We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Snaptravel
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveller rating
858
282
82
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
858
282
82
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor cinema happy hour xi beach head chef breakfast and dinner hired a car relaxing holiday music bar beautiful island private pool pool towels amazing hotel lunch time main town kefalonia sunbeds argostoli
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Let me just begin and say all the recent bad reviews here are unjustified and bordering on being totally false.

To confirm - cocktails are included in the all inclusive and they are mixed perfectly fine.

All inclusive is great and you get the same food
as everyone else. Except you don’t have to pay at the end. Every night is something new and it is constantly restocked and fresh. This isn’t your normal chips and burger all inclusive.

The so called “weak” beer you are served as part of all inclusive is Carlsberg. So if you think that is weak or rubbish, the issue isn’t the beer I can tell you that.

The wine is all local and great. Again if you don’t like Greek wine don’t go to Greece.

The staff are lovely. Yes when the bar is busy you do have to wait…. but I mean what bar do you not have to wait at??? That’s totally normal?!? And it isn’t due to lack of service.

The rooms are huge, comfortable and clean. Again it is true they are cleaned only every other day… but this is common practice across the world. Saving on water and conserving the need to have staff going round every day, how dirty does your room get that that poses a problem?

I genuinely have no complaints about this RESORT. it is beautiful and so are the attentive staff.

My husband and I have been around the world and I don’t usually do short haul holidays but with the recent pandemic (which some of these reviewers seem to have forgotten) we wanted to DO something closer to home. And I tell you now I will be back.

Definitely five star hotel and definitely a 10 out of 10 experience.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KRD_112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APOLLONION RESORT, Ιδιοκτήτης at Apollonion Asterias Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear KRD_112014,

Receiving such a positive review from you really makes us feel overwhelmed.

We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to send us your most positive feedback regarding your stay at our hotel, especially this season that the pandemic has caused such unusual circumstances both for travellers and for people who work in the Tourism industry.

We feel honored by your comments and we would really be pleased to host you again in our premises any time in the future.

We only hope next time all our smiles will not be hiding behind masks!

We all send you our warmest regards,

The Apollonion Asterias Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You don't get any info on arrival about amenities. So you basically have to rely on the booking details and then you realise after walking around the 'resort' (I use that in the loosest sense of the word because quite frankly it is not a resort), that there are NO amenities to speak of...(no entertainment, multiple bars and restaurants closed, no animation team for the kids, dated films thrown by a projector onto a weird shaped screen that nobody really wants to watch, games room that also passes as the sauna). Pretty much half of the things listed on the TUI website virtually non-existent...and you have just spent have a fortune on a 10 day holiday expecting these things, you get that sinking feeling in your stomach that it's NOT going to be quite the luxury all-inclusive holiday you were hoping for. Instead you are interogated for your room number and package, whenever you try and track down a waiter for a drink at dinner time (why dont they just issue arm bands?), in fact even if you do track one down they'll tell you they'll be with you in a monent and then disappear never to return...and then you hear the smash of plates from the same guy who said he would come but decided on more important things like clearing tables and dropping things. So after the 2nd or 3rd attempt at ordering from someone else, only for then to say they'll call someone, you drop by the bar service station after finishing your food, and then you dont see your drink unless you physically demand it. It's basically like an arm wrestle to get a drink at dinner time, and we drink mostly water, coke and the odd beer here and there! So you end up going through dinner, already thirsty, feeling absolutely parched...so you decide to have a drink after dinner, and you realise there is a 30 minute queue for drinks at the only operating drinks bar. With exclusive live coverage of fires on the mainland on the big screen. No sports, Olympics or Lions Tour, just fires. Every day, day in, day out. How do you tell your kids that this is the holiday you promised them? That aside, even after we decided to buy our own water because you have to pay for bottled water, we booked all inclusive hoping to have a few cocktails, but really, after one sip of these vile drinks it put us off drinking any more. My wife, who loves cocktails flatly refused to drink them after Day 2. So we tried beer and wine, and again, absolutely disgusting stuff. Ok, so drinks are a problem. I think I was probably the thirstiest I have ever been on a holiday and this has to go down as one of the most appalling 5 star stays I have ever experienced, and if you look at my reviews, that is some mean feat to achieve. There are literally better 2 star places on the island. Literally this hotel is the worst 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in worldwide. And it's not just service and drinks that the hotel fails dismally in, it's basic stuff like housekeeping. But to be fair it's not the actual housekeeping that is the problem, the housekeepers do an excellent job, as do I am sure everyone, it's just that they dont actually visit your room much to clean it - maybe because they just dont have time? Who knows. If you love wallowing in a filthy hotel room (particularly if you have kids who like to actually go to the toilet more than once a day) - then you are going to LOVE this hotel. The balcony was coated in a layer of grime, perhaps maybe giving the rooms a good air out before people are checked in would be useful, I actually wrote the word 'Clean Me' on the glass and it remained pretty much until we left! We asked for our room to be cleaned every 2 days, in fact I have a signed contract stating this requirement, however it was cleaned just twice in 10 days. On day 3 and day 5, after which they actually stopped cleaning altogether, we ran out of toilet paper multiple times, we had no toilet paper for 3 DAYS. Calling housekeeping or reception is an exercise in futility. They just say 'we'll send someone up' and they never materialise. I'll never forget having to track down some bog roll in the public areas.
Maybe this hotel was good in it's heyday, but sadly this is not a 5 star hotel at the moment. Serious work needs to be done to improve Service (critical), Quality (of drinks), Amenities (activities and convenience) and Hygiene (more regular housekeeping). So for that I give it 1 star.
If there are staff shortages then they should not accept so many customers and keep lower capacity, even increasing prices as long as the quality is 5 star, simple really. And perhaps improve the quality of all inclusive drinks and food convenience (hot snacks and ice creams). Take a look at the H10 model. When you are dying for a drink and they give you a tiny dinky little plastic cup of flat coke then you know you have just wasted your money on all inclusive. When you are in the restaurant and the only people getting served are Half Board you know there is a BIG PROBLEM here.
Otherwise the design of the hotel is stunning, a bit far away from anything so you'll need a car and you need to book one at the airport because the local car rentals are a rip-off, there's a lovely red sand beach 'Xi Beach' close by where you can do water sports and actually buy a drink at the many bars without waiting too long at all, and there were some positives, just outweighed by all the negatives really. It's a 'no' from us sadly.

Room tip: The new section means you have to walk half a mile to the entrance
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank brandonspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APOLLONION RESORT, Ιδιοκτήτης at Apollonion Asterias Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear brandonspeed,

We would like to start by expressing our apologies for any inconvenience that occured during your stay at our resort.

However, please allow us the following remarks:

To start with, we would like to point out that this season, due to the COVID protocols which we were in full compliance with, a lot of our usually offered services have changed.
Check-in procedure had to be of limited time in order to avoid having a crowded lobby and entertainment had to be withdrawn from our schedule for this season to maintain the necessary social distancing.

However, only one bar was kept closed throughout the season, while all the rest ( one pool bar, one evening bar, two a la carte restaurants and one main restaurant) were in operation.

We will not comment any further to the long and unfair review.
What we would like to mention though is that we have recently received a Global Award from TUI, recognising our hotel for its quality service worldwide.

We are really sorry that you have left our premises with such poor holiday experience.
We do accept the fact that some tweaks occured, nonetheless all our associates went the extra mile to be able to offer all our guests with a pleasant, relaxing and most of all safe holiday experience.

Kind regards,

The Apollonion Asterias Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

We have just returned from yet another great holiday at the Appolonion at Xi Beach Lixouri. This was our third visit to the hotel and we loved it just as much as our first and second. The hotel was well prepared for all Covid safety measures including masks and gloves for use in the restaurant and sanitizers on every table. Antonis and his staff ensured everyone was looked after in the restaurant.
A big thank you to Costas who provided me with honey and lemon when I was taken ill with a throat and chest infection and looked after us each day in both the restaurant and the Pergola bar ... as well as ensuring that the daily film showing started on time in the outside cinema.
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff including our cleaner and the reception staff.
We would highly recommend this hotel so much so that we have already booked for next year.
Thank you everyone
Andrew & Debbie Castle

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank scrumpteous1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APOLLONION RESORT, Ιδιοκτήτης at Apollonion Asterias Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear scrumpteous1966,

First and foremost we would like to express our appreciation for your returning support and loyalty year after year.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay once again.

Moreover we would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our associates' proffesionalism and we will make sure we pass these positive words of yours to them.

Last but not least, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again next year for another memorable holiday experience.

Best regards,

The Apollonion Asterias Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2021

Clean, safe, and well-maintained Hotel, even near the end of the Season. Kindly and friendly staff. Great Management. Placed near the quiet and healthy beach of Xi. Superb view of the bay from my Room near the central Pool. Absolutely recommend

Date of stay: September 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barracuda972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APOLLONION RESORT, Ιδιοκτήτης at Apollonion Asterias Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Barracuda972,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor.

We are more than delighted to read that you have enjoyed the top quality of our servises and facilities and we really hope to be able to host you again any time in the future.

We all send you our warmest regards,

The Apollonion Asterias Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2021

The Apollonion doesn`t falter at all. Our entire experience was amazing ...yet again. The few people who found something to complain about need to appreciate the whole picture of hiring staff for the duration of a shorter and stunted summer period in the middle of a pandemic. Those people who chose to write negative comments are not telling the true story, almost like "False News". Most people we spoke to during my two week stay were pleased and astounded by the staff and their ability to respond to the guests needs, sometimes under a bit of pressure from working long shifts. The food was amazing, the pools were amazing and the general aura around the hotel remained as profesional as it always is. This is a remarkable hotel where standards are high throughout. All the staff are approachable, cheerful, helpful and interact with guests if that`s what is required. I can assure you that if you choose this hotel you will not be disapointed.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APOLLONION RESORT, Ιδιοκτήτης at Apollonion Asterias Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

Dear Dave H,

We are more than delighted receiving your amazing review.

It is our greatest pleasure reading that you have had a wonderful stay at our hotel, especially after all this unusual condition that we have all experienced throughout the past 1 1/2 years.

Having you back in our premises in the future will be a great honor for us.

Till then, we send you our best regards and our brightest smiles ( although still hidden behind the masks)!

The Apollonion Asterias Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews