We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveller rating
591
193
35
26
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
193
35
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barhonor barsan cascianojunior suiteglass of wineour honeymooncommon areastuscan countrysideroom was largerelaxing staybeautiful propertywelcoming staffbreakfast and dinnerwonderful viewspent nightschianti areamagical place
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 859 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Our first trip to Florence/Tuscany. We stayed at the Villa for 4 nights and chose it because it is out of down but within a 20 minute drive of Florence (we had rented a car). Since they needed our rooms in the Villa, for a large group, our group of 4 were put into the cottage just a bit off the main grounds. (We knew about this before arriving.) The two bedroom/two bath cottage included a sitting area and kitchen/dining area. We were pleased with our welcome, we arrived almost 3 hours late (delays in Munich during our connection), as they still had someone meet us and help us get settled in. We had requested a cold plate be left in the cottage as we knew we'd be hungry upon arrival, and they left a beautiful one along with bread and vinegars/oils. It was perfect! The grounds provide a beautiful view of the valley that lays beyond and, when clear, a perfect spot to view sunset. The hosts were helpful in planning a wine tasting/lunch as well as giving us maps and suggestions on what else to do in the area. The breakfast, included with our room, was good and served buffet style. A selection of meats, cheeses, bread, scrambled eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc. Typical for the area. We did use the Wellness Center once and although clean, the sauna & hot tub needed to be hotter. The dinner we had, one evening, was adequate but overpriced for what was presented. As they were hosting a large group on their front patio that evening, we got a bit forgotten at times. I was not asked how I'd like my roast beef done...and unfortunately, it came to me medium. I had hoped to send it back, but our waiter disappeared for quite awhile - assuming he left to help serve the large group on the patio. Overall, I would recommend you consider this as your home in the Florence area. Beautiful views & grounds, clean & comfortable rooms and always someone there to lend you a hand to navigate Tuscany. Consider other options for dinner though.

Room Tip: The pictures of the rooms looked lovely, but we stayed in the cottage/apartment slightly off the grounds.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelisfun195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

This hotel aspires to be up-market, but doesn’t make it.

It is a wonderful old building in a gorgeous setting with panoramic views from the atmospheric cloisters. But the rather rude manager uses the fact of it being a renaissance building as ‘cover’ for an apparent lack of investment since the 1970s. For example, the labyrinthine corridors and lack of a lift are blamed on the building rather than a lack of vision and funds.

We had booked a Country Superior Twin for three nights and, on arrival, we were shown to a dark, dingy room which even the staff thought was unacceptable as they had prepared an alternative in a so-called junior suite which had a double bed and a sofa bed – that was their notion of twin beds!

The website’s descriptions and photographs are, in my view, deliberately misleading. For example, ‘marble bathrooms’ are actually pretty average rooms with plastic baths. In fact, much of the surroundings are pretty tired – shabby chic it is not.

Such was our dissatisfaction that we informed the manager that we would go somewhere else to find lodgings, but she convinced us to stay the first night and re-assess in the morning.

We had booked dinner on the first evening and that was a mistake, given the plethora of magnificent eating places in Tuscany. The website photograph of a lovely dining room with tables set with fine linen and silver cutlery is a world apart from a noisy refectory lined with long tables for Viking Cruises passengers (does that say anything about the market they seek?). The pictures on the website are, in fact, of a completely different room which is deliberately misleading. For the first course, there was a long queue for a mediocre self-service buffet where items kept running out. It was like being in a flock of seagulls at an onboard cruise buffet.

Our room was next door to the restaurant and kitchen and the noise from the kitchen until 11pm was unbearable.

For breakfast, the website vision is of groaning sideboards overflowing with delicious looking food in a lovely room while the reality is a couple of trestle tables with a mediocre buffet devoid of freshly prepared fruit.

But all these issues could have been overcome if the staff, especially the manager, had behaved like true hoteliers and offered ways of meeting our expectations rather than simply offering a move the following day to another room.

The next morning, however, when we informed her that we had decided to go elsewhere, she reneged on our understanding of the previous evening and insisted on charging for the remaining two nights. That was eventually reduced to one night and you may judge our level of discontent by the fact that we preferred to put our money where our mouth is and pay the €195 penalty rather than stay another night. Frankly, it was the attitude of the staff and manager towards the situation that clinched our decision. The manager also left it to staff to do the dirty deed and then didn’t back them up when we queried with her.

Reading some of the reviews, it is clear that the enjoyment of a stay here very much depends on room allocation. Get a good one and the experience will be great, dining apart. A poor one and the experience will be dismal. But, again in reading the reviews, one thing’s for sure. It is unlikely that the management will learn from our experience as, historically, they have simply defended against poor reviews rather than embracing them and committing to improvement. Let’s see how they respond to this one.

BTW, we ended up enjoying San Gimignano at La Cisterna. An even older building but with modern facilities and welcoming staff.

Room Tip: Refuse any that are not on upper floors.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 863robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Madame, sorry if we haven’t answered you before.
Still after two months I can’t understand how you could take my and my staff’s disponibility as a improper attitude.
We upgraded you to a Junior Suite instead of a Superior that you booked and at last you paid only half the prize, because we were willing to meet you in the middle.
Our restaurant it’s really appreciated by the majority of our guests and i’m really you didn’t. I accurately read your comment and I took notice of everything that could be a good suggestion to increase our service, disponibility and welcoming.
We will take note of your remarks and always try to do ours best.

Kind regards

Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

We had a great time in this beautiful Villa. Very nice and friendly Service and great dinner and breakfast. The Villa ist in the middle of the beautiful Chianti landscape. Perfect for winetasting and excursions Close to Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank akakus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

We loved Villa il Poggiale. We stayed for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon in one of their suites. We got married Saturday, left the US on Sunday, and arrived in Florence in Monday, so the 25 minute drive from the airport was perfect. We checked right in and relaxed! This location was perfect for us, especially adjusting from jet lag... between the lovely breakfast, easy dinner on site, and the "honesty bar", we didn't have to track much down during the first 48 hours. The rooms (living room + bedroom + bathroom with shower and tub) were very large. The staff was extremely friendly and helped us arrange a private winery visit (Altiero... we loved it... family run winery). It was a convenient location to visit Montefioralle and Greve in Chianti. Being able to relax around the villa, with such a beautiful view, was an amazing start to our trip. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We love our suite, #10. Felt like it was more private than other rooms, in terms of its location.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Lovely old villa with very friendly and helpful staff. Local village and winery are within walking distance but part of walk is along road with no sidewalks. Villa will arrange transportation and tours if requested. Breakfasts are included but dinners are an extra cost.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank david2233r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews