We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,030)
Filter reviews
2,030 results
Traveller rating
1,118
542
254
65
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,118
542
254
65
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el volcan piano bar privilege restaurant privilege room salt water a la carte restaurants dolce vita buffet restaurant half board privilege package privilege guest guest relations lovely hotel main building mikes coffee shop sea view branded drinks
Filter
Updating list...
638 - 643 of 2,030 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We were really pleased with our choice when arriving at the Rubicon Palace. My husband even thought it was the best hotel we've stayed at outside of the UK!

First impressions are fantastic; the lobby and reception area are impressive and grand yet welcoming. Reception staff were friendly and efficient on check in, and we were given a glass of bubbly whilst waiting (only for a minute or so) to check in. We were helped with our bags to the room by a really friendly member of staff.

Our room was 6022 which was lovely. I wouldn't say luxurious, but clean and large enough for our needs. Only complaint about the room is that there was no travel cot as requested. I requested one through Thomas Cook and even emailed the hotel to check we would be able to have one, but there wasn't one there on arrival. We asked for one but it never appeared. Not a huge problem as there was a pull out bed, but it wasn't ideal for our 23 month old who did actually fall out of it one night!
We paid extra for a sea view room and I don't think I would bother next time as all of the views eg pool were nice.

The hotel itself is beautiful and has everything you need. The buffet restaurant (we only went to one all stay - it was the one with the longer opening hours) was excellent. a huge variety and everything fresh. I think even fussy eaters would be happy here. A few very minor gripes - if you went to breakfast later on they started running out of things eg glasses, straws and once or twice we had to wait for another family to leave to grab their high chair.

The three bookable restaurants were great to. We wondered if they might be just the same food as the buffet but served up differently, but they weren't at all. The Steak House was my least favourite out of the three, but Italian and Oriental were fantastic, with huge portions. Very limited children's menu, but luckily my daughter isn't fussy and they were happy to swap things anyway.

In terms of bars, we spent a lot of time in the lobby bar, either for morning coffee on the terrace or a glass of wine after the mini disco. Really classy and each evening they had a singer or musician. The pool bar (which became the Steak House at night) was nice too if you just want a snack or drink. Plenty of choice.

The two things that made the holiday for us were the amazing staff, and the facilities for kids. All staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us, especially our daughter. From the photographers to the waiting staff to the children's entertainers, they were just great and always remembered our names.
The mini disco form 8-9pm made our daughter so happy. The character 'Daisy' would lead the dancing with 2/3 members of staff and certificates given out. Most nights she cried when it ended.

The only real complaint we would have about this hotel, like a lot of people, is the pools. They are beautiful to look at but far too cold to go in. Even the 'heated' ones were just too cold, especially with the ever present Lanzarote wind. My daughter desperately wanted to go in, and we did take her a couple of times but she was shivering within minutes.

Thank you so much Rubicon Palace, for a fantastic stay.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brzdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Guest,

With great pleasure we were reading your positive review and the praises. At this point we want to thank you for taking you time to share your experiences you had staying at the H10 Rubicón Palace with us.

We are very grateful that you enjoyed the food selection and the various types of restaurants at the hotel. By opening two big main buffets and four à-la-carte-restaurants, we try to offer a great diversity of culinary choices to our guests.

Thank you also very much for your comment on the room and the view. We highly appreciate your feedback and also the positive review on our staff, which is the heart of the hotel working hard to create unique moments for our customers. It is great to hear that you were satisfied with our services and it motivates us to keep going and improving on a daily basis.

On the other hand side we are deeply sorry that we were not able to deliver the travel cot to your room. Under request it is usually not an issue to provide them to our guests and we want to apologize to you for this mistake. Furthermore we are sorry for the inconveniences at the buffet in the morning. Our staff is always trying to fill up glasses, straws etc. quickly, despite rush hour times and a big amount of people. We will report this to the responsible to the corresponding department.

As you already mentioned, one of our pools is heated at a pleasant temperature between 24-25ºC, conforming the definition of a heated pool, while the other ones are at a normal temperature. We are sorry if it was not to your full satisfaction.

Once again we want to thank you for your positive review and are already looking forward to welcome you again here in Playa Blanca.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Just got back on with April after a week in this hotel. It is a very nice hotel but hard to say 5 star when comparing to the 5 stars in Belek, Turkey. My wife and I booked a Privilege package which was nice for a few reasons. The a la carte privilege restaurant El Volcan was great. Breakfast and evening meals there were a pleasure and made more so by the head waiter 'Tana'. He is a massive assets to the hotel as he goes about his job with a happy cheerful greeting for everyone and couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The food there was really good with a good variety. You have your own table with your name on for the duration of your stay.
We tried the Asian restaurant one night but were not impressed as they rushed you from the moment you entered and tried to get rid as soon as possible. We cancelled our other restaurant bookings after this as we prefer the setting in El Volcan.
Another special mention to one of the bar men 'Roberto' who again was so friendly and cheerful.
Pool areas are very nice, although water is freezing. Never a problem getting a Sun lounger.
We took a mark off the hotel for two reasons. Firstly in the room there was always a trail of ants at the balcony door inside and out. This we put down to the fact that the cleaners were not cleaning under the curtains and in the door runners and there was always dead moths there which were a feast for the ants. Secondly the main lifts were a bit tired to say the least and there was a barrier on one of the star ways for the whole week but nobody doing anything about it.
If I could have put this hotel on Tenerife it would be much better as we found the wind in Lanzarote to be constant and excessive. I know they can't do anything about the weather but for that reason we don't think we would go back.
It is a lovely walk along the promenade to Playa Blanca. About 40 minutes but you can get a bus at the hotel front for less than 2 euros or a taxi for 6 euros.

Date of stay: April 2018
4  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you review and for taking your time to share your experiences of your holiday. We are very grateful for your feedback since it helps us a lot to keep improving.

It is true that it is quite difficult to compare hotels located in distinct countries with each other which are from the same category. Due to other infrastructures, price levels, cultural differences and many other reasons, every hotel is operating a different way even though they are considered of the same category. Besides that, countries have different regulations and laws shaping and influencing the function of hotels, which makes a big difference in the delivery of services.

We are very happy about your comments towards two of our team and with pleasure we will forwards those praises towards them. Those kinds of reviews are the ones that inspire us to keep working even harder in order to make our customers happy.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dinner at one of our à-la-carte-restaurants. We have taken note of your points and will talk to the management of our restaurant department in order to find solutions to that. We want to apologize to you at this point.

Concerning the pools it has to be said that one of our main pools is heated at a comfortable temperature of 24-25º, while the others are at a normal temperature. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with this aspect of the hotel.

Regarding the inconvenience you had in your room we want to apologize to you. We would have liked to solve this already during your stay. By contacting our team from reception or guest relation, we could have solutions to this in no time, since our housekeeping is quite efficient at eliminated those kind of issues.
We are sorry to hear that you had inconveniences at the usage of the elevators during your stay, our maintenance team has been taking care of that and always tries to put in efforts to solve technical inefficiencies quickly.

We hope to see you back soon and welcome you here at the H10 Rubicón Palace.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Just returned from H10 Rubicon Palace and having read the reviews prior to going, we were a little unsure what to expect. It seems that people either like it or don’t.
From the outside its very imposing and the foyer is huge. It looks elegant and probably appears to be worth the new 5-star rating. Beyond this the cracks begin to show. The lifts down to the restaurants look like belong in some inner city high rise flats. There are names scratched into the paint and the general condition and operation seem very poor. One of the two lifts seemed to struggle to reach to the top floor and makes noises that it probably shouldn’t.
Our room (9214) was centrally located and was on the ground floor. It contained a large bed, two bed side cabinets, two chairs, a sideboard, a coffee table and a three-seater settee. There was very little room to move. The patio had chairs a table and 1 sun lounger, we found this strange as 8ft from the patio was a 14 ft wall and a huge palm tree. It stayed dark until very late in the afternoon when the sun moved across. The décor was black and white, personally I hated it. It made the room even more closed in and the finish cheap and nasty. The cleaning lady was very nice and our room was always sorted early in the morning. The patio area never seemed to get the same attention though.
The food was always good, plentiful and varied. We thought this was the best part of the hotels services. We ate in the smaller of the two restaurants as this had less children in it and was less of a bun fight to get your meals. We went for a snack at the pool bar one lunchtime, the food was disgusting. It was dried up and inedible and we left most of it.
The piano bar in the evening was nice, but nobody ever played the piano. There was a kid’s club in the show bar downstairs and a sports bar in another part of the complex, although we did not go in them. The price of the drinks was a bit more than the UK, it cost around £9 for two bottles of beer and a cola and around £5 for two coffees. We considered upgrading to AL but this cost 64 euro per day and we didn’t feel we would see the benefit.
The public areas are clean and there are plenty of sunbeds to choose from. In our opinion we though the site to be too big which made it a little impersonal. The pool was freezing, however there was a heated pool but this was full of children.
We used the SPA once, it was expensive and not worth the money.
I think that overall you will either love the hotel or not and we were in then not camp. It’s too far away from the resort and it’s not a 5-star hotel. Its not as if we hated staying there, we just felt there were more negative points than positive.
Personally, we would not return and there are better hotels for less money in Playa Blanca.

Date of stay: April 2018
10  Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Chris,

First of all, we want to thank you for taking your time and giving us insight into your experiences during your stay. Only this way we have the opportunity to obtain feedback from our guests and find ways for improvement.

We are sorry to hear that you did not like some parts of the hotel. During the last year we newly refurbished the main parts of the hotel such as the reception and lobby area, but also many other aspects such as the rooms have been modernized. Anyway the renovation of our premises is a continuous process and we want to keep improving everyday. Also the decor of our rooms was renewed and we have chosen a classical, colonial style kept in neutral colors such as black and white, which are meant to transmit modernism and which can also be observed on the room description on our website. We apologize if you had inconveniences at some point.

Furthermore we are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with the location of your room. With pleasure our team from reception would have liked to help you by finding a room change to a higher floor. Rooms located at the ground floor offer easy access and are therefore also very popular and solicited by or guests which have special needs.

We are very grateful to you for mentioning the variety of our restaurants and food selection. On the other hand side we are sorry that you did not enjoy certain parts of our gastronomic offers. Besides the main buffets, the hotel complex contains a big range of other options to have dinner, such as our four thematic à-la-carte-restaurants. Not only our Pool Bar offers a huge range of lunch choices but also the buffet Janubio is an option. Another opportunity to have lunch is one of our à-la-carte-restaurants Dolce Vita, which contains a beautiful and sunny terrace and is to you availability.

In our piano bar, as well as in order areas of the hotel, such as the theater, our animation team is hosting entertainment show such as live music or plays, which vary every night in order deliver unique moments for all age group and taste. We are sorry that you did not enjoy this aspect of you vacation.

Regarding your comments towards the prices of drinks, it has to be said that all the drinks served in the H10 Rubicón Palace are from well-known brands and we consider it our mission to deliver high quality at every aspect of the hotel. We are very proud to be one of the few 5-star-hotels on this islands, thus pricing is accordingly. Considering the fact that an upgrade from half board to all-inclusive is only 32€ per person per day and includes a meal for lunch time in either the Pool Bar or one of the big buffet restaurants and, furthermore, all the drinks you wish for at any of our bars as well as snacks, it is a quite fair price. The entry to our Spa, which has by the way an exceptional view towards Fuerteventura and includes an outdoor pool, is 16€ per person, which is also at the same price level of other hotels of the same category in the area.

As on the website described, the complex of our hotel is very large containing hundreds of rooms. By building five different pools at different areas of the hotels, we tried to offer several possibilities to either find tranquility or a joyful entertainment program. As you said, we have a heated pool which is around 24-25ºC, anyway we apologize that you did not enjoy the usage of the pools to the full extend and will keep this into consideration.

Once again we are sorry that you your stay was not to your expectations.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

A beautiful hotel with excellent food, friendly staff and great facilities! It is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and would recommend it to anyone! The location is slightly out of the way but you are no more than a 6 euro taxi ride from the marina and restaurants. If you are fit, you can also take the long walk along the coast.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank RoisReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear Guest,

In the name of the whole team we want to thank you for the very positive comment and the time you took to evaluate your stay with us in the H10 Rubicón Palace. We are very happy that you had an excellent holiday and memorable experiences in our hotel.

The H10 Rubicón Palace is located at the area of Montaña Roja and near to the lighthouse of Playa Blanca. This location offers spectacular views towards other islands such as Fuerteventura and Isla de Lobos as well as tranquility. We recommend our guests to ask our staff at reception to order a taxi for them, as you already mentioned, or to use public transport, which is running on a regular basis directly from the hotel for very low fares.

Thank you again for your kind words. We can not wait to welcome you again here in Playa Blanca.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Spent 8 wonderful days at the Rubicon Palace from 14th to 22nd April 2018. Could not find fault with anything. We stay in a privilege room which was great and spotlessly clean. Food was varied and delicious, served in the Volcan restaurant with lovely staff and an outstanding maitre d called Tuscan (apologies for the spelling). Our room was beside one of the smaller pools which was perfect for us. The privilege bar and terrace area was also perfect for what we look for in a holiday.We could not have asked for a better holiday and we look forward to returning to the Rubicon Palace very soon.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wendywoo110898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure for us to read your comment and your kind words. We highly appreciate your praise and are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time at our hotel.

We want to thank you for mentioning one of our outstanding restaurants, the Volcan, which is especially popular for its high-class cuisine. We were very happy to read that you liked our service personal and will forward this with pleasure to them. Apart from that we also have a range of other thematic restaurants to your choice, which offer various types of delicious food and which you can consider to visit during your next stay.

Besides that, we were also very glad for your positive comment concerning the standard of the room, which is one of our priorities.
Thank you very much again for visiting the H10 Rubicón Palace and your feedback. We are already looking forward to welcome you soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews