We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lake Tekapo Lodge(Lake Tekapo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Rivers Lodge(Lake Tekapo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Lake Tekapo(Lake Tekapo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tekapo Heights(Lake Tekapo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Lake Tekapo(Lake Tekapo)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeview Tekapo(Lake Tekapo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (846)
Filter reviews
846 results
Traveller rating
192
282
207
96
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
282
207
96
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsensuite cabinhot poolscamper vanglamping tentsminute showercoffee vanhot springsmotor homecommunal kitchenbbq facilitiespicnic tablesgreat viewbbq areatekapo springsice rinkmt johnbeautiful spot
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 846 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Our standard studio was a great place to stay on our first night in NZ. We would like to have stayed longer. The unit was spotlessly cleaned, comfortable and well equipped. The view of the lake was wonderful. Easy walk into town from the site. Staff were very friendly and helpful when we checked in.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwinknChumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Our chalet had the most amazing view across the Lake (though be aware that not all accommodations have this), especially wonderful at dawn. The chalet was clean, spacious, comfortable and very quiet at night. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We booked to stay 2 nights at the park, the site we where given was tucked far up the back of the park with camper van's crammed in, no view for a 2 day stay in such a pretty place, very disappointed as my husband had to work for the 2 days from the van. The facilities have been upgraded since we where last there and have been improved greatly over the last year. Everything was very clean and usable.

Room Tip: Ask for a park with a view when in a van and if you don't stay at one of the parks that does have one on offer
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Hi

Such a shame our holiday park didn't quite meet your expectations and your site had no view.

Unfortunately this is a busy time of the year and if you didn't book well inadvance it really can be pot luck as to what site you will get. We do however if possible try to allocate the best site to suit the customer at checkin. As this didn't happen for you all our front view sites and the rows behind must have already been booked out due to demand. I am very sorry we couldn't provide you with that view you hoped for.

Over the last year or so we have been very busy upgrading our main facility block and just finished a major revamp of the holiday park. At present a new exciting project has started and the camp is to get a further x 5 Kiwi Baches and x1 disability Ensuite Studio. All made by Lockwood.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day and maybe stay in one of our other types of accommodation. This guaranteeing the opportunity to soak up that view.

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review.

Cheers
Wendy



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We stayed here on our way back to Christchurch, on a powered site with our motor home. We had booked early and were told we had been given one of the best spots. It certainly was, overlooking the lovely lake with reflections of trees in it.

Shower block was clean and we didn't need to use any other facilities. Close to shops and restaurants. Beautiful clear sky as the Lake is in a Dark Sky area.

Would have given five stars but we had a very long wait at check in and then couldn't get our wifi to work. After walking back to Reception they kindly sorted it out for us.

Would recommend a longer stay if you have time.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BBTrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Hi

Sounds like you had a fabulous time staying at our holiday park. You must have stayed in one of our lakeview powered sites. They are superbly located for views and ease to our facilities. We are very fortunate to have such a beautiful place close to everything.

I do apologise for any delay you experienced while checking in. It can be a litte tricky to check in quickly if everybody decides to come at once. We do find late afternoon through to early evening to be our busiest time. Glad you found our reception staff were helpful. They have a lot to sort and do a great job.

Hopefully one day we might welcome you back and if your lucky no long queues.

Cheers
Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We had booked a powered site for 4 days well in advance and upon arriving at 11 35 am we were informed that we could not be checked in fill 12pm and were told we had to wait till then.The man was quite obnoxious and bordered on rude.In the 25 minutes we had to wait no one went near the office. No where on our booking confirmation did it state a check in time.As regular guests we were offended by this attitude as our site was sitting empty.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank davefayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Hi

Thanks for taking the time to prebook your powered sites in advance. That does help us enormously with the check in process.

However are most surprised you felt offended by having to wait and also that you found our staff member abnoxious. If he was rude then I apologise for this and will follow up on what happened.

As regards our check in times and your 25 minute wait that was unfortunately unavoidable. We have a check in time for tent and powered sites strictly from 12.00 pm onwards. We are unable to do this process any earlier.

Firstly our campers from the night before check out at 10.00 am and so we only have a window of two hours to clean. All amentity blocks, TV room and any campsite issues all need to be sorted by 12.00 noon and also be ready in reception to start checking in for the day ahead. If we were to let you in earlier it would simply mean our staff could not do their job satisfactory. So with all this in mind I hope you can see that there is a much bigger picture here.

Apart from the above issues I sincerely hoped you enjoyed your holiday and may see you back one day.

Cheers
Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews