We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
69
43
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
43
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive sites skull caves dive shop muck diving fish papua new guinea dive master world class coral reef night dive milne bay local staff worth the effort bus ride remote location marine life village walk
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018

While concerned that negative comments may impact upon those who don’t deserve it, saying nothing allows the management and ownership to get away with a lack of real care. While Tawali is run by friendly and caring staff, there is a down-at-heal aspect to the place, which aggravates. For Tawali, in common with most accommodation in PNG, is not inexpensive. While the rooms are pleasant enough, they lack what would be best called homeliness. Little in the way of touches to make them other than apartments for the repose of the body. They are kept clean and were certainly pleasant enough, with verandahs overlooking Milne Bay, ceiling fans, A/C, bar fridge and an electric jug. The bathroom was adequate, yet mine could not manage to be provided with hot water for the entire 7 nights I was there. Many were the explanations, all pointing to the fault being elsewhere, the difficulty of supply in PNG, and anything which amounted to excuse. This without rectification of the problem, despite workmen climbing on the roof and in the ceiling space.
The exterior of the buildings are in slow decay. Bargeboards and fascias continue to rot, and spoutings fall askew, spewing rain water with deluge. A railing on the walkway to my room remained fallen down throughout my stay, and the boardwalks which connect all bungalows to the main complex were everywhere patched and rotting. Signs were erected to warn pedestrians about the slippery nature of these walkways, rather than real attempts to overcome this.
Food at Tawali is ordinary, if plentiful. The chef is a cook, and lazy. Seen on his phone much of the time, sitting about the main area. The meals, served in the bain-maries, rarely are hot, and are all versions of the what was presented yesterday.
The diving around Tawali is spectacular, although a little too much muck diving for my liking. Whenever divers with expensive, underwater cameras appeared for the days diving, my heart sank, as it meant the majority of the dive would be searching above areas of volcanic sand, for microscopic life to add to their photographic collection. But when we did get to the coral ravines and the drop offs, it was worth the effort in getting to the area, and Tawali does involve a few connections and transfers.
After arranging to get from POM to Gurney, the road trip from the airport was 90 minutes, albeit through picturesque countryside, and then there was a 20 minute boat ride.
A well maintained pool area was a pleasant diversion, and the activities around the locality likewise. The village walk past thatched houses with coconut palm roofs, banana plantations and taro gardens yielded a sense of timeless romance. No fibro cement in sight was a delight! Village life as it was in the beginning.
Tawali may find apathy its undoing, unless some real care and money is put into bringing it back up to standard, and introducing point of difference. For this is my second trip to PNG, and I will not return to Tawali, given a far better experience elsewhere, and Milne Bay offering alternatives.

Room tip: Have a look at what alternatives are available before selecting your room. Especially check for hot water.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Loved the location, and the rooms spacious and comfortable. House reef and Coral Gardens are both excellent, variety of coral is amazing.
Issues -
1) for 4 evenings they basically only had red wine and beer - they had run out of everything else and kept lying about when it was due in.
2) organised a snorkelling trip to an island, we said we would go any time after 9, they suggested 10 but after going in a small wooden canoe in 20 knots out in the open ocean with no lifejacts (30 min trip) we arrive to find we can not snorkel as it is low tide inside the reef and too shallow and far too rough outside. They really should know about tides and water conditions before we paid money for a trip that was a total waste of time.
3) we had paid for a birding trip - told we could do any day and fine to let them know the day before. BUT then we find we have to go with a some other worker as bird guide not available - he did not even know the name of the BOP let alone any other bird and took us up the steep hill and down at such a rate of knots you could see nothing else anyway. Even the BOP was so far in the distance and behind trees it was not worthwhile (had seen it much better elsewhere on other occassions.) Big waste of money - DO NOT DO

Room tip: If you do not dive, don't bother going as they really dont care about non divers or the trips for them.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

The rooms are very basic and old fashioned. The exterior is very serene and lovely but don’t get room 21 or 22 ! Bright lights outside and the floor rocks! There were electrical switches in bathrooms that definitely shouldn’t be touched.

The food comes as a one price buffet. Not cheap and choice is very limited ... especially if you don’t eat pork.

There’s no choice in PNG if there was I don’t think Tawali would last. The diving makes it worthwhile . Amazing reefs

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Sherene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

I am from Alotau, Milne Bay, Tawali Resort is just beautiful. Snorkel, Dive, or Trek nearby and explore Skull Caves, Waterfalls. Very safe to stay and the locals are very kind and welcoming. The sunsets, sea and surroundings are just gorgeous and very relaxing, with poolside, restaurant, bar and deck over the sea, Paradise...

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We travelled to Tawali Resort from Port Moresby so was an adventure to get there. The staff are amazing and exceptionally helpful. We travelled with our 2 sons aged 9 and 10, and we stayed in a large family room which had 2 double beds in it.
The main resort area was a great place to hang out after a full day of snorkelling in a range of different spots around the resort. Free wifi was very helpful as the kids enjoyed playing on their tablets there on the couches with others who were staying there as well.

The food was awesome, and l loved that it was served at set times as a buffet so I didn't have to even think about food for the family.

Can't say enough about the snorkelling as so accessible and amazing reef with tonnes of fish.

Overall, 4 day holiday with the family at Tawali was one of favourite holidays and look forward to going again.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawali R, General Manager at Tawali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Sally,

Thank you so much for Choosing Tawali Resort as one of your favourite holiday location.
We will assure you that we will continue to excel in our product and services in order to exceed your expectations.

Looking forward to see you very soon.

Regards,

Armando P. Agusto
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews