We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
5
1
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
1
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2019

We came here for an impromptu festival, having locals show us traditional dancing along with canoe rides on offer. Markets were set up on the gardens with carvings, sarongs, mugs etc. Inside they were serving tea and scones upstairs and had three men playing guitar up there. We didn't see any educational or environmental items via the Massim Museum as we were there for the festival. We didn't stay here either.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank lisstravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonE2731, General Manager at Wanigili, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Thanks for visiting Wanigili, Liss. We hope you enjoyed the experience even if only a short visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2019

Note: This review is only for the event/festival held on the beachfront grounds of this facility.

One of the stops our cruise ship made was at Milne Bay, Alotau, Paupa New Guinea. An excursion we took from our ship was to the grounds of the Milne Bay Education Center, where we attended the Alotau Cultural Festival.

Here dancing groups from the area, recreate a mini traditional festival, utilizing the canoe & kundu drum which have been traditionally used for ceremonies & rituals throughout history. This festival was created for cruise ship passengers to give them a small taste of their local culture. Also at the festival, you can browse the stalls for local arts & crafts for souvenirs. You can also take a short ride around the bay @ $10.00 AUD, on a traditionally carved canoe.

The grounds, building within & surrounding area were clean. The local participants & vendors were friendly.

I would rate this activity AVERAGE.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kenl461
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2018

It was cool and quiet in my room that was only a few meters from the edge of the bay. The fridge inside the room was bigger than very small bar fridge you usually see in other hotels. There was a shared kitchen right in front of my room and the staff kindly helped me cook. Everyone was friendly and helpful. It’s located in a convenient location within a walking distance from the town centre and the price is reasonable. I highly recommend this place in Alotau

Room tip: Ask for a room facing the bay.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RayParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Wanigili is a hotel but its also the Education Milne Bay base, it houses the cultural centre, craft markets and the Massim Museum. This review covers the mini festival that is arranged for tourists from the cruise ships. The festival is rich in performance, traditional dancing groups come from many areas in a mix of colourful costume and fearsome face ornaments. This is no jaded performance for the tourist; it is full of energy, the performers move as one; tendons and muscles so elastic, just amazing performances. The war canoes arrive on the beach manned by fierce looking paddlers, however pay 20 kina and you will enjoy a canoe ride in the bay. There are many stalls selling arts and crafts, the majority made locally but many souvenir items made elsewhere. You can enjoy a massage or have your hair braided. Café upstairs, clean, friendly staff and cold drinks available. Listen to the local Trio on guitars, the modern world has touched some. Lovely vegetation and large trees provide some shade outdoors. You are welcome to take photographs of the performers and their families, no fee expected but a donation will be gratefully accepted. Wonderful enjoyable morning.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon E, Owner at Wanigili, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Dan,

We're very glad to read about your positive experience in Alotau and at Wanigili. Yes, the cultural groups are the "real deal" and all credit to all the local people who put the range of experiences on. And big thanks to visitors like you who appreciate a living traditional culture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

In November 15 i had the pleasure of spending two weeks in this amazing place, beautiful local timber has been use to make the main building, with an open plan design the cafeteria and eating areas open themselves to relaxed areas over looking milne bay, they cater for large or small conference and functions, various accommodation is available in wonderful rooms with air conditioning WiFi tv, overhead fans.Wangigili host a wonderful culture experience when the cruise ships visit, the locals put on traditional dances, wood carvings and local crafts are avaliable, and home cooked food items.its only a short drive to the airport, and town centre.if you are ever in Alotau png dont miss this place well worth a stay.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank lloydb601
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews