostels, and this is my favorite. My dorm room and en suite bathroom were perfectly clean. Breakfast was included, all you can eat, and had a great variety. The bar and fireplace room was a great place to unwind after a day of hiking. The staff were friendly. They had bikes for rent and games to borrow. The staff gave us some tips about trails in the nearby woods, which was nice of them. There's a cool pirate ship playground, which I enjoyed even though I'm not really the target audience, haha! This hostel is rustic and in a beautiful natural setting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sadie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: kamers verdeeld over 3 gebouwen, eenvoudig. Badkamer en toilet worden dagelijks gereinigd. Meer hostel dan hotel, geweldige service.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews