We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of The Zanzibari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Zanzibari
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Amazing place ! Love very much to stay there . The nature just amazing . The view from the room fantastic. Also had good sleep . If u want to chill and forget about everything go there . We didn't swim in the sea there but it's was not our goal we wanted to relax and watch beautiful view . Also staff was nice . The only thing I would improve was wifi which was very slow in the room . I could not really use it in the room . It's only work on reception for me ( room 5) anyway all was nice

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank alexandrasR6249JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We loved our stay at this lovely hotel. The staff are so friendly and look after you so well. Our rooms were very comfortable with balconies looking out to the sea. The food was exceptional and the restaurant and bar area is so spacious. There were lots of places to relax and nowhere felt crowded. Great to walk along the beach where you can find more bars and restaurants if you want them.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CarolynVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Really wanted to thank Fabiola and her team for our lovely stay.
Lovely, beautiful and peaceful hotel with great food and lots of attention to detail.
Service is great and very friendly. Beautiful gardens and pool.
Gerard

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gverhoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We loved everything about our 5 night stay at The Zanzibari. Fabiola and her team and excellent and made us feel very welcome. Security, accommodation (an extremely comfortable bed), food, pool, private beach area, hotel grounds, airport transfer and arrangement of a half day Stone Town tour were all excellent. The location on Nungwi Beach is fantastic allowing us to explore the locality at low tide. Perfect place to truly relax.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rednelly84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately the wifi signal was awful , worse I had in zanzibar . Not working almost and I needed it for work , even could not open mail . On reception it's was a bit better but still bad .
Water in tub of shower is very weak . And not very hot too :( Also the huge cockroach cross my room the last day ( which maybe normal in Africa ) . The service is a bit slow too .

The territory of the hotel is stunning and beautiful . Just outstanding view from the beach . When water go away it's amazing also u can walk and watch the life of sea animals .Rooms look beautiful too . Nice design and also nice decoration when check in . The cleaning lady do super work ! They clean room very good and make figures from towels so charming . Also kill mosquitoes every evening with spray . Breakfast was nice too . Also u feel safe there coz security from both sides of the hotel . It is very quiet relaxing hotel .
The staff was nice and polite very helpful people . I liked hotel in general but few little things like weak water power and slow internet , kills the mood of perfection .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lexa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.7 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
660 reviews
2.3 km away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,679 reviews
2 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,152 reviews
0.1 km away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Nungwi
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zanzibari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zanzibari

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 10437, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: HK$1,265 - HK$2,834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zanzibari 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibari is located in Nungwi on the northeastern tip of Zanzibar. Set above the beach on a low coral cliff with easy access to the sea you are offered privacy, peace and tranquility while taking in the stunning views of the Indian Ocean. The hotel has many high quality facilities, including our infinity pool, spa and famous Dhow Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Zanzibari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zanzibari Hotel Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing