We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
238
154
23
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
154
23
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsducal palaceone nightdessert buffetconverted conventrooms are hugemodern convenienceslarge balconyregional dishesa lovely place to staywatch tvoriginal featureshotel is fantasticmarble quarryevery cornersuperior roomcommon areas arememorable stay
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A good place for one night. We loved the Village. The pool was good and clean. The room was simpel but also clean. A nice old building with old history details. And the staf was very kind. In the village are nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank Johannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sergio D, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mr Johannes S, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa Historic Hotel and for taking your valuable time to complete our survey, which we carefully read. The opinions of our guests are extremely helpful allowing us to keep on improving the service we wish to render to each and everyone who choose the Pousadas. We thank you for your time and hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Sérgio Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love staying in unique hotels and this is one of them.
The rooms and dining areas are unlike any you'll see anywhere else.
I enjoyed exploring the different spots in the hotel.
We had a nice dinner there with very attentive staff.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sergio D, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mr Marty S, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa Historic Hotel and for taking your valuable time to complete our survey, which we carefully read. The opinions of our guests are extremely helpful allowing us to keep on improving the service we wish to render to each and everyone who choose the Pousadas. We thank you for your time and hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards,Sérgio Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've stayed at several Pousada/Pestana properties in the past and were always blown away. This.... was different. I had booked a "Superior Triple" and clearly indicated it was for three adults, yet they gave us a room with one queen-size bed and one cot that was sized for a child. I expected there would be enough actual beds in the room for three given the room name, but if not - they should have provided an appropriate size of bed for an adult. They did eventually switch it after I asked at the desk, but it involved several phone calls and two staff members and no apology for making the mistake to begin with. Our room also had a terrible smell - I realize it's an old building but we had to sleep with the door open to be able to breathe. Which was just as well, since the AC only blew warm air anyway. The hotel rooms are badly in need of an update and look like they haven't been redecorated since the 70s. The pool wasn't open yet for the season - it says this on the flyer they hand you at checkin but should have been stated on the hotel website too since we booked it partly for the gorgeous pool they advertised. It was such a letdown for the last day of our holiday as we expected the same level of attention to detail we'd seen in other properties.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank nononononot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sergio D, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. nononononot, Would like from now thanking the available time in the share of his comments, since it helps us to improve. We appologise not to have reached your expectations. I want to thank for you for this comment, since it are through same that we manage to improve effectively our service, trying always to reach the expectations of each client that we have the privilege to receive in "Pousada Convento Vila Viçosa". We have take into consideration your comments and experience in order to minimize this type of situation. We would have the biggest pleasure in receiving you and your family again in "Pousada Vila Viçosa". Attentively, Sérgio Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

This hotel was more like a museum. We felt like we were living centuries ago. The staff was very helpful and pleasant although they need more staff in every department, especially reception, housecleaning, and breakfast room.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank JeffOsowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoao, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Mr. JeffOsowski, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa Historic Hotel and for taking your valuable time to give your comment, which we carefully read. The opinions of our guests are extremely helpful allowing us to keep on improving the service we wish to render to each and everyone who choose the Pousadas. We thank you for your time and hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Sérgio Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel with nice history. Very helpful staff and very clean place. We stayed in the suite and it was very spacious and beautiful. Also we had a wonderful from the veranda from our suite. Breakfast was great with a fine variety of food.
We also want to thank Telma for suggestions to visit some places in Vila Viçosa and great restaurant Safari with local food. She was very nice and pleasant.
We would recommend to everyone who like to visit historical place and have excellent service. Definitely will come back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank OlgaDnsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoao, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Customer, We thank you for your comments and the time spent. It is with personal satisfaction that I acknowledge the positive feedback regarding our team work and effort. It is reassuring to know that our endeavor to create memorable moments is successful. Once again we thank you for your comments which we will be passing on to all our team members and we hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the very near future. Best regards, Sérgio Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews