We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Funky Dodo Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Coconut Row(Hopkins)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parrot Cove Lodge(Hopkins)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Verano(Hopkins)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
92
57
11
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
57
11
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barfood recommendationsoutdoor kitchenfantastic hostelhostel offersshared kitchenbus stophelpful ownersaccommodate guestsprivate rooms aredecent kitchenstayed for one nightdorm roomcommon roomno hot waterplace to staywealth of knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2017

I had an amazing stay at this hostel.
Firstly, the owners are really friendly people who are always on the premises and ready to help with any doubts you have.
When I arrived, there was no more room in the dorm (I hadn't booked anything), but the owners helped find some space for me and I ended up staying longer than anticipated because I just didn't want to leave.
The hostel is also perfectly located, right next to a supermarket and some nice places to eat; and best of all, it's 10 steps away from the beach. What more could one ask for really?
As a bonus, there is a great sort of patio area with hammocks and trees, which is just lovely to be in during the day and night too.
Overall, I absolutely loved the hostel and hope to be back!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you so much from all of us! Happy travels!
*we will always try to find room for travelers, even if it can get entertaining when we're full...everybody has a home at the Funky Dodo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

The private room with bathroom was great. Easy beach access from behind the hostel. Communal kitchen was perfect, as many Belizean hostels do not provide this (which we did not know). Vegetable market and grocery store 2 minute walk away from hostel.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank raeveno2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you so much! Happy travels!
The kitchen always turns into a little bit of a party with everyone trying to cook at the same time...it's a great way to meet your fellow travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

My friend recommended me this place. It was nice and friendly frim the owners to the residents. Good vibe all around.Simple little restaurant around the corner on beach with fresh fish. Bathrooms are clean and simple same as the rooms. Coffee made by the owner in the morning, free. I really liked this place, so close to beach.

Room Tip: Im older than most so a firmer matress would be nice but mostly young folk here so it was fine. Fans in room.
Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 871allend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you from the entire Funky Dodo staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

I recently stayed at the Funky Dodo - it was my first time in a hostel and I really enjoyed the experience, the owners were really great, very helpful with anything we needed, and I felt like it was very secure since they were there all day and there was a security guard there overnight. It's in a great location in the center of town, with kitchen facilities and fridges, as well as multiple fans in the dorm room which is useful on hot nights! Would recommend, great value for the price!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CazOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words from the entire Funky Dodo staff! Happy travels!
We try to make everyone feel safe and secure. Hopkins is a very safe village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Perfect location, owners are helpful and friendly, giving good tips and advise.
The hostal is nice and shared kitchen is a good place to meet the other travelers.
Everything is clean.
Beds would be more comfortable but it's a small detail.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words from the entire Funky Dodo staff! Happy travels!
We are replacing mattresses as we can. Hope to have all new ones in the entire place soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews