We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
121
26
14
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
26
14
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hay on wye old building evening meal lamb beautiful building warm welcome poster bed room was clean and comfortable modern facilities old style breakfast was excellent tasty food sticky toffee pudding welcoming bar the en suite bathroom owners and staff original features
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

I was going to write that this place was okay but on reflection I can not find it in my heart to be that generous. It's not quite up to the mark of okay in my opinion.
The food is poor, not unpalatable but not something you would go back for. They can cope with gluten free so if that is something you need and you are really hungry and you are passing through then maybe that would be a reason to stop otherwise I would drive on by and find an alternative.
The staff are friendly, but did not wait for an answer when they checked if everything was okay with the meal, moving on after a brief pause with thanks before we could point out that the chips were overdone (ignoring blandness or other shortcomings).
It's a shame as the building is fantastic but it deserves some money to be spent on the interior which is old and drab, not old as in historically interesting, old as in tired and decrepit.

I feel really mean writing this and had hoped to be writing about somewhere that was a missed gem but sadly this is how I feel after mulling it over for a few days. I wish them well and hope the Rhydspence can become all it should be but right now, the very best feature is the main door way which oozes crooked Dickensian charm and the stone cobbled pavement outside.

There are two listings for this inn. I am only posting here as it would be unfair to post under both.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Barnaby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and had a lovely time.
Room was clean and comfortable. It was in the back if the hotel and the room was quiet and cool.
The choice at breakfast was good with both hot and cold options.
We also ate in the restaurant in the evening and the good was delicious especially the homemade bread starter.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Had a lovely stay on a Sunday evening. Comfortable room but was above the kitchen, so noisy at times. The bathroom was modern with a nice shower. Dinner choice and quality was very good, and breakfast was excellent. Beautiful location and views across the Wye valley

Room Tip: Room 8 is above the kitchen
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ianjfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

A lovely old building set in some beautiful countryside a short 4 miles from Hay on Wye .
The room was big and comfortable , be prepared for not a straight line in the room !! this is an old building after all . Room needs a little updating ,the bathroom only had a bath shower mixer which is odd in these days . The towel rail wobbles, the top of the posts on the bed fall off when knocked and the carpets is a little worn . Really comfy bed with good quality sheets .
The hosts were excellent and the team really friendly , the pub is busy with lots of locals which is a good sign.

The breakfast was very nice , poached eggs done to perfection .We had dinner the first night in the hotel and the food was tasty and good sized portion. Great value , friendly and charming Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Stopped there this weekend. Beautiful setting and lovely chatacter hotel. Friendly family welcome and is popular with the locals too... always a good sign. Fitted us in for our evening meal and though really busy the food was exceptional. Our room was spacious comfortable and clean offering modern facilities in a very old building. Only down side was the very steep stairs which isn't a problem unless you have mobility problems... but they are the original stairs so it is to be expected. Will definitely re-visit.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KEL1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews