We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rotten weather”
Review of The Mussel Shoal

The Mussel Shoal
Ranked #5 of 6 Quick Bites in Porthleven
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have eaten here before and were impressed by the friendliness of the staff and interesting food. Despite the miserable weather this month nothing has changed, the staff are still delightful and the food enjoyable.
It is a unique experience and one we would recommend.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank kencordaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was really excited to try the mussels at the restaurant. Having walked through a very crowded set of picnic benches, I queued for the counter for ten minutes to be told they had run out, it was only 7pm so this was disappointing. They should have crossed them out of the chalk board menu. The staff were not wearing masks, there was no cleaning of tables, no table service and generally felt very busy and unsafe. Hope to return in a post COVID world to try the mussels.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sunshinelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although small this amazing find beats the Michelin star competition. The staff are friendly and the play list which is available on Spotify is relaxing and sets the vibe.

We had the chowder, hake burger, mussels and chips and there wasn't anything left at the end. Will be definitely be heading back at the end of the summer when we return and trying out more of the menu.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank petergX9818CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly staff, great music, lovely location especially when the sun is shining, food is so fresh. Great atmosphere!

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank mandydaniels48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2021

It was a cold day and we huddled in next to the harbour wall, but the food was delicious..Best mussels I have had for years, and the staff were very friendly. We were lucky to find a table!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank mppherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mussel Shoal also viewed

Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to The Mussel Shoal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.