We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
270
70
24
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
70
24
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslow tidefive coursessmall hotelunforgettable holidaythis wonderful hotelplunge poolnearby villagewalk along the beachstone town tourthe north endliving areawe loved our staymain beachindian oceanhalf boardpeace and quietprivate beach area
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We recently spent 5 nights at this wonderful hotel and were very sad to leave.
We stayed in a sea view room with a lovely balcony and stunning view.
The food was much better than we expected and served in a great open sided restaurant by lovely staff. The walk along the beach to Nungwi village is a great experience but even better when accompanied by Nzore, one of the hotel managers.
We can't recommend this hotel enough, especially the absolutely delightful staff and quality of the service.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We had the good fortune to spend three nights at the lush and luxurious Zanzibari, a lovely retreat in the Nungwi section of Zanzibar. We stayed in The Zanzibari's Franzipane suite -- a large 2-level abode with its own private plunge pool and its own private stretch of beach. The downstairs consisted of a living room, bedroom, bathroom and additional sleeping nook -- beautifully furnished with airconditioning. However, it was the upstairs that blew us away -- a huge, loftlike space with two beds and a sitting area and a large open air front that allowed us to feel like we were sleeping outside when in fact we were in a protected environment. All the Zanzibari suites seem lovely and this one was especially unique. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and every meal we had there was delicious.

The assistant manager offers tours of the village and this was very informative, fascinating and scenic. He and all the staff were extremely attentive and courteous. I highly recommend this fabulous hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the Zanzibari and would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a relaxing break away.

The food is exceptional! We were half board and had a 5 course dinner every evening which was, without fail, of an extremely high quality. The breakfast was also very good.

There is a spa (a wooden tent on the beach) offering massages and manicures etc which were great and amazing to be able to hear the sound of the waves at the same time!

The pool looks out onto the gorgeous beach and turquoise blue sea. Kayaks are available to use. The hotel offers a number of tours but, as we were only there for a few days after a hectic safari trip, we were happy to just chill by the pool.

Much of the beach is inaccessible during the day due to the tides by the hotel has a raised beach area with sun loungers which we spent lots of time relaxing on.

There are a few bars and restaurants a short walk along the beach away. We loved the bar at Zalu in particular - great for sundowners.

The staff were all extremely friendly and welcoming.

We were celebrating our anniversary whilst there and we were treated to a private dinner on the beach with Masai dancers which was very special - thank you.

Would highly recommend for those looking for a chilled escape.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Freedom314715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

I enjoyed every minute of my stay at The Zanzibari. The staff went above and beyond to make your stay pleasant and were very friendly. Quiet location, beautiful garden and easy access to the beach. Two suggestions to management would be to get some new (fresh) towels and provide a do no disturb sign, just so that option is available. Other than that I loved this hotel!!

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Passport_cowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nipperjarvis, General Manager at The Zanzibari, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you for your review.I will pass your compliments onto the staff and always we take your recommendations seriously and are no in the process of getting some "Do not disturb" signs for individual rooms. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The Zanzibari it must be said is not actually on the beach - it is on low cliffs above the beach which gives it privacy and a good view. So, as others have commented, the tide comes right in to the cliffs, covering the sand, and then recedes about a mile leaving exposed rock and reef. Not really good for children but excellent for oldies like us. There is a good pool however and some villas have their own private plunge pools. The food was excellent and our room (Frangipani 1) perfect. Although there were only the two of us, there was an upstairs with beds for six or seven people in the villa in total.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank bankdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews