We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
117
17
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
17
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hosts expat community three nights continental breakfast the location is perfect place to stay excellent stay hot water snorkeling trip leslie cabana ocean hammocks belize paradise sunrise drumming
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2017

My wife and I stayed in one of the cabins for 3 nights when travelling in Belize. We wanted to get to know Garifuna culture and embed ourselves in coastal Belizean culture, with the natives, so to speak. This was an ideal location. The U.S. born hosts were the most gracious, welcoming people you could ever hope to meet while travelling. Their suggestions for restaurants and things to do were spot on and insightful. When we entered our room, there were fresh picked flowers greeting us. Comfortable beds, hot showers, and ground coffee to make drip coffee in our rooms was a real luxury. The hosts are from southern states in the U.S.- I'd forgotten what Southern hospitality was all about until they reminded me: we felt right at home, they were so gracious and welcoming. You won't regret staying here.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HopkinsInnTeam, Manager at Hopkins Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Will and I believe southern hospitality begins upon your arrival, but quickly moves to the table for good food and conversation. Hopkins Inn allowed us to merge those passions. Your appreciating our special touches is important to us as we think life’s true luxuries are the simplest of pleasures. We’re so glad you felt the same way while in Hopkins and we hope you get to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Our cabana was right on the beach, perfect location for this quiet town. Will and Leslie were superb hosts, helpful with suggesting and arranging places to eat and thoughtful and generous with the facilities offered. The Garifuna music was fantastic, we were lucky to be there on a Saturday night to experience the local band play and the locals enjoying themselves! Not at all noisy though, we had complete peace except for the sounds of nature!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HopkinsInnTeam, Manager at Hopkins Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017


Hopkins is fortunate to have so many local restaurants filled with the best flavors of Belize. We’re glad that the two of you were adventurous and willing to sample the food, experience the music, and appreciate nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Our only complaint about this lovely inn is that we didn't plan to stay longer! We needed another day just to lay in the hammock, swim in the warm water, and be generally lazy. We loved our room, loved the view, loved the water, loved our hosts Will and Leslie and their very competent staff. There are only a few cabanas, so get your reservation in early!

Hopkins is a fascinating small town with a Caribbean flavor, alive with the Garifuna culture (be sure to catch a drum group at a restaurant), great diversity, and a thriving expat community. You may hear music at night and be worried it will keep you awake, but it settles down fairly early. On Wednesday night, go up the beach a few doors to the bar/miniature golf course and get free beer when you play a round or two.

Word of advice: you will be paying your bill in cash, so be sure to have enough before you come. There is only one ATM in town, no bank office, and for whatever reason, we were not able to get cash from the machine. We ended up going up to Danriga to a bank there to get cash. A whole morning we could have been enjoying the beach instead!

If you want to do some day excursions, we recommend Mayflower Bocawina Reserve (hiking) and the tour of the chocolate factory at the entrance to Cockscombe Sanctuary.

But most of all, just plan to stay another day or two.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank midgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HopkinsInnTeam, Manager at Hopkins Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

We agree! Stay long enough to unwind-and then some. Sometimes, it takes a few days to acclimate to the groove of Hopkins. We hope to see you back again, for an even longer vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Stayed here for five nights in February. It was our first trip to Hopkins and we fell in love with the quiet village thanks to this lovely little hotel. We had plans to do a number of excursions but were so content to lay around the property and just read or listen to the waves that we did little else. The location is excellent for walking to local restaurants. The owners are super helpful with providing recommendations and making arrangements for taxis, restaurants, tours, etc. Waking up to the sound of birds in the morning and ocean waves at night. Who could ask for more?

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leddebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HopkinsInnTeam, Manager at Hopkins Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

We have all kind of guests, like you, that arrive with a packed agenda, only to quickly abandon it for naps in the hammocks, sipping fresh coconuts, and swims in the sea. We agree with you too! Who could ask for more? Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

I had a lovely 5 night stay at the Hopkins Inn and felt completely at home and well looked after by Will and Leslie the owners. The cabanas are on the beach and beautiful - only a few metres from the sea. You're in the village of Hopkins, close to local restaurants and grocery stores, and surrounded by birds singing especially at dawn and dusk which I loved! I felt safe as a solo female traveller even walking down the main street at night because all the locals say hello and good night. A very relaxing stay with great hosts in a perfect location

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Murayamajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HopkinsInnTeam, Manager at Hopkins Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017


It sounds like you fell in love with the village, people, and inn just like we did! If you enjoy good food, music, and birds, in a low-key atmosphere Hopkins and the Inn and just the right fit. The entire team here was so happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews