We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rmhou
Houston, Texas

Great location, subpar experience

Review of Hotel Dori
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Oct 2017
Unfortunately this was not a good fit for us. The location of the hotel is great. It’s an easy 3-4 minute walk to town. The hotel staff is wonderful, which is the main reason for the three-star review instead of two-star. Our biggest problem was the lack of ventilation. When we asked why the a/c did not work, we were told that they turned off the a/c system in mid-September because of “the law.” (Neither of the Italian hotels we stayed at before and after did this.) We were not warned in advance that there would be no a/c, and the hotel has no fans. We sweated through the first night with no sleep and kept the window open to the loud street noise the second. (Again no sleep.) Add to this, the shower had mold growing in it when we arrived. The staff cleaned it promptly when we complained, but it never should have grown there in the first place. The staff was great, but we would definitely not stay here again.
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
HK$1,474
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,472
  • Vio.com
    HK$1,472
  • Expedia
0.7 km from Hotel Dori
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$1,393
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Expedia
    HK$1,393
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,292
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,380
1.0 km from Hotel Dori
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$983
HK$854
  • Hotels.com
    HK$983
  • Agoda.com
    HK$852
  • Expedia
    HK$983
0.8 km from Hotel Dori
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$1,693
  • Hotels.com
    HK$2,017
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,523
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,628
1.5 km from Hotel Dori
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$2,723
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$2,715
  • Expedia
    HK$2,715
  • Agoda.com
    HK$2,718
2.2 km from Hotel Dori
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$1,117
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,226
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,009
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,116
0.9 km from Hotel Dori
HK$2,225
HK$1,116
  • Hotels.com
    HK$2,225
  • Expedia
    HK$2,225
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,114
1.1 km from Hotel Dori
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$1,430
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,445
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,333
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,495
2.5 km from Hotel Dori
Free parking
Pool
Piscina panoramica
HK$3,019
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    HK$3,014
  • ZenHotels.com
2.0 km from Hotel Dori
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$2,940
Fully refundable
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$2,868
  • Vio.com
    HK$2,463
  • Expedia
    HK$2,940
2.0 km from Hotel Dori
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Peschiera del Garda
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
237
110
19
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
237
110
19
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews budget hotel great location stayed for nights lake garda breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017

I've just returned from a week long stay in Hotel Dori. Firstly, the staff are excellent, our receptionist couldn´t do enough for us. The rooms are clean and tidy and there is a kettle and mini fridge in each room. The breakfasts are fine - granola, cereal, bread and fruit. The lady who looks after the breakfast room was very efficient and brought us 2 cups of tea as soon as we appeared each morning. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the restaurants and shops (turn right then left through the archway). Ask the hotel to pre book a taxi if you need one as they are scarce. The market on Monday is on the same street as the hotel and is a nice way to spend the morning. We had a great time and would definitely return to Hotel Dori.

Room tip: We had a quiet room at the back with a balcony.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuls2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Four of us (2 adults + 2 kids) stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Dori. You cannot beat location of this hotel, it's walking distance to city center, maybe 5 min.
Also breakfast was amazing! Very nice lady helping during breakfast, very friendly staff! I wish all hotels were like this one.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank njtraveler756
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Recently returned from an excellent 10 days at the Hotel Dori. Modern property very clean and well organised. Good dining room (breakfasts only) or there are tables outside. Food was good, plentiful on a self service basis. All the staff were exceedingly helpful and pleasant. Bedrooms were good sized although the bathrooms with all facilities were slightly cramped. Overall a very good 3* hotel
Very close to town, no more than a 3 min. walk: the town is gorgeous. The hotel also has 2 restaurants in the town and offer a 10% disc to guests.
I can give it no better review than to say the family loved it and we WILL return next year

Room tip: I would recommend the 2nd storey rooms (top floor) Good sunny outlook with a view, through buildings opposite, of Lake Garda.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Booked my wife in the hotel prior to us arriving by car. 2nd year in a row. She loves it here. Very good rooms, friendly staff, good beds and all very clean.
Flexibility with her arrival time is always offered.
Breakfast options are very good and all is fresh.
Hotel is walking distance from peschiera village.
Will definitely book her in again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Cloggy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2017

My wife & I stayed 2 nightsat Hotel Dori, very comfortably. We chose Peschiera because it is near Sirmione, where we have stayed before and loved and this time we wanted to see what is nearby, while still being close to Milan for flights. Pleasantly surprised to find that Peschiera is just as pleasant and interesting and that Hotel Dori is very conveniently placed, just to stroll across the moat to enter the old fortress town, which was a strategic Venetian port in its day . All services in this modern hotel were excellent, parking was convenient and free and access to the autostrada is easy.

Room tip: We had a back room which was quiet and soooo restful after some "historic" rooms on our travels.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ktho2318
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews