We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
117
17
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
17
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hosts three nights expat community continental breakfast the location is perfect hot water leslie cabana hammocks belize paradise drumming culture excursions
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

My last night in Belize was easy and relaxing thanks to Will and Leslie’s generous hospitality. The cabana, located right at the waters edge was clean and simple, with nice linens, hot water, and a clean beach from which to swim and take in the sea. The in-room coffee maker was a nice touch, so I could get my early morning coffee before having a simple breakfast with my hosts. Would have loved to stay a few days before heading back to the world.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank 209alexanderh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HopkinsInnTeam, Manager at Hopkins Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for all your generous compliments. We have a great team that takes pride in keeping the beach beautiful and the cabanas clean. We do hope you can return for a longer visit so you may truly soak up the sun and sea for a while longer. We'll be waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We stayed 2 nights. It was clean and well maintained. When we got there there were flowers on the bed, plus towels made into swans and flowers in the bathroom. No breakfast on Sunday but got a coupon for it elsewhere. Continental breakfast on Monday was very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted2pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HopkinsInnTeam, Manager at Hopkins Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

We enjoy our guests being greeted to clean rooms and fresh flowers, and we appreciate your compliments.

When Hopkins Inn started, there were no breakfast places in the village so the tradition of serving a continental breakfast began. We happily continue that tradition. Since the village is fortunate to have so many great restaurants that serve breakfast now, we also want our guests to experience a traditional Belizean breakfast at a local restaurant.

On Sundays, we give our staff the day off and provide our guests with a breakfast voucher to one of the nearby village restaurants. The vouchers are redeemable for hot breakfasts that include such things as eggs, fry jacks, beans, and breakfast burritos. Many guests commend the generous portions and food quality at these authentic local establishments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We loved it so much last year that we visited again this year! The new owners have upgraded mattresses and sheets, expanded verandas, etc... Great service all around! It is so quaint and relaxing! We spent 2 days on the reef spear fishing and a day cave kayaking and it was all amazing! The fish we speared were filleted and taken next door to Winds Chief where it was made in to fish and chips and another delicious dish! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prez472016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HopkinsInnTeam, Manager at Hopkins Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

We know you and your family could spend your precious vacation days many places. The fact that you chose not just once, but twice, to spend that time with us is meaningful and the ultimate compliment. We're especially flattered your already planning the next trip!

Your noticing all the special touches to improve our guest's experience is touching. The entire Hopkins Inn crew is looking forward to your family's return trip to Hopkins. Everyone here at the Inn thinks of you like family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights and could have stayed longer. The cabanas are lovely and have verandas and decent bathrooms. we saw manatees from the beach and the sea is good for swimming.
We much preferred Hopkins to Caye Caulker because the swimming is so much better and the village is not yet completely dominated by tourism. We had a day trip to Cockscombe by hired motorbike, but you can also hire cars/pushbikes nearby. We were travelling around Belize for 2 weeks by public bus and hitch hiking and although getting to Hopkins is fairly slow it is worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HopkinsInnTeam, Manager at Hopkins Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Hopkins Inn seems to be a favorite of the manatees. We don’t know what to do when we go a few days without seeing them! While we welcome tourism, most of us here in Hopkins, came and stayed because of the laid-back vibe, cultue, and amazing food—not to mention the sun and sea. We’re pleased you thought we were worth the trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

My wife and I stayed in one of the cabins for 3 nights when travelling in Belize. We wanted to get to know Garifuna culture and embed ourselves in coastal Belizean culture, with the natives, so to speak. This was an ideal location. The U.S. born hosts were the most gracious, welcoming people you could ever hope to meet while travelling. Their suggestions for restaurants and things to do were spot on and insightful. When we entered our room, there were fresh picked flowers greeting us. Comfortable beds, hot showers, and ground coffee to make drip coffee in our rooms was a real luxury. The hosts are from southern states in the U.S.- I'd forgotten what Southern hospitality was all about until they reminded me: we felt right at home, they were so gracious and welcoming. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HopkinsInnTeam, Manager at Hopkins Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Will and I believe southern hospitality begins upon your arrival, but quickly moves to the table for good food and conversation. Hopkins Inn allowed us to merge those passions. Your appreciating our special touches is important to us as we think life’s true luxuries are the simplest of pleasures. We’re so glad you felt the same way while in Hopkins and we hope you get to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews