We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
96
59
13
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
59
13
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchenbus stopstaff ownersshared kitchendecent kitchendorm roomno hot waterplace to stayfriendly localsperfect locationwealth of knowledgethe beach is nicefellow travelerslaid backa great staywonderful hostsstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

before my trip to belize my friend told me that the funky dodo would be a perfect fit for me to stay in hopkins, affordable & everything i would need is right there, the setup is great with a nice area to sit down and chat with people from all over the world, sharing stories & more,

The accomidation is really nice, beds in the dorm are surprisingly good & the private rooms are great too if you want to be more private,

Roy & ana are Great people and are always ready to help with anything you need & will do their best to make your stay as comfortable as they can :)

The staff is also super friendly

i will deffinetly be back & i highly recomend to stay there if you find yourself in hopkins

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Icelandic Fly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words from all of us at the Funky Dodo!
We loved having you, and hope you can come back soon!

YAY Iceland! (I believe you were our first guest from there... :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Good kitchen, chill out space, very clean bathrooms and showers. Staff very approachable. There is tourism in the town but a very low key affair! People are still visiting the town rather than the town visiting the tourists. Highly recommend Hopkins and Funky Dodo

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you from the entire Funky Dodo team!
--Really enjoyed your comment "People are still visiting the town rather than the town visiting the tourists." --This really does capture the Hopkins vibe. Hopkins Village is still genuine and authentic, as you say, but with enough tourist activities to keep most as busy as they would like to be.
Safe travels, and hurry back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed at The Funky Dodo for a few nights in a private room. We paid 60$Bz a night. Here’s our pros and cons and recommendation to fellow backpackers.

The pros:
+ overall a well kept little hostel
+ nice shared outdoors space to eat and relax
+ clean outdoors kitchen to cook your meals in
+ clean shared toilets / showers
+ hammocks !
+ lots of information available about activities and restaurants in Hopkins
+ 2 adorable hostel cats :)

The cons:
- Very slow WiFi, the connection was often broken and the WiFi won’t properly reach the rooms
- No hot water in the showers and no private shower/bathroom in the private rooms
- Our room (no.6) was like a greenhouse: very hot, due to lack of insulation and poor building standards, both during the day and during the night, there was no AC
- 20$bz per person deposit was required for the use of plastic plates and for cutlery and another 20$bz per person deposit was required for the use of towels - in all our travels, and we’ve backpacked all over the world - we have never run into such practice that suggests zero trust in guests staying in the hostel...

Summary:
Overall a decent hostel. We did expect a funkier more relaxed and fun atmosphere... We suspect the strict house rules make the place slightly less joyful... (E.g there are scary signs everywhere forbidding guests from absolutely ridiculous things like “climbing to the roof” or “smoking weed” or “bringing their friends to visit” or god knows what and you’d be “thrown out immediately without compensation” blah blah). So set your expectations right and don’t expect a cool backpackers place - it’s a quiet and clean hostel, with old fashioned management, just a few steps from the beach, cold showers are best handled at noon when it’s hot and the greenhouse like rooms are best avoided until night fall and then put the fan on full power and you’ll be ok ;)

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Avner L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for your review.
I'm sorry you feel we have "ridiculous" rules...they are in place to make sure all our guests can enjoy the Funky Dodo, and to keep everyone safe. "Smoking weed" is not legal in Belize, and we do not want to lose our business licence, so it is prohibited on the Funky Dodo property. Bringing in "friends" who are not guests staying at the hostel is not allowed for everyone's safety, and to ensure that our guests can enjoy the facilities.
The vast majority of our guests do find our atmosphere relaxed and fun, we're sorry you found it less so.
We have private rooms with en-suite bathrooms available.
We ask for a deposit for cutlery to help us keep costs down. It is only a deposit, and fully refundable upon return of the items.
Our WiFi is the fastest available currently in our small village. As soon as faster service becomes available, we will certainly upgrade.
I'm not sure what "old fashioned management" means, but I will take that as a compliment, as we are old fashioned in welcoming all our guests as family and we do our utmost to make sure everyone enjoys their stay in Hopkins. :)
We hope to see you again soon...safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

I came for a couple nights and stayed in the area for a month. Roy and Anna are absolutely fantastic and accommodating. Their kitchen facilities make staying on a budget very doable. The dorms are comfortable and all the guests I shared with are respectful to those looking to get to bed early and wake up early. I stayed one evening in a private room and found it to be the lap of luxury for not much more. Come and stay a while, lose an afternoon in the hammocks on the sand. Sit in the treetop and soak up the sun while you listen to the birds in the trees. Use it as a launching place for trips to the Cockscomb basin where you can camp or stay in the dorms. Or as a retreat before and after a journey out to glovers atoll resort for some sports fishing and or camping and relaxing. The funky dodo is a perfect refuge right in the heart of town surrounded by Garifuna culture, cuisine and music. Plus they have an extensive collection of quality science fiction novels to excite your mind and pass the time.

I will return, as Roy and Anna said I would. Probably sooner than later.

Frank

Room Tip: Save some cash, stay in the Dormitory
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thank you so much from all of us for your kind review.
Safe travels, and we will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

A well run hostel my the American owners, Roy is full of useful information about the local area and provided lots of good tips. The hostel is kept very clean, there's a decent kitchen and a laundry sink. Everything the backpacker needs and just a few steps from the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank markyparka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thank you so much for your review from all of us at the Funky Dodo!
Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews