We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.com
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
307
35
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
307
35
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his brother lake como sun room swimming pool enjoyed dinner car ferry seven nights easy access the location is perfect fantastic stay spectacular views milan airport large bathroom stefano paulo mirabelle ferries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2020

We spent seven nights at the La Villa Mirabella. Paolo, who runs the hotel with his brother Stefano, had arranged our comfortable transfer by car from Milan Airport and warmly welcomed us on our arrival at the Villa. Our room on the second floor had a balcony with a spectacular view across the lake to Bellagio and the mountains beyond. The room, like the rest of the Villa, was decorated in traditional Italian style .Paola spoke excellent English and provided us with much helpful information. We enjoyed dinner in the Villa on three nights, but there are several restaurants within easy reach. The Villa is a short walk from two ferry stops, allowing easy access to Bellagio, Varenna and other lakeside towns. The magnificent Villa Carlotta garden is also just a short walk from the Villa .The Villa itself has a fine garden extending up the hillside and has a pool. Covid precautions were fully applied at the Villa.
The enjoyment of our short autumn break was enhanced by the friendliness and comfort at the Villa Marabella as well as the easy access to the local towns and wonderful gardens.

Date of stay: October 2020
1  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 September 2020

We stayed at Villa La Mirabella for four nights in one of the two Master Suite - "La Mirabella". Our suite was gorgeously appointed with hand painted Italian furniture in soft tones. We had a lovely balcony with views over the lake towards Bellagio. The morning sunrise was quite amazing....

We were greeted upon arrival by Paolo who had arranged our transfer by Mercedes from Como Station. He couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming and acted almost as a personal concierge throughout our stay. First impressions were how spotless the Villa is. It had been taken over by the family some years previously and refurbished to a very high standard. The villa has a small pool area with loungers where we spent quite a few hours during our stay as the weather was glorious. Breakfast was served in the sun room and was continental with hot options at a small extra cost (the best poached eggs!!) . There was a large patio to relax overlooking the lake and extensive gardens to the back of the hotel. We enjoyed dinner on our first evening at The Villa, it was a set menu and was absolutely delicious - most memorable were the courgettes (Paolo gave me the recipe) and the yummiest ricotta cake that we still dream about...

The Villa is extremely convenient to the ferries - turn left and it is a short walk to the ferry to Bellagio that runs every 25 minutes and a right hand turn to the ferries that hop around different towns on the Lake. Some establishments had sadly not re opened for the season due to Covid but we had a couple of lovely dinners at "Rodriques", a few steps to the right of the hotel. We also hopped on the ferry to Bellagio for a meal one night at Hotel Suisse (the best peach and champagne risotto EVER!)

A previous poster grumbled about all the signs and instructions around the Villa but we found that these were nothing more than simple, polite requests showing that the owners care passionately about their property.

If we had any grumbles at all it would be that our neighbours smoking on the adjoining balcony was offensive and we would have appreciated it if smoking could have been relegated to the smoking areas around the property. Unfortunately every time they lit up we were chased indoors and had to close our door.
We did, however, appreciate that the swimming pool surround was non smoking - thank you!

All in all we had a fantastic four nights at Villa La Mirabella. The hotel has a simple Italian feel, almost a step back in time. We just loved our stay and will be back!

Room tip: "La Mirabella", one of the Master suites, overlooking the lake with balcony
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank helenmJ4903UD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 September 2020

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous, it is a typical Italian Villa which has been delightfully and sympathetically transformed into an stunning boutique Hotel.

The location is perfect for everything you need, without being too close to the more commercialised areas around the lake. It commands an enviably peaceful location, with amazingly spectacular views. It is in easy walking distance to some good local restaurants and shops and to the ferry decks giving easy access to Bellagio and other towns.

The grounds are stunning, well laid out and easy to navigate even though they are quite steep, access to the swimming pool is made easier from the 2nd floor.

The rooms are very clean and well laid out. There are a lot of laminated signs; Close doors quietly, don’t bring food into the rooms etc. which is a bit tacky and cheapens the outlook of the beautiful rooms, maybe these could be toned down a bit or made to look a bit more attractive.

Paulo greeted us on arrival and made us feel very welcome. He was very friendly and helpful - nothing seemed like too much trouble.

The continental breakfast was perfect, and if you wanted more it was there for you. Served in the orangery overlooking the lake it was a leisurely and peaceful affair.

Can’t recommend this place enough, except we’ve already made plans to return.

Paulo, thank you for your fantastic hospitality.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank SarahJoPitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2020

We spent a lovely 3 days at Villa la Mirabella. Paolo was really welcoming and helpful. The house is beautiful and charming, overlooking the lake and close to restaurants and the ferry services. We enjoyed our stay tremendously and can highly recommend this place.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank FlorenceVSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 November 2019

Our room was on the second floor, facing the lake and with views across to Bellagio. The room, called 'La Mirabella', had a sitting area and a large bathroom with a shower (no bath). The owner was very pleasant and helpful, but the proliferation of laminated signs everywhere ('please close the door quietly', 'be careful of the furniture' and 'don't bring food from outside into the hotel' etc), was a little off-putting. I can understand that he and his family have put a lot of care and money into restoring the house and turning it into a hotel, but a slightly more relaxed attitude would help. The hotel faces the narrow road that runs around the edge of the lake and it carries a lot of traffic, so the French doors facing the narrow balcony can't be left open at night. The hotel is well located though, with Villa Carlotta only 200m down the road, as well as ferry stops (including the car ferry) within walking distance.

Room tip: Rooms on the sides of the hotel, or at the rear, would be marginally quieter than those facing the lake.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank JoyFlight101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews