We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
283
70
24
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
70
24
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frangipani suite low tide small hotel private pool nungwi village spice tour sand beach this wonderful hotel excellent holiday decorated with flowers perfect place to relax sea urchins every meal stone town living area cleaning staff our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the Zanzibari and would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a relaxing break away.

The food is exceptional! We were half board and had a 5 course dinner every evening which was, without fail, of an extremely high quality. The breakfast was also very good.

There is a spa (a wooden tent on the beach) offering massages and manicures etc which were great and amazing to be able to hear the sound of the waves at the same time!

The pool looks out onto the gorgeous beach and turquoise blue sea. Kayaks are available to use. The hotel offers a number of tours but, as we were only there for a few days after a hectic safari trip, we were happy to just chill by the pool.

Much of the beach is inaccessible during the day due to the tides by the hotel has a raised beach area with sun loungers which we spent lots of time relaxing on.

There are a few bars and restaurants a short walk along the beach away. We loved the bar at Zalu in particular - great for sundowners.

The staff were all extremely friendly and welcoming.

We were celebrating our anniversary whilst there and we were treated to a private dinner on the beach with Masai dancers which was very special - thank you.

Would highly recommend for those looking for a chilled escape.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Freedom314715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

I enjoyed every minute of my stay at The Zanzibari. The staff went above and beyond to make your stay pleasant and were very friendly. Quiet location, beautiful garden and easy access to the beach. Two suggestions to management would be to get some new (fresh) towels and provide a do no disturb sign, just so that option is available. Other than that I loved this hotel!!

Date of stay: September 2016
Thank Passport_cowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nipperjarvis, General Manager at The Zanzibari, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you for your review.I will pass your compliments onto the staff and always we take your recommendations seriously and are no in the process of getting some "Do not disturb" signs for individual rooms. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The Zanzibari it must be said is not actually on the beach - it is on low cliffs above the beach which gives it privacy and a good view. So, as others have commented, the tide comes right in to the cliffs, covering the sand, and then recedes about a mile leaving exposed rock and reef. Not really good for children but excellent for oldies like us. There is a good pool however and some villas have their own private plunge pools. The food was excellent and our room (Frangipani 1) perfect. Although there were only the two of us, there was an upstairs with beds for six or seven people in the villa in total.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bankdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Let's start with the positives: the kitchen is ambitious and it shows. The food was excellent and the service charming, friendly and efficient. The rooms are a good size for a couple, but not great for 3 teenage children! The beds were very comfortable and there is a choice of aircon or fan. One evening we (there were 13 in the party) were treated to an astonishing 45-minute acrobatic display by a local troupe that alone was worth the cost of our 3-night stay.

On the downside, there were issues with water supply to the rooms, for toilet and shower. The beachfront is tidal and didn't look safe to bathe. There is a seawater pool. However the biggest criticism is that the place lacked atmosphere - even at approximately 50% occupancy, the place felt deserted, and not in a good way. There aren't that many rooms, but it lacked the intimacy of a boutique hotel. It is also slightly too far from the centre of Nungwi, which has a sandy beach, more hotels, bars and music.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzibari_Tanzania, General Manager at The Zanzibari, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you had a reasonably pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our cuisine. Our rooms are in fact double rooms and we do state that, we will put in an extra bed if requested, which we did. I do apologise for the 'water issue' we did have a problem with broken service pipes but rectified the issue as quickly and efficiently as we could. When you refer to atmosphere, I appreciate your comment but we do pride ourselves in the piece and quite our hotel offers and that is due to it's location, being some 20 minutes from the noisy hustle and bustle of Nungwi with it's bars and numerous hotels. But again thank you for the review, we take all points made seriously to try and improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Zanzibari is a small, peaceful place to be.
My review is strictly from my experience of their food and service. I have never spent a night there so I will not touch about their rooms or any amenities.
As most of the hotels nearby Zanzibari, beach access is a down. But I love the fact that they created a nice sandy place where you can relax in front of the sea.
On low tide you can get down and enjoy the Ocean and the little but clean beach area.
As i have mentioned on the subject, the staff are really friendly and will always serve you with a beautiful smile.
The food, I personally like it. Love the fish fingers and the local dishes as well.
TIP: If you want to spend a little time laying around in peace, it is a nice place to go.
I would not recommend the pool, neither should you expect a 5 star property.
Go for the fish fingers :)
You like spice? Make sure they serve you their ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS homemade chili chutney. It is mouth watering.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank irfankhan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews