We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Worth a visit

Went as a couple, last visited 20 years ago and remember just caves to visit, such a big change... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
19CMK68
,
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Go for the Caves

The Caves were fantastic and well worth the visit. The staff at the cave entrance, as well as those... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
AnnaH262
,
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Read all 5,495 reviews
  
Reviews (5,495)
Filter reviews
5,494 results
Traveller rating
1,983
1,519
934
563
495
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,983
1,519
934
563
495
Show reviews that mention
All reviews penny arcade paper making crazy golf dinosaur park other attractions soft play winter wonderland cinema experience great family day guided tour slot machines cave aged cheese indoor play area circus show mirror maze pennies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 5,494 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

Beginning of the visit was brilliant all that was expected as returning visitors. As soon as we were stopping for lunch we had an extremely long wait, when all we wanted was the sandwiches and cold drinks at the front by the tills, we queued for 45 minutes to observe two members of staff on the tills, now considering it’s peak trade season and summer holidays I would of expected an awful lot more staff just in this particular area. And maybe even a separate till just for the people that didn’t want to order hot food.
We were shocked to see no other drinks kiosks dotted around the complex including water stations. Considering we had to continuing such long lengths of time for this I think it’s something Wookey hole should consider.
Was also not impressed to see the whole paper making demonstration singled down to a television screen. This is something we really enjoyed as younger children and was excited to show our child.
We took advantage of the crazy golf like everyone else clearly did, but this was very poorly managed again another queue for half an hour which again was to be expected considering we all like something for FREE but then to have to wait for the back up of people playing at the different holes this again could have taken up to an hour if not longer to participate in so even though this was free it was 100% not worth taking advantage of!
Would visit again but not for a least another couple of years! May try again in the quiet season on hopefully return of it being improved!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank aliceosborne05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews but felt compelled to after such an awful visit. Beautiful caves ruined by queues. Way too many people for such a small site the most uncovid considerate place I've visited. Awful won't be returning.

Date of experience: August 2021
3  Thank 28sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2021

We booked as a family to go here. We got the crazy golf and 4D cinema in with the ticket price, which should be expected given the cost of the tickets and they were enjoyable, but the caves themselves were very disappointing. If you are going to visit caves in this area, just do the cheddar caves, as we have done before. Wookey is a poor second best to Gough's or Cox's caves in Cheddar Gorge.
Overall we were left feeling very underwhelmed by the whole experience.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank rmpguitar1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2021 via mobile

We had a voucher for 25% off the entrance fee & thought another visit was long overdue.
We have fond memories of Wookey Hole as children.
Yesterday bore no resemblance to the images I remember.
Firstly I must emphasize that all the Wookey Hole staff we met were friendly & helpful.........though probably unappreciated & underpaid by their employers.
It was extremely busy & the queues were long, it is the school holidays so maybe we could have chosen a better time to visit.
The uneven & broken slabbed path & steps leading down the slope from the carpark to the queueing area is an accident waiting to happen & an indication of the lack of maintenance yet to be seen.
The first port of call was the 'Witch' or 'Wizard' toilets. The old fashioned tiling looked unhygienic & in places missing. It needs a total refurbishment to bring it up to 2021 standards.
The caves are still the best part of the Wookey Hole experience though I was disappointed on this visit there was no guide to enhance the experience. In the past the guides explained how the caves were formed, how a long tunnel was blasted so visitors can now see more chasms etc.
You emerge from underground into an area that must really appeal to children....Dinosaurs! Some actually going through cycles of head movement & tail swishing.
Again evidence of a lack of maintenance. The dinosaurs look weather beaten, some with their tail tips missing. It's borderline tacky.

It was disappointing the live paper making demonstrations have been replaced by a dry video.
We looked for a place to eat. We found an onsite 'restaurant' called Captain Jack's....I think that's what it was called.
It smelt strange inside, was heaving with people trying to buy sandwiches & drinks. It was staffed by just two young lads.
We'd had enough & decided to find somewhere to eat in nearby Wells.
Wooley Hole needs a lot of TLC from the owners to make it a place I would visit again.
At the moment it feels like a tacky money extracting machine.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Edington2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2021

Booked a time slot for 12 00 got there at 11 45 had to queue for 35 minutes to get tickets then queued 30 minutes to get in the caves ,far to many people in the caves ,the penny arcade was just mayhem ,every thing you wanted to do you queued was no controlled in anyway free for all,have been there many years ago very disappointed with it now would not recommend unless you want to spend most of your time queueing.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank memyselfandimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews