We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
54
18
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
54
18
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2020

I really wish they would not have the dogs in the restaurant. While we are eating they came and begged for food. We come back because it is a nice place and good food. Nice bungelows also but we did not stay there this trip

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Seaside824771
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2019 via mobile

An incredibly charming resort with pebbled paths, arches along the walkways, and trailing greenery. The bungalows are delightful with their seafaring decor and timber decking, and it is easy to while away several hours sitting on the deck reading. Staff were helpful and friendly. Our meals were fresh and delicious. We were only there for one night but thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2019 via mobile

I like driftwood because of the settings and great view looking out into the bay. The staff are friendly & welcoming. It is also quiet & away from the main centre. You can ask reception to call a cab for you or jump on when they do a run into town. Alotau is a beautiful little town with easygoing people. Unfortunately, people from other provinces have given the place a bad name, not the Milne bay people. Eating over the wooden jetty gives you and exotic feeling. The type of feeling one is after when going on a holiday to s undeveloped country. You certainly won't get the silver spoon service here, but than, that's why you choose PNG, 'the land of the unexpected" so expect the unexpected.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank clemsplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

Lovely clean accomadation set right by the waterfront which is the highlight. Even though I was on a business trip the location made for a very relaxing setting.

You are free to kayak the bay anytime which was very enjoyable, and recommended, as well as dinner and drinks on the jetty. The food was very nice and the staff were extremely friendly and hospitable.

There was also some very good entertainment at night, just dont order cocktails.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Warren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Booked a charter Thru Driftwood when we did cruise to PNG x Cairns. Caught a great Papuan Black Bass and released. Driftwood owner Brendan was fantastic. Picked us up from Cruise Boat when docked and then delivered us back after the fishing trip. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank lestern466
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews