We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
145
82
41
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
82
41
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air transat train station box lunches amalfi coast this family run hotel castle area the ocean view room booked hotel hotel staff old town would return in a heartbeat local wine the kitchen staff luca rome meals excursions
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

This was our third time at Hotel Mare and we were not disappointed. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and well treated. A big thank you to Luana and of course the best waiter,Luca.(molto grazie.) Clean,comfortable and spacious. We plan to return in the near future. Luca save me the figs for our next trip.

Room tip: Ocean view is the best
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yellowstar4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Although this hotel has lovely gardens and pool by the sea and lungomare(promenade) we found our 5 days half board disappointing. Italians are not known for having breakfast so we missed fresh fruit ( their very limited variety always hard)and various forms of eggs ...would have loved an omelette.
Our first meal was dry chicken and frozen chips so did not auger well. Portions were always very small.Service was abrupt and ,on our table of 5 ,plates were cleared before everyone had finished, then others given next course before ready.
Rooms were spacious but with the hardest beds and pillows ever encountered ,no fridge, no tea making facilities. Housekeeping staff were very helpful so provided extra blankets and pegs as needed.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dilly057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

What a wonderful experience! This beauty is run efficiently and effectively by some truly exceptional people, Rosalia at the front desk and Luca in the restaurant area. All of the staff is pleasant and hard working. The groundskeeper is dedicated to making the pool area and greenery clean and tidy, and never hesitated due to hot conditions. The kitchen staff is accommodating, and the food is plentiful, even though I could not keep up with the portions! Extraordinary and varied each day is something new. They even offered to make us a to go package when we left early on our last day. We did a boat/snorkel excursion with another Canadian couple, and since I spoke Italian we all managed just fine. The downtown area is great walking in the evenings, and very safe, although drivers are something to behold. Since we had a car, we did Paestum, CastelliArchiole and Castellabate, (not for the faint hearted kind of drive), and Pompeii on the way back to Rome. This is vacationing for those that live elsewhere in Italy, and many seemed to be annual visitors. They are troopers and spend the entire day at the beach (free chair and umbrella included) or by the pool. We truly enjoyed every minute of our stay, and have vowed to return to visit again. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the attention to conservation of energy is great to witness.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canblueCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

This family run hotel is a gem. We stayed in a sea view room and the view was incredible (stunning sunsets!). Room was very spacious, had great air conditioning, mini fridge and full louvred blackout blinds. Housekeeping were efficient and kept the room immaculate as well as helping with requests ie: extra pillows. Food and wine....so good!! We had all three meals daily with our Air Transat package, although did not have all our lunches there as we were out some days(although they offered a bagged lunch if you requested!) The staff were incredibly helpful (Rosalia and Alissia, thank you for being so kind to these English speaking tourists!) We wanted to be on a boat and enjoy the scenery and snorkel..these ladies arranged it all, had them pick us up at the hotel and drop us off after...great excursion! Not a lot of English spoken in the area..this is where Italian families go for vacations. We loved that, but do brush up on some Italian words and phrases before you go...we managed fine. The castle area at night is beautiful, the piazza there is lively with restaurants, bars, shops all coming alive after dark and people out strolling...not to be missed. We rented a car for two days(again arranged by our two guardian angels!)..had it for two days, they dropped it at the hotel and picked it up on the third morning...easy. Drove to Paestum, Castellabate and Acchiarole on day one and up into the mountains on day two to visit an abandoned village and two other villages....stunning! (but not for the faint hearted...thank goodness for my iPhone map app) All in all a wonderful trip and would highly recommend Hotel Mare for it's location (key), staff, food, pool and atmosphere.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Funsire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

We spent a week at Hotel Mare and were delighted with our experience. We chose to stay in a seaview room for a small supplement and were very pleased with the beautiful outlook. The room, though not large, was comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The external pool area is lovely and we enjoyed a few swims although the weather was not too warm.
A highlight of this hotel is its staff, who are universally courteous, helpful and friendly. Most speak very good English, but are happy to converse in Italian if you want to practise your language skills. The food is very good, both at breakfast and dinner.

Highly recommended.

Room tip: Seaview is well worth the small extra payment
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomric122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews