We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
not worth the time

too much of the same stuff being sold tomatoes and other produce we bought was not very good it is... read more

Reviewed 9 December 2019
Geer H
,
Spittal an der Drau, Austria
This market is no highlight

Before visiting the market, I read other people’s review. I did not expect much. I guess, this was... read more

Reviewed 12 July 2019
KarinvanB
via mobile
Read all 46 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tarvisio
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
7
8
7
8
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
7
8
7
8
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2017

our tour guide explained us that you should ask for 50% discount, since the prices are expensive. the make 50% discount if you ask!!! i

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank HannaD639
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2017

I cant believe I am writing the first review of this place!!

If you want some decent leather gear (jackets, coats, trousers) at prices that you will never find in high street shops, this is definitely the place.

The market has been established here for decades, although this was my first trip.
A huge variety of leather wear, if you have something in mind, i'm sure they will have it here. We visited on a cold and wet April afternoon, a couple of hours before closing (5.30pm).
Of course, with a market of this nature - you will need your bartering head on.
Which is not really my cup of tea, but if you cost in how much you save - think of it as being paid to do it!
You will rarely see a price ticket on an item. Once you stop to admire something, you will have a shop owner very politely ask you to step up to his stall and try it on.
It's not quite as hard sell as Egypt or Turkey, but you get the idea.
If you like the item, start your offer at a much lower price than what you were told the item is. If you need to 'escape' and dont really want it after trying it on, just say so and walk away.

I find by saying something like, "hey, i'm the buyer, you're the seller - that's my decision", will tell them you are serious.
If you get stressed by these bartering methods (as i do sometimes), give it a miss or go when you are ready.

Hope this was useful!

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Andy_Edit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2024
Google Translation

Date of experience: March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2023
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2023
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews