We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
112
98
28
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
98
28
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages breakfast is served every morning rose cottage nungwi beach outer room limited umbrellas peaceful place to stay private veranda small scale walk along the beach comfortable hotel beachside restaurant turtle sanctuary local women divine diving beach front
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Travelling as a group of 4 friends, we stayed in two adjoining rooms which made up a very clean and cosy yet spacious self contained chalet.
A sumptuous breakfast was served on our private terrace every morning by lovely friendly staff.
Upon arrival, I had frostbite due to climbing Kilimanjaro - the owner Elizabeth was absolutely wonderful, and made sure that not only I was looked after by the staff but that I was seen immediately by local medics.
As well as the private restaurant area overlooking the beach, there is a lovely,tranquil swimming pool near the chalets so there is a choice of places to relax.
Free Wifi is available all over the site.
The cottages are located right in the the centre of Nungwi with its restaurants and activities (dive centre, kite surf centre within a few minutes walk).
There are also morning and evening Yoga sessions on the rooftop of the main building with a view of the sea - the teacher gives a much more deep and thorough lesson that the typical expensive ones in London!!
Before finding Flame Tree Cottages, we had visited most of the other hotels in Nungwi - Flame Tree was definitely the most charming, welcoming and best value for money.
Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Closer to the beach means better WiFi - although Wifi works perfectly by beach and by pool (communal areas).
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emccord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016

My friends and I spent 4 nights at Flame Tree Cottages during the New Years Eve week and I cannot express how happy we were with the resort! It's located on the west end of Nungwi Beach (which is less busy than the rest of the beach) and within walking distance to all the bars, restaurants, dive / watersport shops dotted all over the shore front. The property is pretty spacious, green, clean, breezy and just feels like being in a country side hideaway!

Our room had a cozy patio with a little garden, a 4-poster bed, a very large bathroom, a mini fridge, a toaster and a view of the pool. Every morning, we enjoyed a hearty breakfast (included in the price) out on our patio before heading out for the day. A standout feature for us was the friendliness and hospitality of the staff. Ali, particularly, who greeted and welcomed us upon our arrival took care of us through out as did everyone else on the staff - from the ladies who brought our breakfast each morning to the wait staff at their beach side restaurant who very patiently cooperated with our dietary requests! We really felt at home here - the owners (Elizabeth & Saif) were very prompt in their communication and full of advice on things to do on the island. The hotel also offers a few activities that you can book whilst there - sunset sails on a traditional Zanzibari dhow (2 hour sail all the way to Kendwa and back - highly recommended for $15!), morning / sunset yoga on their terrace with spectacular beach views, snorkelling and more. The beach right in front of the property is quite secluded and enjoyable for a day of relaxation. The only aspect which can be improved upon is better wifi signal throughout the property - it was pretty patchy in parts which was quite inconvenient. Other than that, we loved our stay here and would gladly go back here!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JoannaHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

What a great stay was this! A super managed and maintained lodge on Zanzibar which we can only recommend.
Location: Nungwi beach, and you're next to the beach - the estate is very well maintained and has a very nice pool with great parasols, beds and good matrasses.
Rooms: large rooms, much storage space, perfect bathroom with always hot water and electricity, large and good bed with large mosquito net, perfect airconditioning
Service: breakfast is served on your own terrace in front of the room - a very nice and relaxed way to start your day
Restaurant: at the beach, and we found the quality very good for Zanzibar - next to the pool there's a second bar/restaurant. On windy or rainy days food can also be served on your own terrace.
Overall - a recommended lodge on Zanzibar!!

Stayed: November 2015
Thank MarcMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZZZZZZZ3, General Manager at Flame Tree Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Dear MarcMich,

Thank you for your complimentary review and for recommending us. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Flame Tree Cottages, especially our beach front location, our swimming pool, our spacious rooms, the service you received and our beach front restaurant. We welcome you back to Nungwi any time – karibu tena!

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your thoughts, and all the best for 2016.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We stayed for a week at Flame Tree leaving on the 25th December.
Prior to booking at Flame Tree we deliberated long and hard about the alternative accommodation in Nungwi, after being there for a day or two we believed that we had made the right choice.
The cottages are well spread out in well kept gardens with a central pool, there is lots of privacy and space, unlike some of the other accommodation in the area were rooms are squeezed in to optimise sea front views.
The hotel is right on the beach,the beach is the tourist high street with all the best bars and restaurants being on the beach. It's a 15 minute saunter round to the lighthouse on the north end of the island and 10 minutes to Divine Diving, Z Hotel at the south. We were diving with Divine Diving all week near Amman Bungalows so the Flame Tree was convenient.
Paul has an excellent team working for him at Flame Tree, they are all polite, helpful and diligent, they helped make our stay all the better.
We had two rooms entering into a shared sitting area, each of the bedrooms had fans and air conditioning. The beds weer comfortable, the bathrooms were functional with excellent plumbing, lots of hot water, with clean pool towels and shower towels provided daily.
Breakfast was served on the terrace adjacent to our rooms, it was always prompt and allowed us plenty of time to get to Divine on time.
We ate in the Flame Tree restaurant a few times, the food was excellent and the views of the sunset from the seating area adjacent to the beach were stunning.
We had a great time, the hotel may not be as modern as some of the new ones being built, and is a really honest, clean, well maintained. comfortable and private place to stay.

Room Tip: If on insist on having wifi on holiday, you will find it challenging in Nugwi!
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandsja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZZZZZZZ3, General Manager at Flame Tree Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Dear dandsja,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your time at Flame Tree Cottages. We’re delighted that you appreciated our convenient beach location, spacious accommodation, room facilities, peaceful hotel atmosphere and our beach restaurant. We aim to provide a high standard of fresh and delicious food, and we’re so pleased that you enjoyed several meals with us. I was a pleasure to host your family on the lead up to the Christmas and we welcome you back any time. Asante sana and karibu tena!

Thank you again and all the best for 2016.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

Cozy cottages. Charming really. Very different than large beachfront hotels. But still on the beach! Staff was very helpful. Management was accommodating and customer focused. Shower door handle didn't work and they had a plumber in the room shortly after I mentioned it. We brought our three kids and the family we travelled with had three kids. We all had fun. Evening yoga classes were amazing--on the rooftop in front of the ocean! They pride themselves on fresh food. We swam everyday in the ocean and pool. Fun to walk the beautiful beach. We walked a little north and paid to swim with large turtles. We also did a bike tour and went to a hidden beach. I recommend both.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank ResaJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZZZZZZZ3, General Manager at Flame Tree Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Dear ResaJeff,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences of Flame Tree Cottages. It was a pleasure to host your family and friends. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your time here; the food, the location, the beach and the activities that Nungwi has to offer. You are welcome back any time – karibu tena, and asante sana!

Thanks again, and best wishes for 2016.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews