We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,584)
Filter reviews
1,584 results
Traveller rating
766
501
155
69
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
766
501
155
69
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teenage kids pasta swimming pool artists loungers coast facilities
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,584 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

I would definitely recommend Cale D'Otranto. The buffet was unbelievable, beach very clean and nice, room clean and confortable and loved the artistic stuff. We never left the resort and watching their shows every night was one of the best thing in the Resort. Luca and Gabriele really my favorite...

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ViviLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

One of the worse Holiday had in the last 10 years.Expensive and quality/service very poor.Wifi avaible only in the bar and reception otherwise out of world.Food very poor,kitchen and floor service unpolite and useless.We suppose to have all inclusive but only untill 11.30pm after that you have to pay!!!Serving frozen food for Lunch and Dinner(Italy is well know for fresh food).When we were complaing to the stuff the usual answer"We don't care complain with the Resort Manager".
Room very tiny and dirty.The Animation stuff was good but more concern to pick up single girls to make you enjoy your Holiday.Great location but very overpriced,never ever again,if you want a nice Holiday avoid this place there is so many better places in Otranto for better price!!!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 12EnzoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo_Musazzi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Le Cale d'Otranto Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2015

Mr. 12EnzoC,
we appreciate your suggestion, but we can’t agree with your way of thinking of Le Cale d’Otranto. We believe you made a wrong reservation. We don’t offer Wi-Fi in the rooms, but only available in the bar and reception areas as well as illustrated on our website. Food is Italian and international, with some specials like Cena Pugliese, White Dinner and Party … and so on. Any information about soft all-inclusive is well explained too: the service is included from 10:00 am until 11:30 pm. But the extreme surprise is the answer you say you had about complaining: the resident manager and the hospitality management staff is forever at complete disposal of any Guest. Once again we think you made a wrong reservation expecting a 5 star service, but we’re sorry, we're not. We’re very sorry, but we can’t accept your valuation. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Really enjoyed my brief stay here in this "all-inclusive" resort. Though it's not my typical speed as a lone traveller, I found the beaches on site to be incredibly beautiful and delightful chill to swim in. The hotel rooms made of sandstone seem look like military barracks on the inside and out, but with the facilities on offer why would you spend anytime in the room, except to sleep. Booked early in the season and got a great price for a few night stay and would recommend this place to anyone but a snob. Appears to be a great place for kids as well.

Date of stay: June 2015
1  Thank tonypappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Resort is in a great location. It has been designed by a visionary Italian architect in the '70is who aimed to minimize environmental impact and visibility from the seafront. Rooms are small and dark, with very small windows, as they traditionally were in the south of Italy to repair from the burning sun - airco ensures a better comfort. Rooms are made of local stone, to give an authentic feeling and to minimize environmental impact. Bathrooms are also small; it is clear that the entire resort was envisioned by Gae Aulenti to have guests enjoy the outdoors and live outside. So if you're looking for big airy rooms, with private spaces and in-room service - this is not the place for you. Although the resorts have a golf green and 11 tennis courts, it doesn't really take advantage of it and the management focuses mainly on the beach and on the pool; as a consequence common spaces will result being too small in peak summer time compared to guest capacity: not enough beds in the beach, seats in the restaurant, umbrellas at the swimming pool, chairs at the bar. Choosing mid-season weeks in June/July/September should enable you to avoid the crowd (we stayed 2 weeks in July and could see a clear difference in crowd from the first week to the second when Italians started their holiday period). The formula of this holiday is studied for teenagers and young adults + their parents, who can tolerate some of the dis-functionalities, incl. the noise, the lack of sophistication in the service, etc. Belonging to the target group of families with teenage kids, we really enjoyed this holiday as our kids were constantly entertained in a safe, yet dynamic and sporty way; they even had kids-reserved tables at the restaurant where the fun continues. Food comes in a buffet style, but we found it generally good, fresh and diverse during the week - a negative is that the menu rotate on a weekly basis, so if you stay two weeks or longer it can become boring and predictable. Patisserie is the highlight of the kitchen: great standards. Also the pizza and the friggitoria are delicious. Finally, the resort needs restoration and renovation: forbidden to people with disability (too many barriers everywhere, from inside the rooms to every single public/common spaces, incl. beach). It is NOT recommended for small kids for the same reasons (no way you can bring strollers there) but the management is very clear, open and honest about what they can offer - so it is up to you if you want to run the risk. In terms of tech, wi-fi is only at the reception and it is not working well. If you're a foreigner, then roaming will boost the cost of the holiday. The entertainment is mainly (only) made in Italian. As Italian speakers, we found some of the staff using very vulgar, trashy language/expressions; I would suggest to Bestar to limit the trash-talk, especially from the stage, even if with the intent of generating a laugh. For boys, a once-a-week football match is NOT enough!!! Organizing small tournaments will be a real improvement. Aqua-gym by Martina is great. Flexible stretching could be done in the wood, where the morning air is fresher and more in contact with the nature - instead of being confined in the gym. Lastly, the beach was small but fantastic and the water very clean when we were there (look at my picture, it is a real picture from my simple phone!!!). Only improvement to mention here is that the center of the sea is closed to swimmers to enable canoeing. Honestly, for the 3 canoes and the 300 swimmers, I would try to improve the setup to make swimmers happy.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Berger969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo_Musazzi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Le Cale d'Otranto Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Dear Mr. Berger 969,
We would like to thanking you for being our Guest, but first of all for your detailed story on your vacation at Le Cale d’Otranto. Your storytelling is truly better than any our commercial. You’ve captured the truly essence of a stay in this Resort, between the rooms in local stone and the wide open air spaces. It offers the perfect stay for a family with teenagers or young adults. Both can have their own holiday and their own fun or relax. We appreciate your suggestions so much. Thanks a lot, best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2014

This resort is in a beautiful location. You will be tempted by the pictures. But the rooms are horrible. Very small, dark, old. Everything feels dirty. Most of the tiny bathrooms have steps so be careful. In fact, there are steep steps everywhere to everything. Not the place for people with mobility issues. The pool is very nice but forget about relaxing or reading with the blasting loudspeakers from the snack bar. And bring your own beach towels. You must pay a non-refundable 10 euros every time you get a towel.

Room tip: Steep steps to the second level.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Highroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo_Musazzi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Le Cale d'Otranto Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Dear Highroadas,
First of all we would like to highlightning that your reserved a no-refundable room by booking.com. We suppose that, for sure, before of booking and paying, you read any information about the historical Resort, including the stairs and steps, and the small typical rooms made in “pietra leccese”. When, after your arrival, you told us that you didn’t like the assigned room, the staff on duty, with great care, offered to changing you room. You moved to another room, but you didn’t like this second one and you decided to leave the Resort after a 2 days stay. Exceptionally and only for you we agreed to refund the amount paid, only because we understood that you made a wrong reservation. We suppose you’d to book a 5 star hotel, where the rooms are larger, but perhaps you couldn’t find our wonderful park, our exclusives and reserved bays and the warm of a local and true welcoming. You can read any proper information about us on the website booking.com. Anyway, we would thank you for choosing us and for talking of our Resort: we, for sure, are welcoming our guests, with the warm Mediterranean passion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews