We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A seafood restaurant with no white wine and dire service.”
Review of Le New Port

Le New Port
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Save yourselves! Utterly appalling service. Ordered a bottle of Viognier, waiter brought out a bottle of Chardonnay and seemed disappointed when I noticed and he had to tell me that was all they had. One starter arrived once everyone else had finished; one main arrived when everyone else had finished. My spoon arrived after my ice cream had melted. Seafood related dishes actually alright, but chicken a la chef was like a cheap chow mien. Save your cash!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank apachechilifire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

You have to know where to go in Palavas to have a good meal. At lunchtime, if you want to stay around the beach side of the canal, you either have to spend a fair bit of money (20€+ for a main) or have a snack. A lot of places are touristy traps with overpriced "plats du jour" etc.

In that context, the New Port was a good solution. I wouldn't go there in the evening nor for a nice meal. I wouldn't go for the a la carte option as it's pretty obvious they won't do nice dishes.

But their lunch menu (available all week except Sunday and bank holidays) at 16€ is ok. I'm not sure ingredients are fresh and a few might be from frozen. But it tastes decent, service is quick and friendly, and the three course meal is half the price of the mains on the beach/canal.

We had the "chèvre chaud" starter which is what it says on the menu, three toasts with melted goat cheese on top of a dressed salad. Nothing to write home about but I like melted goat cheese and the salad was refreshing. Fine.
Then I had the saumon a la plancha while my husband had the daurade. Both came with rice and nice sautéed vegetables. Again, fine. The fish wasn't the tastiest and I suspect it might have been from frozen (which indeed is a shame so close to the sea but not surprising for the price) but as a main it tasted ok. Salmon had maybe a bit too much olive oil on top but that's a detail. We had île flottante as dessert. It strangely came in a glass and I don't think the custard was homemade but again it was fine.

Basically, I wouldn't go there on purpose or ever go a la carte. But if you're hungry and are looking for a cheap and ok option, you should be fine here.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Tabyria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Menu seems rich, but actually tasteless food, waitress place settings right on dirty tables.
Very bad management.
You will never return here.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank AnnaZubareva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

It is quite expensive because of the nice central location but menus give a good idea of local food and are affordable.
I piatti a la carte sono costosi ma i menu danno una buona idea della cucina locale e sono abbordabili.
Qualità medio Buona.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank sempreingiro8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le New Port also viewed

Palavas-les-Flots, Herault
Palavas-les-Flots, Herault
 
Palavas-les-Flots, Herault
Palavas-les-Flots, Herault
 
Palavas-les-Flots, Herault
Palavas-les-Flots, Herault
 

Been to Le New Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing