We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Funky Dodo Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Verano(Hopkins)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Row(Hopkins)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parrot Cove Lodge(Hopkins)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
92
57
11
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
57
11
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barfood recommendationsoutdoor kitchenfantastic hostelhostel offersshared kitchenbus stophelpful ownersaccommodate guestsprivate rooms aredecent kitchenstayed for one nightdorm roomcommon roomno hot waterplace to staywealth of knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

The place is beautiful with hammocks and a decent kitchen but this is not really a backpackers. We did not feel welcomed and the first evening we ended up going back to our room to hang out as the owners of the hostel were having a dinner party with their friends in the common area. The place has a lot of potential however the management does it make it a welcoming or friendly place to be.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NattyPr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you for your review.
I am so sorry you did not feel welcomed. I wish I would have noticed that you weren't happy, and we would have invited you to join all of us. The common areas are for all to use, and quite often it turns into a party, with people mingling that had not met before, and we like to mingle with the guests as well.
We try to make sure everyone who comes through our doors leaves feeling like family. I apologize from the bottom of my heart that we missed that opportunity in your case, and will redouble our efforts so that it does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

The Funky Dodo Backpackers is a great hostel. It's located in the center of Hopkins right next to the sea. The staff is really nice and easy to communicate with. The place was very clean. I strongly recommend this hostel!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank valentin_lovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

From the entire staff here at the Funky Dodo: Thank you so much for your kind words!
Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

What a Great place or make your home base while in Belize...I can't say enough about the owner's Anna and Roy helpful,kind and just great people ! My trip had to be cut short due to Family emergency they helped me in everyway possible ..the Funky is clean comfortable and very safe for the unsure traveler security on property so if Belize is in your plans be sure to go see Anna and Roy at the Funky Do Do Hopkins Village , Belize

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mary Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words.
Hope all is well with your family, and hurry back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

What a cute little hostel tucked away in thr little town of Hopkins! The rooms were great. The hammock room fantastic! The owners are very helpful, knowledgable, and fun! A worthwhile place to checkinto, if you are in the area.

Room Tip: I chose the shared bunk room.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jodi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

A nice friendly experience with two wonderful hosts Roy and Anna. Clean and secure, I know that I'll be coming back here again. Just a all round great place to stay. There's some great restaurants with in walking distances, the beach is nice and close. Mikey

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you so much for the great review! See you again soon...safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews