We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
14
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
0
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2021

Avoid this place if you want to deal with honest, trustworthy staff. Had an experience cancelled and general manager has refused to refund my money. Doesn’t reply to emails and does not communicate as to why refund is not given.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Tim200415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley Versace, General Manager at Panasesa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Dear Tim,
We are very sorry to hear you are having difficulties communicating with us. Please email us on management@conflictislands.com and we will make sure you are fully refunded for you cancelled experience. We have never refused anyone a refund for a service that was not provided for. We look forward to hearing from you so we can arrange your refund.
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020

This was one of our stops on a cruise of PNG Islands run by P&O. Because of the corona virus outbreak, we ended up having our itinerary changed at short notice, whilst at sea. This meant we had two days at Panasesa Island. What a hardship...NOT!

This truly is my idea of a tropical island paradise. It is privately owned by an Australian. The whole island is thus operated by his staff, many of whom are Australians or Kiwis, as well as local PNG staff.

It is well run, well-staffed, well kept, clean and nicely landscaped. There is a walking track right around the whole island, most of it covered by shade, or you can go along the coral beach.

There are many beach lounges or deck chairs for free use. Natural shade is everywhere so you can get out of the tropical sun. The water is crystal clear and blue aqua in colour - stunning.

In many areas the inshore reef is just metres from the water's edge. So snorkeling is an easy proposition for all ages and abilities. There are water craft for hire incl. SUP and canoes.

You can do a tour of the Turtle Conservatory and Nursery - well worth doing, and many other activities - check out their website for more details.

It really was the God-send to our island cruise trip. The reefs were some of the most beautiful I have seen in years, with hardly any evidence of bleaching, just coral damage and rubble from cyclone or storm activity. No crown of thorn damage either.

My husband did go on three dives run by the resort. He remarked the same of the parts of the lagoon reef he saw. He also managed to see some small baby sharks and a few turtles, but did comment that a lot of the big fish were absent (more than likely due to subsistence living practiced by the local villages in the other Conflict Islands.

All in all, this was our highlight of the 10-day cruise. Shame it is so remote or we would be back in a flash!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irene_isaacson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2020

We visited the island for 2 days as a part of a P&O cruise and we were able to use the resort facilities (but not the rooms). We were welcomed by a group of locals from a nearby island who danced and sang for us and it was great. They also bring in additional staff so that you can use the dive boat, kyacks, glass bottom boats and bars. The island is beautiful and has ongoing work to revegetate the island with tropical plants and also has a turtle sanctuary which you can pay to visit. We went to the south bar both days and you can buy beer and soft drinks and fresh coconuts.
The snorkelling on this side of the island is amazing. For the first 100 meters the water is not deep and has some patches of coral and fish which is good to access for kids and people who dont want to venture out too far. Beyond this you get to the reef which is quite shallow and has a lot more coral and small fish. Make sure you swim to the drop off as this is where we saw the most fish - many different species plus large fish and we also saw reef sharks and turtles. One guy saw a larger black tipped shark which was about 1.5 m in length and gave him a shock. We found that we could just float along the drop off for 400 to 600 meters and so we spent about 4 hours each day doing this. It was the best snorkelling I have done. Make sure to take your own gear as its quite expensive to hire.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 December 2019 via mobile

Panasesa Island is the largest of the Conflict Islands and the only one opened up to tourism. Unlike other Islands in the Trobriand Islands, Panasesa is not inhabited by families of locals but is privately owned and operated by an Australian millionaire (he also owns the other 20 Islands in the Conflict group) who has turned the island into an impressive cruise port destination.

I came with my parents as part of the PNG Island Encounter Cruise and got to spend the best part of a day on this beautiful island.

There is a Turtle Rehabilitation Centre which you can visit for a small fee. There are some island bars where you can get food and drinks and live music plays from time to time. There are plenty of tables and sunbeds scattered through the island where you can set up camp and go for swims.

As part of the cruise, day tours can be booked. I did the “Reef Snorkel Adventure” which was 45 minutes of snorkelling on a tropical fish laden reef accessed via a pontoon about 10 minutes by speedboat from the island. This was lots of fun and the quality of reef and fish species/diversity was impressive.

I’ll be honest though – I did find the other two PNG Islands included as part of the cruise (Kitava and Kiriwina) more rewarding, mostly due to the fact they were inhabited by locals who you could engage with and which made the experience more culturally rich and memorable.

But in terms of pristine island beaches, the Conflict Islands win out. The tropical waters are a sight to be seen and even the most water phobic person (i.e. my mother) will find themselves unable to resist jumping in for a swim in the beautiful turquoise water.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank WorldTravla7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 December 2019

My favourite stop in PNG. The water was crystal clear, perhaps not as warm as the previous 2 islands but the bottom was sandy and it got to a decent depth for swimming reasonably quickly. There was a wonderful welcome from locals and beach chairs set up all along the water front with plenty of shade. Prices for drinks, food and souvenirs were in AUS dollars not kina as we were told on the boat and we didnt have to purchase their coupons to purchase goods on the island. Had a fabulous day here.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
Thank Maree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews