We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
61
1
0
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
61
1
0
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are spacious sourdough bread walk in closet long weekend place to stay low tide air conditioning boutique hotel delicious food blue ocean great host pancakes stayed nights laid back swimming pool noel fridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2021

Kupaga is the perfect place to stay and Jambiani is the dream destination.

The food we found to be the best along the beach and reasonably priced! (Samosas, Falafels on sourdough, chipati and beatroot hummus and curries!) Yum, Yum, Yum.

The team including Ines, Martin and Noel made us feel unbelievably welcomed. No matter what the request or problem, they were all there to help as much and as quickly as they could. Ines, particularly made our stay to comfortable and enjoyable.

The next important point was their incredible Happy Hour. Noel and the team behind the bar make delicious fresh fruit juices and cocktails.

We loved Kupaga and cannot wait to be bac with our kupaga family <3

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CGORDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2021

We made a reservation for 7 days and we stayed for 5 days longer. The nicest people, fresh and tasty food, ... Be sure to try the tuna tataki and the sourdough bread. The rooms are large, bright and very clean, with comfortable beds, good fans and airconditioning. The view is astounding, from every room! There is a quiet but fun vibe. Every evening the people from the town gather on the beach and they just play football together with the tourists: a marvellous thing to see. It's not our normal way of holidaying, we're normally more active but here we even spent a few days without leaving the hotel.

Room tip: All rooms have great views. The lowest room numbers are closer to the beach.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathalie0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kupaga Villa's, General Manager at Kupaga Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Hello Nathalie!

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It really was a pleasure getting to know you and your husband and having you over for the holiday season! I also appreciate all the chats and laughs that we had. I hope you are all doing well there in Belgium and keeping safe. We would so love to welcome you again here at Kupaga, maybe with the kids?

Best wishes from the entire Kupaga Team
Inès & Co.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021 via mobile

If you’re looking for a quiet place, peaceful vacation, and excellent quality service, this is your place.

The owner Ines attracts by her authenticity, honesty and by the Why she does what she does. The staff is incredible, polite, always happy, smiling; the best cocktails makers ever! The food is really good and fresh! I never seen such competent staff team.

It is not about money, it is about experience.

You see that every piece of the place were built with care and love in order to provide the best experience to its guests.

We stayed 8 nights, and we didn’t want to leave!

Our friends visited us one night for drinks and they were impressed by the hotel and its staff (they stayed in several hotels in Zanzibar, but I and my beloved one decided to stay only in this one - how lucky were we!?) I avoid stress at any cost.

The water is warm, and when it’s low tide, if you walk further, you will be able to find sandbank and beautiful water color, like in Nakupenda.

The swimming pool is great with a pleasant temperature. At the hotel, you are able to book taxis, tours, ask questions in person to Ines and/or Martin and they are able to assist you quickly.

The moonlight here is just the best I’ve ever seen!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ilanamb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kupaga Villa's, General Manager at Kupaga Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2021

Dear Ilana

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and your kind words. I showed your review during our weekly meeting with the bar staff and they were all moved by what you had written ... thank you so much!

It was a true pleasure and privilege to celebrate both Christmas and New Year's Eve with you both and to get to know you better. We all hope to see you again in the future, it would be so nice to see you again.

All the best and much love
Inès & The Kupaga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2020 via mobile

There are times when you see pics of places on the net and hope the accommodation is like in the pics.. This place is literally waaay better than the pictures! Go see for yourself! Outside the resort is a bit dingy, but once the resort door opens, you think you in heaven. BTW, we explored the village the next day and we were pleasantly surprised how great the locals are!

This resort is small so service is truly personalised. You'd think that Ines and Martin were your relatives, that's the standard of service. Their staff seems to like being there so their service was excellent!

The rooms was huge and spacious, very comfortable beds, decent pillows, great rain showers and a walk in closet for your clothes, prefer that to a wardrobe makes the room feel bigger!(Ines, if you ever read this, please sort out those walls around the bed!) Room was always clean with fridge and water daily. Aircon worked well and was quite! Seeing the sky at night was a highlight!

Now this resort is built right on the beach so just a few metres from your room to the shoreline. Issue that people have is the tides, yes the tide goes out quite a bit, when low that you can walk for hundreds of metres before you get to the water, but how many places in the world do you see that? So go explore the sea bed orvuse the pool if you want to swim when tide is low! Water is warm during high tide, deep enough for even the youngest of kids can enjoy!

I went to nungwi after staying here, nungwi is awesome with low tide fluctuation but, what I wanted from this place was peace, quiet and a little isolation! If you want busyish go nungwi(BTW I loved nungwi too)

Being of South African Indian origin, we've grown to certain flavours of food and few places in the world matched our unique flavours , but zanzibar food had very unique flavours although very different to South african flavours, but it was amongst the best food I ate in the world!

Zanzibari people are some of the most genuine, big hearted, honest and decent people in the world! Also the beach boys may be a little annoying, give them a break, you'll be surprised that you may actually benefit from them!

To be a bit critical, the breakfast was a bit basic, maybe coz of Covid rules, ate supper the first night was a bit disappointing, but was resolved quickly! I suggest also supporting the local villages for your meals and souvenirs. I ate at a home of a villager, Mohamed, an artist and former chef, his food was indescribable! His secret! Everything is fresh and organic, even the spices!

Ines, we were having a chat once and you described your resort as a mid range resort! I stayed in plenty 5* resorts in many places in the world, and judging by your service, your staff, location, ambiance, tranquility.. I'll say you're beyond 5*

Thank you so much for your hospitality, only regret was stay was to short!! See you soon!!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank gulsherk2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kupaga Villa's, General Manager at Kupaga Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2021

Dear Mr. Khan

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are already looking forward to welcoming you back, with your family.
It means so much to us when our guests have a nice and relaxing stay at our place, and to read your flattering words motivates us to keep on going and be even better, as well as moves us. Thank you.

We wish you all the best and see you soon!
Warm regards

Inès & the Kupaga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2020

We really enjoyed our weekend break at Kupaga. There were so many highlights. The ocean views, clean, expansive beaches, sheltered spots by the pool or looking out to the ocean. The food was excellent, freshly cooked, tasty and inspiring recipes, not your usual hotel fare, we looked forward to every meal. The staff were really friendly and attentive but also unobtrusive, just the right level of input. The rooms are clean and spacious with all amenities you need. There really was nothing we could fault and we left planning when we could return...hopefully in the not too distant future.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rojob20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kupaga Villa's, General Manager at Kupaga Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2020

Dear rojob20

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are delighted to see that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure as well getting to know you and accommodating you for your little getaway.
Looking forward to running into you in the future and hopefully welcoming you here again as well.

Warmest regards
Kupaga Villas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews