We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Having drinks and food”
Review of The Black Bull

The Black Bull
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Haltwhistle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Small traditional real ale pub. Offering a cozy, friendly & welcoming environment for both tourists & locals alike. We cannot provide restaurant service or capacity. Just good honest pub fayre for individuals, couples & small parties. Please note. We are unable to accommodate parties of 6 or more.
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We Came to the black Bull as we stayed in the B&B the Grey bull, he recommended to have a drink at the Black Bull. so we sat outside until the sun went off the terrace. and than we had dinner in the pub. very good food was served in a nice and easy ambiance. talking with the locals and with other tourists about cycling the C2C and other things.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank kekenjacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018

This was a stop over whilst cycling across county: we were staying nearby. The pub staff were friendly and catered well to our hungry crew, the beer was good and we had an enjoyable meal. Order at the bar. The local Cumbrian Suasage was very good -quite peppery.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 157David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Friendly pub with tasty evening meals and a pleasant atmosphere, also dog-friendly (which was a bonus for Barney)

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank paultbgannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

A warm welcome from the lovely staff, two excellent bar meals (rump steak and fisherman's platter) and a couple of pints later, we were glad we come. Loads of character, too.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank GeorgiaSerendipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

This place has pretty much everything you could want from a lovely old-fashioned village pub - good food, excellent beer selection, and a cozy atmosphere. Mix of locals and visiting walkers, good but unobtrusive music in the background.
The only flaw was that one of the nights we came here, it took ages for the food to come. We were warned it could be "worst case scenario 45 minutes" and it ended up taking almost 1 hr 20 minutes to get two burgers. This was far too long for relatively simple meals - seemed to be an exceptional situation, but would have appreciated better communication from the staff. At least the food was good in the end..
In any case, we were very pleased that despite being one of the few options in town, this place maintains its authentic character and reasonable prices!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank inkwave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Bull also viewed

Haltwhistle, Northumberland
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
 
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
Gilsland, Brampton
 

Been to The Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing