We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tucked away gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Funky Dodo Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

What a cute little hostel tucked away in thr little town of Hopkins! The rooms were great. The hammock room fantastic! The owners are very helpful, knowledgable, and fun! A worthwhile place to checkinto, if you are in the area.

Room Tip: I chose the shared bunk room.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jodi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

A nice friendly experience with two wonderful hosts Roy and Anna. Clean and secure, I know that I'll be coming back here again. Just a all round great place to stay. There's some great restaurants with in walking distances, the beach is nice and close. Mikey

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you so much for the great review! See you again soon...safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

I liked the property itself, the kitchen and cooking facilities are good along with the showers and toilets and proximity to the beach.

The staff/owners seemed sometimes a bit fed up and not particularly enthusiastic, I may have just caught them on a bad couple of days. Quite large deposits were asked for, for a towel and a "kitchen pack" consisting of a plastic plate, cup & bowl and a set of cutlery. They asked for 10USD for each which to me seemed a bit much considering the items were plastic (not the cutlery), also gave a sense of having no trust in the guests that are paying to stay in the hostel. The beds were not the most comfortable, consisting of a foam mattress that would sag in the middle so that you were almost touching the wooden slats below. I had read in my book and later seen a sign in the hostel about the roof bar, however when I inquired about it I was just told there wasn't one, feeling slightly embarrassed I went back to the book to double check as I was sure that it had alluded to it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ollie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

I'm sorry if we were 'grumpy'--you may have caught us on a bad day...We try to be friendly and welcoming to everybody, as the majority of our reviews prove. As to the deposits, we only ask for what it would cost to replace the items if they are not returned. I would like to emphasize that the BZ$20 is only a deposit, and is refunded immediately upon return.
We are in the process of replacing all the mattresses, as new ones become available.
The bar has been closed for a year now, we are converting it into two private rooms and a new deck (pics soon). There are a number of watering holes within easy walking distance, and the grocery store across the street sells beer and other libations which you are welcome to consume on the property. I thought I had taken all the signs down, if you could tell me where there still is one advertising the bar, I will remove it immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

This is one of the most relaxed hostels I have ever stayed at. The owners, Anna and Roy, are two amazing people that put up with me asking 1,000 questions a day. They are building some awesome stuff at the Funky Dodo, so by the time you get there, they should have an awesome patio on the second floor.

I wish I could have stayed longer! Until next time!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words. Questions don't bother us-- if we can help, we will.
We are indeed expanding/renovating. Watch this space for pictures...coming soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

The Funky Dodo Backpackers' Hostel is an awesome place to call home. I really enjoyed the private room, and the outdoor kitchen was beyond fabulous!! The hammock-filled courtyard, with its vibrant flowers, trees, and decorations, will make you feel like you are truly in Paradise!! The hostel is within walking distance to the beach, store, fruit/produce market and restaurants.

The owners, Roy and Anna, are very friendly and kind. They make you feel like you are family. I cannot wait to return to Hopkins Village and to The Funky Dodo Backpackers' Hostel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank b00tsieb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you so much, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
3.1 km away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#7 of 14 in Hopkins
325 reviews
27.9 km away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
680 reviews
1.5 km away
Hopkins Bay, a Muy'Ono Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast
13.3 km away
Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures
2.8 km away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 14 in Hopkins
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Funky Dodo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Funky Dodo Backpackers

Address: Main street, Hopkins, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Hopkins
Price Range: $141 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Funky Dodo Backpackers Hostel is located right in center of the original Garifuna village of Hopkins on the Caribbean coast of Belize. We offer comfortable budget accommodation in the spacious 14 bed dormitory in full size single bunk beds and we have 8 private rooms that accommodate from 1 to 4 people with either shared or private bathrooms. We have free high speed Wi-Fi everywhere on the property and a cool shaded sandy yard where you can relax and chill out. We have hammocks and plenty of seating, a well equipped kitchen free of use and plenty of new clean bathrooms. We assist our guests with the finding the best, lowest cost tour operators; you can book adventures and will be able to get out there and see the sights for the best prices in town. We are here to help and we will make sure you know where you are going and you know how to get there and that you are fully aware of all the things to see in and around the village. The Hostel always has a good vibe, and a wide range of fun people from all over the world to meet. If you are backpacking or on holiday in Belize or traveling through Latin America take some time to check out Hopkins for water sports, wild life and nature reserves and true Garifuna culture. Within a short walk are bars, restaurants, cafes, shops, the beach, and a supermarket. We will help and assist you with any information you need and make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. The village is known as the safest place in all of Belize. You can walk the streets anywhere in the village alone at any time of day or night without a single worry. The local crowd is really friendly and kind and people and will smile and wave as you go by. The Funky Dodo is located 60 yards from the Caribbean Sea, close to all amenities and a perfect location to catch a boat out to the reef for some snorkeling and diving, floating about in the river and lagoons for some fishing. From here you can visit all the inland sites. The Cockscomb basin Jaguar sanctuary covers 130 000 acres of tropical jungle, crystal clear rivers, streams and waterfalls where you can swim and relax on the rocky formations. The Mayflower reserve is also very close by where you can study abundant wild life and stunning vegetation and see the highest waterfall in the country, Antelope falls. Just beyond Mayflower reserve is the longest Zip line in Belize which has 8 white knuckle lines, one of which is half a mile long and you can hit 40 Mph... There is a vast network of lagoons where there are crocodiles, iguanas and a wide variety of birds and other wildlife. There is a lookout tower where one can view the sea on one side and the mountains on the other. 1 and 2 person kayaks or canoes are available to hire in town to take into the lagoon on the north side. You can take a boat out along the river for a night time river trip with a guide and experience the phosphorescent plankton in the wake of the boat and the glowing eyes of the crocodiles in the dark. Several of Belize's archaeological sites can be comfortably seen on a day trip from here. We can assist with finding tours; including marine excursions in the blue Caribbean waters, jungle treks & swimming in waterfalls, night time crocodile spotting adventure on the river, and Mayan ruin exploration in the whole country of Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Funky Dodo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing