We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway”
Review of The Zanzibari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Zanzibari
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2017

After travelling around Tanzania nothing better than spending a few days to relax in Zanzibar. North of the island is Nungwi, a fishermen´s village where there are a few hotels, among which the Zanzibari proved to be a great getaway, quiet, at a walking distance from everything there is to see, and most than anything, a welcoming and friendly staff that care for every detail and ensure your stay exceeds your expectations. Affordable, comfortable, with only 8 rooms and 3 cabins, is perfect for a relaxed, quiet and romantic stay.

Get your meals in an open area, surrounded by vegetation; watch the show with local dancers; and let them pamper you.

Room Tip: Every room looks to the gardens, try to get the ones on the second floor, you will get a sea view to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzibari_Tanzania, General Manager at The Zanzibari, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

A gracious thank you for taking the time to make a review.
We are extremely happy to know that we met and exceeded your expectations and that The Zanzibari was exactly what you needed for a perfect gate-away. Will be sure to convey your regards to the staff.
Karibu Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017

The Zanzibari is a wonderful, quiet hotel on the north end of Zanzibar near the town of Nungwi. It is located about 15 minutes outside of town on the beach and about 70 minutes from the airport. We stayed in one of the Frangipani suites with our two teens. The main bedroom has a king bed and ac. There is another small bed in the living area. Upstairs in a beautiful open air floor (beds have mosquito netting) where two additional beds and a couch and living area was situated.

We also has a private plunge pool and beach area. We had half-board and some of our best meals in Africa were here.The chef is imaginative and talented with 5-course dinners. We loved walking to town and having some lunches there as well.

The true highlight of The Zanzibari are the gracious and generous people who work there. In particular, Nzori who made us feel at home. Nzori also took us on a wonderful town tour which gave us insight on how the local people live and make a living. We watched boat builders build huge wooden crafts by hand, without power tools, women weave, spoke with a nurse at the clinic, watched fishing nets be repaired. We were given a chance to "help" these craftsman. Nzori taught us many things, but most of all how to feel welcome in his community. Every step of the way, he turned around and surprised us.

There are other activity options and they can arrange any kind of tour, diving, snorkeling or other sightseeing.

The Zanzibari and the people who run it-- are very, very special. We miss them already.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luv2TravelNJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzibari_Tanzania, General Manager at The Zanzibari, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

It is our hope that all who chance a stay at The Zanzibari have wonderful and unforgettable memories that when recalled can bring warmth and joy to the heart.
Thank you for writing such a gracious review and we are truly happy to know you all had an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

I would've like to wait till the end of my stay here, but Modest and his team are so amazing that I can not keep quiet any longer! From the moment we got hear mere hours earlier, the atmosphere has been just amazing. We feel so welcomed. Absolutely great service! And this hotel is a jewel! Our room is amazing and the aircon hits just the right spot! The pool is absolutely awesome! Water is warm, but no complaints really. Check this spot, coz I will review again once we leave!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pieter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzibari_Tanzania, Manager at The Zanzibari, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for your gracious review. We are happy that we were able to meet your expectations and that you had an absolutely amazing stay. I will pass your kind comments onto the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The staff at Zanzibari went above and beyond to make my stay a trip to remember. The food was incredible and the room was lovely. I had the best mattress in my room and I wish I would have taken a look to see who it was made by! The acrobatic group who entertained us one night was so cool, and I heard they actually travel around the world with their performance. Very impressed with Zanzibari!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

The place is very beautiful with great spots to relax and enjoy from a romantic vacation.
The service and the care from all the hotel staff was 5 Star!
Specially I would like to mention Zory one of the managers which was wonderful and took care of all we need every day!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adikafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.7 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
660 reviews
2.3 km away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,681 reviews
2 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,153 reviews
0.1 km away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Nungwi
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zanzibari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zanzibari

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 10437, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: HK$1,265 - HK$2,843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zanzibari 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibari is located in Nungwi on the northeastern tip of Zanzibar. Set above the beach on a low coral cliff with easy access to the sea you are offered privacy, peace and tranquility while taking in the stunning views of the Indian Ocean. The hotel has many high quality facilities, including our infinity pool, spa and famous Dhow Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Zanzibari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zanzibari Hotel Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing