We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
414
115
66
25
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
115
66
25
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la cantina gordon ramsey wine cellar pool area tuscan countryside the hotel manager star hotel converted monastery salt pool spa experience our honeymoon spa facilities each morning large bathroom spent days junior suite tasting menu
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 628 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We stayed for 3 nights on the July Palio package and I cannot fault the experience in any way. The staff were friendly, helpful and spoke flawless English. The breakfast buffet covered every imaginable food group and both restaurants were very good, The Contrada, especially so. The Spa was excellent, again all the staff were simply lovely, and the pool area was extremely well appointed (with mercifully few screaming children). The trip to the Palio itself was extraordinary. The balcony overlooked the San Martino corner so the views were unsurpassed and there was as much food and drink as I could have wished for. I could not have asked for more. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddiefatpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We visited Castel Monastero only for a lunch while going around the Tuscany and it was exactly how the heaven most likely look like. The service for super professional. All the time we had all we needed, but at the same time, the waitress was not disturbing us. The food does not need any comment – Gordon’s perfect style! We have been expecting a lot, but the well-balanced mix of luxury and simplicity and the overall calming atmosphere are really unique.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AlicaFromPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

An old monastery converted to a resort offers great room, good food but less than average service.
We had an absolutely fantastic junior suite overlooking the valley and the courtyard, with a stand-alone bathtub, large bathroom and separate shower (which could benefit from better ventilation).
Breakfast is served under large umbrellas in the courtyard, with a large selection from the buffet so you won't go hungry while waiting for someone to take and bring your egg and coffee-orders while you can hear the staff arguing in the kitchen near-by....
There is a large spa area with several out-door pools a 5min walk away, which seemed to be self-service until some staff finally emerged and - upon request - also removed the plastic the cats had apparently left behind the pool-chairs.
There was only one of the restaurants open during our stay and we were not sure what the claimed Georg Ramsey influence/impact is on the food/service.
The hotel does cater to seminars and business meetings, which does reduce the specialness of the place, but this was less disturbing than the large, raucous group of Dutch Ferrari drivers who thought they "owned the place" and could have been mistaken for Soccer-hooligans.
At a place like this one would expect a coffee-machine in the rooms and morning newspapers at breakfast. However, the offer by reception to order the InternationalNewYorkTimes the next day did not produce any results, and after three requests to refill the ice-bucket of the Prosecco in the room the ice was left in a new bucket next to it....

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We went for a 7 days spa retreat. Very exclusive 5 stars place. The diet food was varied and excellent .not sad at all, yet I lost 5 kg. The treatment programme is first class and limited to a small number of guests. The gym is good. The sightseeing around is exceptional

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renaud S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

We spent 5 of the most relaxing nights of our lives at Castel Monastero as part of our honeymoon.

The service and amenities are first class!

The area is quite remote so a car is quite useful, and whilst the hotel is ultimate relaxation it does not cater for those after more of a party or bar scene to make you aware.

Both onsite restaurants are fantastic; both are on higher end.

Excellent tours and experience are valuable and the staff are on hand to help with anything.

Thank you for an amazing stay!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank panflanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews