We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
US$125
View Deal
Booking.com
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
78
47
11
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
78
47
11
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skull caves dive master night dive world class mandarin fish excellent diving day trip long weekend village kids takes awhile heaven on earth peaceful environment beautiful coral reef local village boat sites tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2019 via mobile

Very Nice resort with great snorkeling right in front of the swimming pool, the tour to the coral garden is amazing! Skull caves were very interesting, restaurant serves very good food,
Nice clean rooms with good bedding, and all the necessary things.
The road from the airport is brand new so a easy drive to the resort!
And at least very friendly people!! The only thing I would recommend is to book thruh booking.com, room with full board, I paid way to much! If you book only the room , you have to pay for the food and that’s really too expensive!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank paular238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2019

Superb location (but takes awhile to get there)
Excellent diving, although staff seemed unfamiliar with some of the sites and so not all turned out perfectly. Lots of excellent diving very close to resort.
Marvelous cultural experiences and easy walk to local village
Accommodations very good

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Getaway590788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019 via mobile

I visited Tawali with friends for a diving snorkelling trip. This place is simply amazing. I have never felt so far away from my day to day working life. I arrived at about 1 pm. Did my first snorkel at 3 pm and then a night dive at 6. Next two days I did 3 snorkels per day. Wow it was heaven on earth . Bed room superb with great views and then great food and a good bar . Exactly the break I hoped for plays 100%.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank declanm110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

Had a great stay. Staff were great in particular penny, Gilbert and peter. Food was good and good chef. A lot of Tuna. But it is caught locally so very fresh. Not a lot of assortment of veg which I missed. Picnic and snorkling was a great outing as was visiting the waterfall. Beds were good. Tv wouldn't work for us but we had a lot of reading material and so tired it didn't matter. Wi fi available in lounge dining area. Management straff George and Nosaki were very welcoming. Have to say a special thanks to all staff who tried to find a national friend in Alotau we hadn't seen for 40 years. Archie our driver who in the end found her and to Nosaki who took us to her, went away for awhile and came back to get us. Thankyou very much all staff were great and understanding of some of our difficulties A great four day break for us old Maris.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Cheryl-Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2019

We tested Tawali's staff and processes right at the beginning. Three days before our Port Moresby trip, my wife and I decided that we did not want to stay in Port Moresby for longer due to the restrictions following security best practices. Hence, we spontaneously rang up Tawali at 7.30pm and they confirmed to answer all relevant question by email. Within 12 hours we had questions answered and within 24 hours it was a done deal. Very good booking experience!

The staff was very helpful, from booking before the trip throughout our visit over in Papua New Guinea. All people are nice and smiling and it's a very friendly atmosphere. The concept with dive boxes is very good as well and helps to have your things sorted. The day trip diving boats were comfortable and clean as the entire resort.

Really, it was a very pleasant experience to stay in Tawali!

The diving was fun, too. Nature seems to be pure in Milne Bay. From the green hills to the blue ocean. Beautiful coral and smaller reef fish in abundance. Incredible underwater landscapes. My absolute favorite was 'Deacon's Reef' as the walls are filled with coral and we had some 40m viz. Just incredible! I'll let the photos do the rest. ;-)

P.s. I rated value average, because the resort and PNG as such is a bit pricey. You may get close to the experience in Indonesia with half the price. However, I don't regret the trip. It was nature (and people) at it's best!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChristophWuerbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews