We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to relax”
Review of The Zanzibari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Zanzibari
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I think most people come here after their safari- so its time to wind down.
it is quite small with 11 rooms- so dont expect a giant international style hotel.
Theres nice garden and sea views from the hotel. You can walk along the beach when the tide is out-- or walk to the local village.Apart from boat trips not a lot else to do-- but that is the point of the place.
The bedrooms are very large- with the bed arranaged differently every day. Theres no tv but there is wifi
We were on half board--its a five course meal-- well prepared and tasty.You order in the morning what you want in the evening.
It is a small hotel so dont expect super attentive service-- but the grounds are huge and you will have plenty of space to yourself with excellent views. to unwind

Room Tip: pick one with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank daviddocklands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2016

We recently spent 5 nights at this wonderful hotel and were very sad to leave.
We stayed in a sea view room with a lovely balcony and stunning view.
The food was much better than we expected and served in a great open sided restaurant by lovely staff. The walk along the beach to Nungwi village is a great experience but even better when accompanied by Nzore, one of the hotel managers.
We can't recommend this hotel enough, especially the absolutely delightful staff and quality of the service.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We had the good fortune to spend three nights at the lush and luxurious Zanzibari, a lovely retreat in the Nungwi section of Zanzibar. We stayed in The Zanzibari's Franzipane suite -- a large 2-level abode with its own private plunge pool and its own private stretch of beach. The downstairs consisted of a living room, bedroom, bathroom and additional sleeping nook -- beautifully furnished with airconditioning. However, it was the upstairs that blew us away -- a huge, loftlike space with two beds and a sitting area and a large open air front that allowed us to feel like we were sleeping outside when in fact we were in a protected environment. All the Zanzibari suites seem lovely and this one was especially unique. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and every meal we had there was delicious.

The assistant manager offers tours of the village and this was very informative, fascinating and scenic. He and all the staff were extremely attentive and courteous. I highly recommend this fabulous hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
93
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the Zanzibari and would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a relaxing break away.

The food is exceptional! We were half board and had a 5 course dinner every evening which was, without fail, of an extremely high quality. The breakfast was also very good.

There is a spa (a wooden tent on the beach) offering massages and manicures etc which were great and amazing to be able to hear the sound of the waves at the same time!

The pool looks out onto the gorgeous beach and turquoise blue sea. Kayaks are available to use. The hotel offers a number of tours but, as we were only there for a few days after a hectic safari trip, we were happy to just chill by the pool.

Much of the beach is inaccessible during the day due to the tides by the hotel has a raised beach area with sun loungers which we spent lots of time relaxing on.

There are a few bars and restaurants a short walk along the beach away. We loved the bar at Zalu in particular - great for sundowners.

The staff were all extremely friendly and welcoming.

We were celebrating our anniversary whilst there and we were treated to a private dinner on the beach with Masai dancers which was very special - thank you.

Would highly recommend for those looking for a chilled escape.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

I enjoyed every minute of my stay at The Zanzibari. The staff went above and beyond to make your stay pleasant and were very friendly. Quiet location, beautiful garden and easy access to the beach. Two suggestions to management would be to get some new (fresh) towels and provide a do no disturb sign, just so that option is available. Other than that I loved this hotel!!

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Passport_cowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nipperjarvis, General Manager at The Zanzibari, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you for your review.I will pass your compliments onto the staff and always we take your recommendations seriously and are no in the process of getting some "Do not disturb" signs for individual rooms. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.7 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
639 reviews
2.0 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,095 reviews
26.3 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,630 reviews
0.1 km away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Nungwi
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zanzibari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zanzibari

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 10437, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: HK$1,280 - HK$2,881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zanzibari 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibari is located in Nungwi on the northeastern tip of Zanzibar. Set above the beach on a low coral cliff with easy access to the sea you are offered privacy, peace and tranquility while taking in the stunning views of the Indian Ocean. The hotel has many high quality facilities, including our infinity pool, spa and famous Dhow Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Zanzibari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zanzibari Hotel Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing