We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family run place with great food”

Trattoria La Pappalpomodoro
Ranked #11 of 43 Restaurants in Pitigliano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We stopped here without reading any reviews beforehand. Sometimes you can tell a great place just by the look of it. We were not disappointed. It was lunchtime and the trattoria was busy with locals and Italian tourists. Not much English spoken here (another good sign). My wife ordered a spicy tomato pasta, and I had pasta with onion and speck. That and a half litre of vino and the bill was only 25 euro. A nice deal. The food was fresh and nicely prepared. We both loved it. The gentleman who seated us and our waiter may have been father and son. Very friendly and hospitable. We were treated like locals. Since we daytripped to Pitigliano, this was the only ristorante we ate at, but when we visit again, we'll make sure to stop here again. Grazie mille La Pappalpomodoro! BTW...Pitigliano is a beautiful, ancient village. We loved it.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rancestoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Personale squisito, consigliatissimo anche per i vegani.. The owners are very kind, i suggest it for everyone (also for vegans)..

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

I fond this place while walking and liked the fact that (a) the menu was entirely in Italian, and (b) the offerings seemed to be local. The meal was good all around, including the house wine and dessert. The bill was about 27€, a very low price for Tuscany, the amount of food and drink, and the quality.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Capmbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Typical homemade food from southern Tuscany. It was a good feedback as soon as you notice so many locals inside. Good selection of simple nice food in a warm home atmosphere. Special food from Maremma (say "pici cacio e pepe") with a pinch of evolution (remember this: "gnocchi alla crema di fiori di zucca"). Do not leave nice Pitigliano without trying it.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Vieri1671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

After our visit in January, we were fortunate to spend another couple of weeks in Pitigliano at the end of May and beginning of June. We had 3 or 4 lunches and a dinner at La Pappalpomodoro. Still superb is their boned, butterflied, and grilled chicken. Paired with a side of most delicious white beans, cooked with onion, and a humongous dish of sauteed spinach and you have a fine meal. A half liter of house wine is about EUR 3.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria La Pappalpomodoro also viewed

Pitigliano, Province of Grosseto
Pitigliano, Province of Grosseto
 
Pitigliano, Province of Grosseto
Pitigliano, Province of Grosseto
 
Pitigliano, Province of Grosseto
 

Been to Trattoria La Pappalpomodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing