We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,276)
Filter reviews
1,276 results
Traveller rating
487
496
172
70
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
496
172
70
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews all inclusive package food experience beach boys stone town south africans lunch and dinner dinner on the beach perfect beach food and beverage manager per day beach towels crystal clear water sea urchins live entertainment our honeymoon small pool boutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 1,276 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We spent 7 days at My Blue Hotel and I have to say the location really couldn't be better. The front beach is simply gorgeous. Nothing to say about the way the cleaned my room twice a day. But....the guys at the reception, I mean the Italian staff (I'm Italian...) was really poor. they just said "this is your key, the restaurant opens at..... They didn't give us no one information about what to do there, how to get some place, the inner services like the spa, massages or other things, the best behavior to keep to avoid the beach boys assaults. I been traveling all over the world and even in other African spots like Kenya, but in Zanzibar the beach boys are really really really exasperating. Is not their fault, they just want to arrange something to get money, but the Hotel Staff....they should tell something to their guests, just to be better prepared.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcellouzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro T, Manager at My Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017
Google Translation

Gentile ospite marcellouzzi,
la ringraziamo per aver scelto il mybluehotel per le sue vacanze e per averci dedicato tempo per scrivere la recensione.
Mi spiace che abbia trovato il nostro staff italiano poco attendo a dare informazioni,abbiamo due ragazzi italiani che danno il brefing a tutti nostri ospiti italiani dando tutte le informazioni riguardanti la struttura e orari e in camera sul desk trovate la lettera di benvenuto del nostro direttore che vi ricorda gli orari dei pasti e vi ricorda le altre informazioni anche quella di non "credere e cedere "ai beachboys!
Cordiali saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

+
Beautiful beach

Nice pools

-
Food not very nice, boring and dry food, pasta station with same food everyday (spaghetti/tagliatelle with tomatoe sauce, some days cream).

We ordered a supreme room but was given a standard room, with a rusty, mold and disgusting mini bar that gave a disgusting smell of midew when opening. We felt fooled, went to the reception to get a new room and had to wait several hours for a new room. In the new room we realized that the AC didn't work just when we were going to bed. Took two hours for the handyman to come and fix it. Rooms are simple!

- Annoying staff that are annoying you all the time!

- Sellers within the hotel area.

- Sellers on the "private" beach and in the water, not leaving you alone for one minute while trying to cool down.

- Drinks expensive.

- Misery and poverty outside the hotel, leaving you the only option to walk along the beach to go to other restaurants and bars. The beach has high tide in the evening/night so there is no beach left to walk at during some evenings/nights, get ready to be wet and walk in 60 cm water part of the way! Also not very safe to walk on the beach late after dark, since everyone can join the beaches.

- Entertainment at hotel is poor.

- Walking on the beach = annoying due to sellers om you ALL the time!

- Only nightclub/bar in the surrounding is Choolos. Cool place but full of people smoking pot and A LOT of obvious prostitution, both females/males, making everything so sad!

Good for older people, 50+, who doesnt want to leave hotel and doesnt ask for nmuch!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

My recently stayed at MyBlue Hotel for our honeymoon. I can't complain about the food as this was excellent and the waiters was very friendly.

The rest of the service was poor. Our toilet was broken and was only repaired after 4 days, the mosquito nets on the bed was full of holes and the reception staff was not very friendly.

The visit to Zanzibar was a great experience, the hotel though was not the money worth.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank henkmalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro T, Manager at My Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Dear guest henkmalan,
thank for choosing Mybluehotel for your holidays and sped time for reviews us.
We are very sad to read your comment, we will improve our staff for go more up with the service.
We hope see you again,
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Everything from the room, the views, the turquoise blue sea to the staff completed our fantastic island experience. The location is perfect (it is the real island experience) The private beach is a great plus. It is clean and the sea is beautiful and warm. Try to do a bit of snorkelling as it is worth it! Ahmed of the dive centre was a great help and even gave us a scuba dive introductory lesson.
We opted for an all inclusive package which is well worth it. The food is fine but it would be nice if the hotel add a bit of Zanzibar flavour and food experience to the choice of food available. The choice of cocktails and other drinks were great.
A big thanks to Thani, the head waiter, to making our dinners special. He paid special attention to detail and made us feel like very important guests. He was always aware of the needs of all the guests on the floor, which is a special gift. He is one of the reasons we would return to My Blue Resort.
Another thank you to Elleese who always greeted us for breakfast with a very friendly smile and ensured that we had everything we needed.
We will definitely return, hopefully in the near future!

Room tip: Deluxe rooms are on the second floor, with a bigger balcony and more privacy
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank visualspotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro T, Manager at My Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear guest visualspotting,
thanks for choosing mybluehotel for your holidays in zanzibar and for reviews us.
We hoope to see you again in the future,
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We have just returned back to South Africa after spending a week at My Blue Hotel. It was an absolute amazing holiday and spending it at this hotel was definitely the right choice. Great staff, amazing food and of course...great cocktails. Thank you

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro T, Manager at My Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Dear guest Scott A,
thanks for choosing Mybluehotel for your holiday in zanzibar and for give us fantastic review.
We hope to see you again in Mybluehotel in the future,
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews