We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello di Montalto(Castelnuovo Berardenga)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Podere San Quirico(Castelnuovo Berardenga)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dievole(Vagliagli)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Borgo San Felice(Castelnuovo Berardenga)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Curina Resort(Castelnuovo Berardenga)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Podere Casato(Castelnuovo Berardenga)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Catignano(Castelnuovo Berardenga)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveller rating
394
112
61
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
112
61
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla cantinagordon ramseywine cellartuscan countrysidepool areathe hotel managerconverted monasteryour honeymoonsalt poolspa experienceeach morninglarge bathroomjunior suitespa facilitiessmall grouptasting menuexplore tuscany
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 596 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed at Castel Monastero for 4 nights in early October. Upon arrival I was impressed with the serene property grounds. Our room was large, very clean and equipped with new linens and luxurious details such as a towel warming rack and big soaking tub.
What impressed me the most of all was the customer service. The concierge or general manager was always available and ready to assist with any questions or requests we had. The hotel really went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and taken care of. If there was any issue, they were quick to correct and extremely apologetic for any inconvenience. They are a hotel truly focused on hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank E4325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We arrived as a larger group, check-in was surprising prompt and the staff was very professional. We were shown to our room (a suite overlooking the hills). Our room was equipped with two pack and plays with a foam mattress and bedding for our 1 and 2 1/2 year olds and a very comfortable king bed for the adults (when the kids weren't trying to sneak in).

The nicely finished bathroom had double sinks, a full size tub (kids loved it) and a copious number of towels. The suite also had a mini bar with a cooktop and a espresso machine.

The property boasts 2 restaurants, La Cantina and Contrada. We dined in both restaurants and the staff was extremely kind and accommodating to our children. La Cantina was located in an old wine cellar, we ate here 3 times during our visit and it was very good every time. The joked about the wine list being the size of a phone book! We dined at Contrada only once. Staff was great, our group had mixed reviews on the food. (Although the kids were happy, especially with the pistachio ice cream). The breakfast was also good, it had a variety of cold cuts, cheeses, breads and pastries as well as scrambled eggs. The espresso based beverages were excellent.

The Good- The setting is serene and all the staff were top notch. A great number of the restaurant staff knew my 2 1/2 year old by name. We did not participate in any spa services but others in our group were pretty happy with them.

The Bad- Laundry service was pricey which is extra crappy considering the remote location. No iron in the room. Outdoor pool was NOT heated and kids are not allowed in the indoor spa pool. (This might be a plus for those travelling without kids!)

Overall- A resort located in the beautiful Tuscan countryside with staff who genuinely care about the guest experience. They treated our kids extremely well!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Don V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We were blown away by the scenery and setting of the hotel even as we arrived. Before we had even got into reception the wonderful staff were greeting us by name and warmly inviting us into the hotel. The staff couldn't help us enough, and all aspects we experienced with the hotel were first class.

The food and wine is excellent, and a trip to Contrada, the Gordan Ramsey restaurant is a must, the experience was fantastic.

It really was silver service at all times, and we cant wait to take our families back with us next time.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andrewjcjoyce25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Our lovely and large suite was located just off the main lobby and gave us access to the beautiful patio directly from our room . We enjoyed breakfast there every morning. The views are breathtaking, the food delicious, the hotel impeccably clean. Our friends had a classic double room that was also lovely and gave great views. We found the staff accommodating and gracious.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pleiades1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

This is an exceptional place to stay! Everything was fantastic... from the suite, to the food at all meals and restaurants, to the service. The service was unlike anything I had ever experienced. The food was the best of our trip. The spa was very nice. It is expensive but worth the money.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews